We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, all you'd want.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Booked this on a whim while traveling to Northampton and needing to stay somewhere.

The hotel was easy to book online while travelling there.

Easy booking in on arrival.

The room was comfortable with all that you'd want, towels, tea making, shower gels/soaps etc.

The hotel is right in the centre of Northampton so an easy walk in.

Overall good stuff.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
There are newer reviews for Northampton Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Recently stayed here for the night. Receptionists were very pleasant and the room was comfy. The gym and spa facilities were perfect for a nice relax after a hard days work. Room service was excellent and breakfast in the morning was just right. All in all a good stay and will stay with Marriott again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spd69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Got a nice room stayed in a few Marriott and happy with my room, looks fine and was quiet, relaxing also, the bathroom area was also modern.
The Marriott burger was lovely, the steam room, sauna, jacuzzi all great as we'll.
Met a nice local man in there.
TRIED to Look in a private function room, NO sign up saying so as was like a disco.
Was stopped by the party owner asked agressivley where are you going and put his foot out in front of me, I said why, he said it was his party,
We'll if your going to hold private party's at the end off public areas of the hotel, Guests will wonder,Marriott should have a sign up saying private function only, this man was aggressive to me and as a guest should not have had to put up with this, I would not have entered near the party suite if I knew it was a private function.
Told the restaurant manager who looked very stressed and angry at first stating there is a sign at the hotel reception, I came from the swimming pool not the front door so how was I too notice the sign Pamela restaurant manager said she will pass the information I supplied onto the banqueting manager I hope you keep your word.
If I signed had said somewhere this would never of happened.
I know this is not the hotels fault but the guy holding the party, but if a sign had said so I wouldn't have even tried to open the door, and the restaurant manager tried to defend the actions by saying smirky that a sign was at the from of the hotel, I'm in the hotel from 1.30pm so how did I get to see the sign
Nice hotel and will stay again so I'm always honest and don't write bad reviews out of grudge.
A silver Marriott member.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank adamscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I use this hotel frequently. Every single member of staff including General Manager is exceptional. The service and the food is first class and I am always made to feel special. Thank you all for doing a first class job. I cannot mention you all by name as I may miss someone. Thank you also for my birthday cake. Martin.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Clean, comfortable rooms; good range of facilities and toiletries; bed, bedding and pillows all very comfortable. Service levels very good from a friendly and responsive staff. As part of a group holiday it was mass catering, but of a surprisingly high standard with slick service at table. Good buffet breakfast.
The only reservation I have is the noise from the "evening function" clientele. When members of my decorous party were making their way back to their rooms, imagine the surprise when two very elderly people from the said function lurched out of the loos cursing at the top of their lungs to Olympic standard! And those function people who stayed overnight let their presence be known to all within earshot, so sleep was interrupted.

Room Tip: Try to stay when there are no evening functions!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Borderer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Location
As with the Northampton Hilton - the hotel is located just off the dual carrageway ring road.

It's about 10 minutes walk to the Brackmills industrial estate/business park which houses the offices of Barclaycard - this is the main reason that most people are staying in the hotel!

Car parking is free and ample.

It's also located just on the edge of a lake and country park which offers ample opportunities for walking/jogging of an evening around the lake and the park which is nice.

It's a short drive into the centre of town.

Arrival
This has to be one of the most efficient arrival processes ever - no signing anything, no
credit card swipes - just handed an envelope with my key and registration card. It's very busy here on a Monday evening so they're obviously on the ball.

They have something on the reception desk every night to eat or drink (canapes, melon sticks, sangria, etc) so feels a bit more social. As it's nearly Easter I was given an Easter egg as well - I noticed they were only giving them to gold and plat members much to the disgust of my non status holding colleagues!

Reception/Bar
There is no lounge at the hotel and I wasn't given any vouchers for a drink or otherwise. I'd have assumed breakfast would be included in the restaurant instead as with other UK Marriotts but I was on a B&B rate so can't say for sure.

The common areas have all been refurbished recently to the usual "modern" Marriott standard and feels very nice. The staff on the bar and in the restaurant are very friendly and go the extra mile to make it feel a bit more like home - I think they're very used to long term residents here!

The bar is good with a wide selection of local ales to try - feels a bit more "local" than the Hilton with its selection of national brands only. The food is actually very good with the steaks a particular highlight - not cheap really for what you get but if you're on expenses then you feel like you're getting a decent meal.

Breakfast
Good selection at breakfast, 6 or so different cereals and the usual selection of hot food you'd get at a Marriott. Includes smoked salmon as well which again I don't think you get at the Hilton. Also includes a range of home made smoothies to either have at breakfast or take away in the plastic cup provided - handy to drink on your walk to the business park!

Gym/Pool
Afraid I can't speak to this as I was too busy to get down! My collegues say the pool is a "paddling pool" and the serious gym bunnies stay at the Hilton because their gym is better. In the summer though, if you're into running I think the nearby park/lake probably offers a better option anyway!

Rooms
The hotel is on 2 floors with no lifts so if you've got heavy bags you might need to ask for help.

As far as I could tell I wasn't upgraded (as a gold) which was a bit disappointing but given how full the hotel is with regulars all with status I expect the top rooms got allocated to plats and more regulars than me (at the moment anyway!)

The room was a fairly standard UK Marriott room. Included a queen bed and a sofa with coffee table as well as the usual desk and LG TV (with the hitting 0 multiple times trick to get onto HDMI working!) The carpets/decor were newish but the furniture looked a little dated.

Bathroom was modern with a shower/tub but (again comparing to the Hilton!) an excellent shower not connected to the bath taps which was powerful and hot. Toiletries seemed to be the "new" Italian ones that Marriott have switched to.

Coffee/etc was provided as you'd expect and also included paper cups with lids in case you want to take it with you.

Summary
Your choice of hotel in Northampton for business if you want a chain is quite limited, it's either here, the Hilton or the Park Inn in town. Opinion seems to be divided but for me the location of the Marriott along with the food and common areas gives it the edge, especially in the summer. I note on their website there is a "BBQ menu" which I'm looking forward to enjoying in the summer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthamptonMarriott, Manager at Northampton Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback and choosing to stay at the Northampton Marriott

I have informed all of the relevant managers following your comments so that actions and changes can be put into place.

Thank you for your feedback,

Kind Regards

Northampton Marriott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We decided on a weekend in the area and chose the Marriott based upon past experience. This is a large hotel with over 100 rooms (I believe) right on the Northampton ring road so if you are in the wrong spot its gonna be noisy. combined with the good access makes this a chosen venue for parties and celebrations (I feel like a proper scrooge saying this) but this also equates to noise. Great if its your do but not so good if you are looking for some peace and quiet.
The rooms were good and comfortable we stayed in 125 which was away from the noise (as requested) but about 3 miles east of the reception but the "spa" was tired and dated for the money.
The bar and the breakfast were ok and despite the staff being excellent the facilities weren't really above standard but this place is quite expensive to eat, drink and stay in.
On a plus the position is quite accessible but a short drive from the town centre and there is plenty of parking but that's about it!
In all a little disappointing for £300 for 2 nights B&B

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from reception and get a bus to the bar
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markbinherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan H, Manager at Northampton Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at Northampton Marriott Hotel. I would like to apologise for your unsatisfactory stay. Your valued comments have been fed back to the relevant managers to ensure processes are in place and standards are met.

Kind Regards

Northampton Marriott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Northampton hotels
1.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
2.5 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#8 of 29 in Northampton
1,291 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#12 of 29 in Northampton
528 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
490 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#17 of 29 in Northampton
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northampton Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northampton Marriott Hotel

Address: Eagle Drive, Northampton NN4 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Northampton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#4 Business Hotel in Northampton
Price Range: £72 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Northampton Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of modern comfort and convenience at the Northhampton Marriott Hotel. With our 4-star sophistication and array of amenities, we cater to both business and leisure travelers. Experience the best of Northhampton, UK from our front door, or stay in an enjoy a delicious meal at 1460 Grill. We're just a short distance from local attractions including the Silverstone Circuit and Franklin's Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Northampton Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Northampton
Northampton Marriott Hotel Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing