We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Señor you are spoiling us!”
Review of Sol y Luna

Sol y Luna
Ranked #12 of 516 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a small friendly Tapas bar located in Northampton. We have an all Spanish kitchen team to guarantee an authentic taste of Spain! Come over and join us for a drink and maybe one or two of our delicious tapas too. As we are a small venue, we take table reservations as well.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Señor you are spoiling us!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have eaten in Sol Y Luna several times and each time has been better than the last. The food is authentic Tapas, the staff are welcoming (several are Spanish!) and the drinks are well priced and of great quality. The place is intimate and features a front terrace, a few tables inside and ample bar space for couples to really get into the Spanish idea of eating. They are also renovating their garden currently for more seating which I can't wait for.

The food selection is huge and caters for a lot of tastes with fully a third of the menu being vegetarian. The dishes are larger than other competitors in Northampton and cheaper too, so a quick snack can cost as little as £4. Also, having a future mother-in-law who can not eat anything with Gluten it was nice for her to be able to eat the majority of the food rather than being stuck with one poor choice on a normal menu in other businesses.

The food is also freshly made as much as possible and despite what naysayers have indicated, is definitely not microwaved! I must highly recommend the meatballs and tortilla - both made fresh every day and a constant on all orders I have ever made there!

All in all, give this new place a chance and ignore the negativity from some reviewers - you have to experience it for yourself to believe there's a little bit of authentic Spain hidden away in Northampton!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lemonsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    76
    43
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food...great service...”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Thanks for a third very successful visit to this little gem. I'll be back very soon for a fresh pint of Mahou and the goats cheese with red currents....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretentious, Overpriced, Rubbish”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hello All,

I have just eaten at Sol Y Luna for the first time and find myself completely underwhelmed by the whole experience. Generally our waitress thought she was to good for her job, the food was nothing more than cheap chopped up supermarket Spanish-esq items microwaved and served in small ramekins and generally turned out to be very expensive for what it is.
If you compared this restaurant to "Les Olives" another Tapas in NN, where the food is expertly chosen, well cooked for the same price if not cheaper, you would not dream of eating at Sol.

The Pretentious bit - We went as party of four, but myself and my partner are Gluten free so we called 4 days ahead to ask if they had any Gluten free dishes and mainly Gluten free Bread, we were told by the owner that because there bread is specially baked for them, they had not found anyone who could provide them with a high standard of Gluten free bread, but they would make sure we had access to a Gluten free menu. So we were surprised when we got there to find no Gluten free menu and also that the other 2 people in our party were served with Bits of really cheap Baguette, not specially baked bread..

Hope you don't eat here and hope this review helps you out.. Many Thanks Paul.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Carlvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sol-Y-Luna-David, Owner at Sol y Luna, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Carlvega,

Firstly - please rest assured that all our food is freshly cooked and served to our guests in authentic terracotta tapas dishes - without a single microwave involved anywhere along the road! Our chorizos, lomo etc is imported specially for us, as are our quesos (spanish cheeses), and our pimientos de padron. Eveything else we make ourselves each day. We would love to know where you shop though!

We had a quick scan of the menu for the other place you mentioned; according to the website their dishes are priced between £6 and £8 each, and ours are priced between £4 and £6. If you take our Albondigas for example (about the two most similar things we offer), we charge £4.95 for ours, whereas they charge £6.10. Thats quite a big difference.

Either way - we're not in business to try and compete with or even comment on the work of others. Judging by all the interest and great feedback around what we're doing we think it would be silly to spend time thinking about someone else, as we would rather concentrate on contiunuing to bring an authentic taste of Spain to our small corner of Northampton. We often have to suggest alternate places to eat to our customers when we cannot fit them into Sol Y Luna, so we might send a few down to see those guys next time!

We do have a gluten free menu available on demand. This details which of our dishes are suitable for a variety of special diets, but we do not put it out on the table, as we think it crowds the menu holder a little bit when you also include our tapa, drinks, wine and sherry lists etc. We're very sorry that didn't make it into your hand, but we always encourage guests to tell us if they have a particular requirement. We will increase the prominance of the little note on our chalkboard letting guests know about the special diets menu so this hopefully doesn't happen again.

Our bread comes from Oliver Adams at present as we have not had the facility to bake our own in the small kitchen at Sol Y Luna. We will be investing further through the rest of this year however, and all of our guests can look forwards to our home baked loaves with their tapas from the autumn. We think the complimentary bread and alioli we serve with all our food goes very well with our tapas, (I noticed that the other place charge £4.00 for the same thing), but we share your view that a freshly baked crusty loaf baked to a Spanish recipe would be quite nice too. Perhaps the gluten tolerant in your group will pop back and give us another go then!

Kind Regards,

David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant but nothing special”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the meatballs, mushrooms and pork shoulder and peas. The service was very friendly and efficient and the staff did a great job at coping with lots of customers in a small space. However, having read such good reviews which tempted us to book, we were surprised that some of the food was barely hot whilst other dishes were boiling. The potatoes I suspect were frozen potato wedges, the bread was soft mass produced baguette (hardly rustic) and the raspberry sorbet was missing both berries and sauce as described on the menu. It would have been good to see some more interesting vegetarian dishes on the menu. It was pleasant enough and perhaps we were unlucky

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ginny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sol-Y-Luna-David, Owner at Sol y Luna, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Ginny,

Thanks very much for coming down to see us at Sol Y Luna - and we're really really sorry that things weren't quite up the standards you expected. We really appreciate the honest feedback as its very useful for to to make sure we provide the right experience for everyone.

I've waited a little while to get back to you as I wanted to share what we've been doing after listening to the points you told us about. Firstly, we've tried out a few vegetarian additions to our menu, with two extra veggy offerings in our new range of corquettas - spinach and pine nut and also mushroom varieties now available on the specials board. We've also expanded our range of Spanish cheeses - we really hope we get to share our mature manchego cured in fresh rosemary with you as it's simply to die for!

We've always planned to bake bread on the premesis - and it was in our investment plan for the autumn to purchase an additional oven for the purpose (we use both of our current ones during service at the moment), but to tide us over until then, we have extended our chef hours to prepare the bread in the afternoon. Consequently, we will be offering much nicer crustier fresher bread from next week! This will be for the complimentary bread we supply with all our food, and also as the base for our pinchos.

Please accept our apologies for the lack of fruit and our berry sauce on your sorbet - as it turned out we missed the ball on preparing enough for the number of guests that visited us a few times in late June/early July, and we absolutely should have explained that when you ordered. If you wanted to drop me a line to feedback@solylunatapas.co.uk then we'd be more than happy to knock that off the price of your next visit.

Thanks again for the TA review, and I'll pass on to the team that they looked after you well!


Kind Regards,

David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Visited Sol y Luna a few times , absolutely excellent . Tonight was extremely busy and our table wasn't ready but we were offered a free round of drinks while we waited ( they'd experienced a few technical problems ) . Food was delicious , good choice , something for everyone . Staff friendly and polite , can't fault in any way , highly recommend .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sol y Luna also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Sol y Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing