We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
HIExpress.com
£50
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
jeremy_hartigan
Chester, United Kingdom

Exceptional Value and convenient location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Mar 2024via mobile
I have been traveling a lot recently and have been making the most of IHG App and awards

This hotel is conveniently located just off the M1 has plenty of free parking and was spotlessly clean .

The rooms were excellent standard HIE standards with a large comfortable bed , warm and welcoming shower and bathroom and a downstairs restaurant and bar

I booked two rooms for my colleague Harry and Myself paying for one with my IHG awards and the other paying the princely sum of £53.34!

This included a hot self service breakfast

Excellent value and warm and welcoming staff

The only reason for not awarding 5* is that my room door wouldn’t automatically close and had to be pulled shut !

I will definitely be returning!!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 4 Mar 2024
We appreciate your kind words, Jeremy.

See you next time
All the best, Louise - Hotel Operations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £29
  • Travelodge
1.0 miles from Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £57
  • Hotels.com
3.6 miles from Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
PremierInn.com
£41
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Trip.com
3.4 miles from Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Entrance to hotel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £56
  • Hotels.com
5.3 miles from Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £215
  • Hotels.com
7.0 miles from Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £71
  • Hotels.com
7.0 miles from Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £45
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £44
  • Hotels.com
3.6 miles from Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • HolidayInn.com
    £76
  • Hotels.com
7.3 miles from Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £80
  • Hotels.com
7.6 miles from Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Northampton
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveller rating
277
242
72
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
277
242
72
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here air con car park short stay plenty of parking bed was comfortable walk in shower tea and coffee making facilities budget hotel bar area the pub harvester claude reception cereal hairdryer sofa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 623 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2024 via mobile

Excellent Hotel. Great place to stop to break up at trip down to London. Breakfast is fantastic. Stayed here twice in the last two weeks and booked back in for the start of March. Definitely be using this particular hotel alot more in the future .

The staff are great. Isabell, Millie and Claude to name a few. Training must be top priority for the staff coz their customer service is brilliant.

See you soon .

Room tip: Location. Just of the m1
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 47jamiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

We appreciate your kind words, Jamie.

The team is thrilled to receive such a great rating! Thank you! We'll let Isabell, Millie and Claude know they made your stay memorable.
All the best, Louise - Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

Great location. Easy to find and big parking spaces.
Lovely and professional staff.
Thank you Millie for so friendly welcoming and helping choosing what to eat.
Wonderful place ,clean and big room.
Nothing what about complain. Everything was good.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mad_Kristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

We appreciate your kind words, Kristy.

It's lovely to see that our location was a highlight of your trip. We'll let Millie know you've highlighted their service personally.

All the best, Louise - Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2024 via mobile

I would use this hotel again - it was easy to find and park, and had everything I needed really.

Check in was ok, the room was clean, and I was able to work well in the evening with the free WiFi.

The room was clean, albeit quite dated, but had all amenities needed.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank xclairebearxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

xclairebearxxx, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're happy to know you had a lovely stay at our hotel. We hope to welcome you back and All the best, Louise - Hotel Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2023

room comfortable and warm although headboard a nightmare. wood! so uncomfortable to try and sit u in bed and watch tv. Breakfast. What a nightmare. so crowded, people pushing and shoving. children not behaving - one even lying on the floor. Staff should tell parents to keep their children under control. food not replaced when empty - had to go and find someone and ask for bacon and NO FRIED EGGS. Who does a cooked breakfast with no fried eggs. i HATE scrambled eggs. People queueing behind me were also asking where were the fried eggs! This needs addressing. When i went to ask at reception told by a surly receptionist if I wanted fried eggs I would have to stay at the other holiday inn in Northampton. NOT ~IMPRESSED

Room tip: if you expect fried eggs with a cooked breakfast go elsewhere
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank piacornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

piacornwall, thanks for the feedback.

We're disappointed to see that the breakfast experience let you down. We offer four hot items as part of our continental buffet, these are the same across all HIEX hotels in the UK and unfortunately, we can't deviate from these. We try to keep breakfast items replenished but we're sorry if you had to ask for these as they ran out.

We hope to welcome you back in the future for a more enjoyable start to the day.

All the best,
Louise - Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2023

For a bargain overnight stay by the side of the M1, this Holiday In Express was surprisingly good. In fact, it was excellent value. It was easy to locate off the motorway. Check in was smooth and efficient, but also slightly annoying as you have to scan a QR code to let them know you were parking there. I have no idea why this is needed, unless the Harvester across the road has a multitude of customers swamping the car park. The room was a good size with a decent TV, plenty of hangers, a comfortable bed, kettle, excellent Wi-Fi and a sofa. The bathroom was small with a shower and small sink. The towels were brand new; I know because they left lint all over my face. Housekeeping was good. The lifts were quick and reliable. The hotel was quiet. There are drinks and snacks at Reception. The staff at breakfast were very nice and efficient. Breakfast was a buffet with hot food, cereal, toast and fruit. The quality was OK but not memorable or extensive in a range of choice. Check out was easy and quick. I would happily stay here again to break up a long road trip.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TokyoJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

We appreciate your feedback, Jimmy.

We're so glad to hear you loved your stay! We hope to see you again soon!

All the best, Louise - Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews