We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun. A range of things to do.”
Review of Garage51S - CLOSED

Garage51S
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An Indoor Family Simulator Racing Destination.Player racing competitions with podium memories & trophies for winners.Racing simulators include FORMULA ONE, RALLY, GO KART, BUGGY, SCALEXTRIC, RADIO CONTROL & SPEED REACTION TESTERS.AN OFFICIAL LICENSEE TO SILVERSTONE THE HOME BRITISH RACING.
Kettering
1 review
“Great fun. A range of things to do.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Took my other half as he is an f1 fan. It was a surprise for him and he really enjoyed himself. Andy was really nice and helpful. Only thing to make it better would have been taking more people for competition. Great experience

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank walts90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent - a def' must see & do”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Garage51s was recommended by a friend so decided to take my boys (13 & 11). They loved it & want to go again & again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Slam67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at Garage51S, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Yes
The smiles on their faces was memorable!

Adults or Junior, we can always find something that you WILL enjoy

many thanks

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Blinking brilliant! ”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My friend purchased me a "big 6" package voucher for my birthday given my keen interest in all things Motorsport and some involvement in it.

Unsure what to expect on arrival however Andy was brilliant and made everything really relaxed. Everything was explained so clearly and he certainly has the knowledge in how
To get the best out of the cars and tracks and this just enhances your experience further.

After much laughter, thrills, a few blue words whilst driving and real concentration, my friend and I left having had a blinking brilliant morning.

This place needs more awareness for people: it's such a good experience I am already planning and trying to sort a group of us to return and I highly recommend everyone gives it a try

It's an experience for everyone of all ages and all sexes. I'm a female... And absolutely loved it.

Thanks Andy, we will be back!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Pumpkin999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at Garage51S, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
sensational review!
i will pass your thoughts & comments onto the whole of the team!

many thanks

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome fun”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Had a brilliant time and was looked after fantastically well! Was booked on for the Big 6 deal by my partner for my birthday- such an awesome few hours and truly impressed with all the cars simulators that you get to drive. Andy was an excellent host and made the experience your welcoming and exciting- a true ambassador of motor sport! Thanks for giving such a great day , well be back in force next time, can't wait to take my brother and friends as it would be even greater in a big group , many thanks Andy and Helen

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helamillio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at Garage51S, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thanks for the positive comments

The steering systems we use are commercial grade.
Not the cheapest by any means but give does players an instant responsive sensation.

Glad you enjoyed your time.
Keep practising the Silverstone circuit

best regards

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Time at garage51”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This place is definitely a hidden gem of Northamptonshire. We were the only people there on the day we visited and the welcome was awesome. Andy is the owner / greeter / head person and after signing in and doing the health and safety briefing he took us though to the main area. The first demonstration was how light the formula one wheel and tyre was compared to the standard space- saver wheel as fitted to the average road car. Very impressive indeed. The main area had a lot of exhibits most of them to do with motor racing in a variety of formats.

Andy is genuinely knowledgable and a first class ambassador for the sport in general. We looked at the formula one test cars which are used to give prospective visitors a taste before moving onto the real thing. As we were the only ones there it was off with my shoes an slip gently into the cockpit in the actual full size race car. There are adjustments for the pedal positions but you just lie back completely in awe of the actual Grand Prix drivers. The view over the steering wheel is minimal but Andy could raise the view of the track to give a better than average driver's view to make matters a little easier. The drive is automatic gear change for the initial laps. We were on the new Grand Prix track at Silverstone and this has a number of corners added to make the drivers job that little bit harder. After a few laps to learn the course the idea is that you can then concentrate on improving lap times with a number of other virtual drivers on the same track. This was where my wheels seemed to be coming off - Beckets corner was my particular nemesis - I consistently over or undershot this time after time. Andy was very patient and kept advising where to lift off and where to put down the power.

After a few more laps this time with gear changes on the steering wheel paddles I came off this particular vehicle with a new found respect for formula one drivers,, I was hot sweating and quite ready for a new challenge. This came in the form of rally car driving down a steep inclination with 180 degree hairpins and undulating track. Very exciting indeed. The next vehicle was a rage buggy where all you had to do was follow a green line down a sloping track. Easier said than done as the track surface was fairly slippery possibly loose gravel / dirt.

Fantastic fun for all we even got to have a try on the reaction board where you had to hit as many lights as you could in one minute - excellent fun.

I have to say that this venue would be perfect for a fun day out for all ages. Boys would be in their element with the competitive edge on the racing simulators and girls would be trying very hard to show their own competitive nature as well. A totally first class visit for families, hen do's and stag do's as well. Very much recommended indeed. :-) :-D :-)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank grahmcuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at Garage51S, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Exceptional review

Thankfully you have not noted All the Special things we do!

Many thanks & keep practising

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garage51S also viewed

Castle Ashby, Northampton
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing