We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden visit”
Review of Coton Manor Garden

Coton Manor Garden
Ranked #5 of 64 things to do in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Garden visit”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Loved the gardens - very good time of year to go in spite of showers the day we visited - beautiful pink flamingos in the garden - what a surprise!
Lovely food - reasonable priced but only stable or outdoor eating areas (ie - not very warm environment!)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A164D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    66
    9
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A lovely surprise! Absolutely stunning gardens with water features, ducks, fowl, two beautiful flamingoes and a parrot against the background of a lovely old manor house. It was a delight to wander round and see the different borders, all in bloom in gorgeous contrasting colours. There is plenty of seating on the route but might be a bit difficult for pushchairs/prams/wheelchairs. Car parking across the road with steps down but special parking arrangements for elderly and disabled. Lovely little cafe serving lunches and light refreshments and a small shop. A particular feature was the large nursery selling a whole range of plants - it certainly had plenty of customers! Rather surprisingly, the gardens aren't open on Sundays except in April and May. Will definitely return to view the gardens in a different season.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sixty00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Despite the grey showery day, the visit to this beautiful garden was so lovely. Great variety of planting with such thought and creativity. The colours and textures were amazing. How wonderful to see the flamingoes and various other fowl.
An extensive garden centre with lots of choice. Good lunch in the cafe, so nice to sit outside among the plants and entertained by Rodney ,who had quite a bit to say about it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank inneedofrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No Picnic”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were staying in the area and decided to visit this garden and take a picnic as the forecast was good. We arrived 15 minutes before it opened and read a notice saying no picnics to be taken in the gardens. The best plans of mice etc. So we sat in the very nice car park on the grass under a tree and had our picnic there. At 12.15 we walked across the road and paid our £7 each. There is a nice café for food and drink and an extensive nursery with very healthy competitively priced plants. If you wish to buy plants you can enter free of charge to the nursery only. The gardens are superb and one of the best we have visited, because of the scale of it are ideas that can be incorporated at home. Superbly maintained and an interesting layout with a few surprises. Well worth the entrance money will go back in the Autumn to see how it changes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerryh227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We visited gardens on a very hot Saturday end of July. We arrived at 12.00 and found the grounds relatively empty. These are one of the nicest gardens we have visited and concur with most the the other reviews. The views stretch beyond the perimeter of the gardens add to the charm. The gardens are very peaceful no road noise or interference from aircraft which spoilt the atmosphere at other gardens we have seen. We decided to have a break and eat at 1.30 to find the restaurant busy. We had a quiche and a ham baguette which were both excellent. We returned to the gardens to find them busier. The wild flower meadow had been cut and baled so not much to see there and the woods were fine for a walk in the shade but other than the majestic trees nothing else to see. I didn't observe the long horn cattle. We will definitely visit the gardens again probably a little earlier in the year to enjoy a different aspect with different flowers in bloom

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CrocodileRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coton Manor Garden also viewed

Castle Ashby, Northampton
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Coton Manor Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing