We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three fussy eaters on a Friday night.”

Toby Carvery East Hunsbury
Ranked #324 of 574 Restaurants in Northampton
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Home of the roast - and much more... When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Northampton's favourite carvery restaurant. Breakfast is Mon-Sat 8am-11am, Sun 8am-10.30pm Carvery is 11.30am-10.00pm all day every day
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were booked in the adjoining Travelodge. Arrived tired after a very long and difficult journey at about 8pm. The service was great and they managed to cope with our different dietary needs. Most pleasant meal and drinks ourside afterwards. Thank you.

Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery East Hunsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Angela for taking your time to leave us a comment as well as a rating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Worse than I expected. It takes great talent to remove every last morsel of flavour from all vegetables consistently. Even the gravy was just brown water. The veg was roast potato, mash potato, boiled potato and potato in cheese sauce. peas carrots, cabbage and cauliflower. The service was dreadful the website didn't work to take bookings and the idea that taking bookings before the carvery opens reduces the queue is ridiculous.

Thank mystic_saxophone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery East Hunsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Mystic_saxophone, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Five of us for an early supper. We had booked a table and were seated quickly. My granddaughter ordered Salmon en Papillote and was disappointed as it was dry. They brought her fish and she then she had to queue for vegetable so her food was cold as well!
Standing in the queue waiting to be served I noticed I got 2 small, thinly sliced pieces of beef but some men got a few slices more. The vegetables were almost cold, the cauliflower was raw and the sauce tasteless. I would happily pay extra for more meat if possible.

Thank Wragby1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery East Hunsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at Toby Carvery East Hunsbury. Falling short of meeting your expectations is not to the standards we strive to achieve, and we humbly ask for the opportunity to make this right. Thank you providing this information so we can improve upon our services. We hope to hear from you soon.
Toby Carvery East Hunsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Dissapointing. We were staying at the Travel Lodge next door and called in for a roast one evening. Granted it was 8pm, but if you’re open, selling food and charging the usual price you’d expect the food to be the same quality. Whilst queuing, I could see in the kitchen. The floor was covered in food debris and was being washed by the chef who, when he realised we were waiting, wiped his hands down his trousers and served our food - no washing involved! Meat paper thin and dry. Carrots had virtually shrivelled they were so dry. Yorkshire puddings were solid. Won’t be going again.

Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery East Hunsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Sharon E, we appreciate your honest feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve. we have passed your comments on to the team so they can be addressed correctly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Visited early evening and was disappointed to find that most of the vegetable dishes had been sitting for sometime and other dishes where not being replaced when very nearly empty. I choose Turkey which had very little meat left on it. I ended up with some 'shredded, bits. Hubby chose beef and again there was so little left on the joint it was just the small end bits. Disappointing.

1  Thank rainbownorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery East Hunsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Rainbownorthampton, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery East Hunsbury also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Kislingbury, Northampton
 

Been to Toby Carvery East Hunsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing