We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Northampton - excellent business venue and great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed here for a one night's stay followed by business seminar the following day.

Hotel is in great location, close to motorways etc. My room was on the ground floor and was spacious and clean.

I found all staff to be exceptionally helpful and professional.

Used the swimming pool which wasn't massive and not for those who want to do lengths but good to have these facilities.

Food was excellent and receptionist recommended a visit to Centre MK which was around 30 minutes drive away. For those who love shopping, it doesn't look much from the outside but definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madmazCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

I had been invited to Sunday Lunch by members of my family.
Arrived at 1.00p.m hotel quiet. Bar staff could not speak good enough English to understand our order. drinks took 20 minutes to arrive.
Carvery lunch in restaurant. The tomato soup had croutons in it that must have been there for hours. Soggy.
Main course vegetables over cooked to the point of soggy. Yorkshire puddings were not home made and reminded me of a well known brand you can pick up at your local supermarket.
The vegetarian option was the vegetables for the cavery.
Restaurant safe were attentive but food of a very poor standard. Not surprised it was quiet even on valentine's weekend.
If I had not been a guest of the family I would have complained there and then and certainly not paid.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank mitch1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Bit out of the way but ideal for a stopover if travelling on the M1. Rooms are good, beds very comfy, the price was good. Don't think however they have a lift but they did offer to carry our luggage to our second floor room. The breakfast was excellent. Car park is a bit dark at night. I would use again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiaWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel recently attending the wedding of a friend of mine. This hotel is at an excellent standard and the staff are friendly and welcoming. The rooms were comfortable spotlessly clean. I noticed that the wedding party were very well taken care of and it if I was booking a wedding there was plenty of staff on duty. The wedding reception room was decorated beautifully I was very impressed. The food was served quickly and it was hot. A negative was that it there was very little main course on the plate and no extra helpings as I felt I could have enjoyed some more vegatables which were hardly seen on the plate. Overall if I visit Northampton again I would check into the Marriott as my stay there was really nice. Lastly but not least the manager on duty was very professional paying attention to any querie and being helpful in any way he could. His professionalism was also seen in the staff working in the Marriottt. Thanks to you all.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mollies876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

On arriving at this hotel at 4pm it was apparant that a wedding party was going on inside the hotel. Unsupervised young children were running around the ground floor hallways of the hotel outside of guest bedrooms. The receptionist had to shout over the noise to give us relevant information for our stay ie breakfast times etc. Luckily our room was on the first floor.

At 8pm we decided to get something to eat and as the wedding party had completely taken over both the hotel bar, restaurant and reception area we left the hotel to find a restaurant. The young children were still running around the guest room hallways at this time.

On arrival back to the hotel at 11pm there were a large number of wedding guests standing in the hotel entrance drinking and smoking. We had to push our way through them - how uninviting! There were drunken wedding guests inside the hotel reception and the children were still running around the hallways within the hotel. Surely the hotel has the facility to close doors within the hotel for the other paying guests. Also I am sure that the wedding party had hired a room so as much as possible should've been kept in that room.

This hotel did not give a thought for any guests who were not attending the wedding.

Also the pillows were hard and very uncomfortable and we did not get a good nights sleep.

At breakfast we had to keep asking the waitress for orange juice (as there was none left with 1 hour of breakfast to go) - waited 10 minutes and as they didn't seem bothered in replenishing had to ask. Had to ask for bread as the bread had long run out for the toaster. The staff were very unefficient.

I have stayed in other Marriott hotels and always had a very pleasant experience but this one didn't seem to be at the usual Marriott standard.

Room Tip: If there is a wedding going on make sure you are on the first floor and don't plan to eat in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donna3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This hotel is of a good standard, clean and with friendly efficient staff. Despite being consigned to a room on the outer fringes, which involves a long walk trailing baggage, the room itself was spacious and clean. THe hotel was not very busy - the car park was less then quarter filled, therefore, room allocation seemed illogical.

Having been here before the standards were as expected, however, the restaurant or more specifically whoever chooses the menu needs to start providing more variation. French Onion soup has been on the menu for quite some time. How about some alternatives? The menu is quite restrictive and, like the soup, same old repeats. Time for the Chef to get out a new cookbook and try something different.

I would like to say the food was good, however, on this occasion I cannot. The toast with the smoked salmon starter was soggy, the chicken breast tasteless (what there was of it) and the chips were almost inedible. I cannot fully agree with previous comments that suggest the food was plentiful when balanced against the cost, in addition, the choice is very limited if you are a vegetarian. For the equivalent of $50 you can feed 2 or 3 people in the USA, here it was a struggle to feed one - price based on a starter, main course, side order and 1 drink.

Although the position of the hotel can be advantageous if you want to move on quickly, there is nothing close, unless you want to drive, if you prefer to find other restaurants. This prevents enjoying a tipple or two with a meal unless you want to risk your licence.

All in; the value for money is fast diminishing to the point where I am going to look elsewhere for my next visit to Northampton.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Iain001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

booked two adjacent rooms for family weekend,initially looks a little like an upmarket travelodge and there were two weddings going on at the hotel as we arrived, however we didn't hear either of them or other guests. Rooms were big and spacious and spread out (this is low rise so you don't get too much surround noise), although we booked a double and a twin when we got to them they were two twins, but too tired to yomp back to reception for a change but annoyed that even with the aircon switched off (and the room power key removed!!) it continues with a low level hum that neither of us could block out so didn't sleep as well as we'd hoped. Pool was initially shut Sunday morning (unexpected staff sickness - yeah right we've all been there on a Sunday 6.30am shift!!) but it was open at 9 to the kids delight, only 1.2m deep but fun anyway. all in all for the cost pretty good, well located, clean and comfortable just take ear plugs if low level humming annoys!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
1.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
2.5 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#9 of 27 in Northampton
1,303 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 27 in Northampton
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#11 of 27 in Northampton
531 reviews
12.9 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northampton Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northampton Marriott Hotel

Address: Eagle Drive, Northampton NN4 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Northampton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#4 Business Hotel in Northampton
Price Range: £63 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Northampton Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of modern comfort and convenience at the Northhampton Marriott Hotel. With our 4-star sophistication and array of amenities, we cater to both business and leisure travelers. Experience the best of Northhampton, UK from our front door, or stay in an enjoy a delicious meal at 1460 Grill. We're just a short distance from local attractions including the Silverstone Circuit and Franklin's Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Northampton Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Northampton
Northampton Marriott Hotel Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing