We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look for £42 per night including breakfast what good value.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Look for £42 per night including breakfast on a Tuesday night in August this was good value.

Reception was not the friendliest I have experienced having stayed at many hotels over the years, and the walk to the room was pretty long (a personal pet hate). However, room was one of ethd sabled rooms (356), very spacious with connecting door if you needed this option.

Breakfast was average but hey great value. Plus they have free papers. Agree the obsession with doing the right thing by the rules was evident when one chap at breakfast got a bit upset as he is always told he has to pay for breakfast when it is in his rate.

If service had been friendly on reception and chap had not had the issue I saw above would have rated excellent.

Told not to stay here at a weekend if you need your sleep as evidently can be noisy, not an issue for me when I stayed.

Room Tip: Room 356 is spacious.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrSofthreebridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate all feedback that we receive, whether positive or negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

Many thanks again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Having staying in an IBIS chain hotel before I was expecting the same comparable level of standards. However although the stay was overall good. There were a few elements that need attention.

Breakfast.
Having taken advantage of the breakfast service I was disappointed to find that the white bread for toasting "had ran out" this was at 9.30am I was informed that the delivery for that morning hadn't arrived yet. Judging by the amount of yogurts and other breakfast items remaining I couldn't see how just white bread had been the only thing that had ran out. Ok I guess these things can happen. But when you have a supermarket selling break only 2 minutes walk away how much would it take to ask someone to pop out to get a few loafs in for the remainder of the breakfast session and also accommodate anyone asking for any food items which required white bread as the key ingredient. Also Bacon is best enjoyed fried and not oven cooked in my opinion. and plates should only start to be taken away from the serving area after serving time has passed and not before. As I found to my amazement when one of the staff started taking items away with 15 minutes to go.

Do not disturb.
Around the hotel there are plenty of signs which ask for consideration for keeping noise levels to a minimum for other hotel guests as well as providing the Do not disturb signs to pop on doors. However it seems that this rule doesn't apply to the housekeeping staff. Who obviously have a job to do but totally disregard why some people may have DND signs on their doors. Its not just a case of not going into that room but just maybe the person had been working till the early hours and would like to enjoy a peaceful rest. Housekeeping staff take advantage of whistling loudly or enjoying chat and banter to other staff in the corridors and turning up the volume on the music channels in the empty rooms. Suffice to say this was the point where I have decided I will not be staying here again.

Food and Drink
Tea and coffee was served via a behind counter vending machine which for £2.30 for a cup of hot water and a teabag was I thought too much at first. until I found that later that they charge extortionate amounts for alcohol. So any pre night out drinks I advise you go somewhere else unless you have a few bob to spare.

Night porter doesn't seem to be available to open the door after 11pm. having felt the need for a quick takeaway I decided to pop out to the local shops. I waited near on 25 minutes pressing the bell countless times to get back in the hotel. My food was cold at this time so was a wasted journey and ruined meal. Having commented to another person who was also waiting with me at the time. They advised that this is a common occurrence having themselves also noted this over the week they were staying there.

so ultimately. could be better in parts. but hey?

Room Tip: Ask for room on 4th floor at the back.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LiamB1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and give us feedback regarding your stay with us.

I appreciate this feedback, whether its is positive or negative as it helps us provide the best level of service and facilities to our guests.

I will take you feedback back to the relevent members of management to ensure that we address the issues that you have raised.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank wolfmantrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Rude staff, especially the female staff. More worried about "the rules than what is right". I have stayed several times before and the staff was very helpful. Whoever is the manager now is missing the mark. I recommend the park inn anytime. I am use to the customer is right. But instead I would like to a glass to my room is a big NO. Pillows are like bricks.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank jat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and give us feedback regarding your stay with us.

I appreciate this feedback, whether its is positive or negative as it helps us provide the best level of service and facilities to our guests.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I have stayed here alot of times and its hit or miss. I had a quiet stay this time especially as one of nights was a Friday and it can be noisy with revellers coming back to their rooms. I always ask for a top floor back room due to club across the road.Room was clean and tidy and staff were friendly and helpful.Ideal for train and buses and town centre. Good stay this time

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay with us and Im happy to see you enjoyed your stay.

As you mention Friday and Saturday nights can occasionally be noisy due to the type of clientel we have on those nights. To prevent this being an issue we employ security to manage the front door as revellers return, to calm down any noisy guests and to then do walk arounds over night along the corridors to ensure everyone goes to sleep.

Many thanks again.

Jonathan Meeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Northampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Northampton Central
Travelodge Northampton Central
#18 of 29 in Northampton
238 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westone Manor Hotel
Westone Manor Hotel
#28 of 29 in Northampton
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#22 of 29 in Northampton
417 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#12 of 29 in Northampton
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre

Address: Sol Central Marefair, Northampton NN1 1SR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range: £46 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Northampton Centre is conveniently located in Northampton Town Centre, just five minutes walk from the train station, and less than ten miles from the M1 Motorway. The hotel offers 151 comfortably appointed rooms with en-suite bathrooms, flat-screen TVs, and high-speed internet access. The hot buffet breakfast is served from 6:30am – 10am daily and the café bar serves hot meals 24 hours a day. Located in the ‘Sol Central’ complex the hotel is in the heart of the town with a cinema, gym and restaurants next door. Guests can workout or relax in the Topnotch health club above the hotel for just £5 per person. Sol Central also offers secure parking with direct access to the hotel for only £5.50 per day for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Northampton
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing