We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but probably understaffed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but probably understaffed”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed two nights, very well positioned close to the ring road but very quiet. Rooms were clean and bright and as comfortable as most Marriotts are these days. Food was good rather than great.
Bar service however was very poor and we are not talking about crowded bars and long queues here but that on one occasion the main bar was unstaffed for nearly ten minutes and on another occasion in a function room the barman insisted they weren't even open until a supervisor appeared and confirmed he should be serving ......

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    187
    88
    30
    17
See reviews for
72
143
25
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Never been to or stayed in this area before but the hotel is easy to find. The staff were friendly & courteous and room and food were just about right. I will stay here again and won't even consider other hotels in the area

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jande1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Arrived very late around 3am and was greated by a very pleasant night manager. Gym staff a bit lax and swimming pool very small. Late bar tender looked very tired.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST YORKS
Level Contributor
957 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

You will probably need a designated driver or be prepared to pay circa £10 for a taxi into Northampton for someting to eat as there is nothing near the hotel. The town centre is approx. 10 minutes and there are a few restaurants at the Sixfields complex which is again approx. 10 mins drive. If you go into town park in Morrisons in Bridge street and walk across the road for a lovely pint at the Malt Shovel.
As for the hotel the staff were very welcoming and the hotel was very clean. It is quiet and relaxing and the spa facilities are maybe a little tired around the edges but are a welcome distraction.
The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed a great nights sleep.
The breakfat was excellent and hot which is unusal for some hotels buffets. The coffee was also very good and there was a good selection of food.
One slight disappointment was the shower which could be more powerful but all in all we would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I stayed here on a Weekend Break with my Wife; we had 2 nights B&B with first Night Dinner Included. My wife was ill with stomach bug on the first night with what she ate at the hotel, it was just Mozzarella and Tomato for starter and Pasta for Main. I complained next day, but was not given any satisfactory response, I had to buy Diarrhea Tablets from reception for my wife for some £5. This really spoiled our weekend; I even sent written complaint upon my return, still awaiting a reply!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nileo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My family honestly love this hotel. Better than the Leeds and Manchester Marriott but not quite as good as the Liverpool or Newcastle. Great service, staff with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dominic t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I stay here regularly on business. the staff are attentive but not in your face reception staff fab would recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debtilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Northampton hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#8 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.4 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#13 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northampton Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northampton Marriott Hotel

Property: Northampton Marriott Hotel
Address: Eagle Drive, Northampton NN4 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Northampton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#4 Business Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Northampton Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of modern comfort and convenience at the Northhampton Marriott Hotel. With our 4-star sophistication and array of amenities, we cater to both business and leisure travelers. Experience the best of Northhampton, UK from our front door, or stay in an enjoy a delicious meal at 1460 Grill. We're just a short distance from local attractions including the Silverstone Circuit and Franklin's Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northampton Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Northampton
Northampton Marriott Hotel Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing