We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed - could have been better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed - could have been better.”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My friend and I stayed here whilst visiting family in Northampton. My room was at the back overlooking the (room 11) and so was slightly more peaceful. Unfortunately my friend who was accompanied by children was not so fortunate and overlooked the car park. (Room 6)

Both rooms were on the ground floor and the rooms above were badly soundproofed and it sounded like people were dancing a waltz above my head for most of the night when in all honestly they were probably walking around the room. The same applied to my friends room.

Also in the family room the pull out bed is pretty much a mattress dragged out from under the bed. It was low down and v hard and I would recommend that if you need a separate bed then stay elsewhere. I would recommend the Premier Inn at Bedford Road it was much better equipped.

It all came to a head on the second night (Saturday) when my friend and kids were woken by people shouting and swearing in the car park outside her window, every word being clearly audible, despite the window being closed. It was then impossible for her to go back to sleep as the people in the room above her came back in and proceeded to wander round their bedroom until after 3am. Needless to say a good nights sleep was not had.
Not that the "good night's sleep policy" was ever explained to us as I clearly don't think they are bothered here.

I tried to talk to the receptionist about this in the morning (there were strangely 4 of them loitering at reception) but she was clearly not interested and I got the most insincere "I'm sorry" I have ever had. All in all the location of this Premier Inn was excellent for us but it needs some improvements and a little bit of customer care. I wouldn't recommend it but if you do stay here ask for a room upstairs and facing away from the car park!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media at Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.
If you were unable to report your disappointment at the time, or if this was raised but not resolved to your satisfaction. Please forward your booking details and we will investigate this matter with the Management team at the hotel.
Thank you for your time.
Social Media Team
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    132
    78
    31
    16
See reviews for
147
141
16
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Stayed here one night on business. Arrived around 8pm, check-in a breeze, very friendly staff. Could see that this wasn't a new PI. Not a problem. Room was on the ground floor and very large. Much bigger than more recent hotels in the chain. I went to take a look out of the window and was confronted with a beautiful marina filled with narrow boats. Most unexpected and very pleasant. Windows had a security cable to stop them from being opened too far so it was okay to keep them open overnight. A good thing as there is no aircon. The hotel does provide fans and a note advising that top sheets are available if the duvet is too warm. How hot does it get in Northampton I wonder?

Well, a review wouldn't be complete without a couple of gripes, so... The shower head was very low which led to some limbo showering in the morning; and, there could have been additional plugs in the room.

Oh, the bed was a king, not a double, which was great (even if I was on my own). In summary, a decent hotel in a fine location. It's not the newest in the chain, but room 9 was just fine.

Room Tip: A room facing the marina is a definite plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D6AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Spent a night here whilst working nearby. The hotel is about a mile off the A45 and a little hard to find. Receptionist very pleasant ensured I knew all I needed to know about the hotel and it's facilities. Room very nice and with a large king-sized bed and very clean bathroom. Only drawback was that the TV was not properly tuned so many of the advertised TV channels missing.
Free wifi for 30 minutes is good for checking e-mails and at £3 for 24 hours Wi-Fi is a good deal too.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back overlooks the aquadrome - quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgh le Marsh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stay at a lot of Premier Inn's throughout the year, this is very tired looking and in urgent need of a clean up and paint job just about everywhere, in the room we had we could see the balcony of the room next door to me this did not look safe and chunks of the timber beams and supports were missing, crumbled away, but having said that the room was still very comfortable. We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful and the surroundings very nice, as we had been visiting the Aquadrome for an event, nobody can do anything about the weather unfortunately but it did let things down a little, the main thing we found well below standard was when we went for breakfast, cutlery was dirty, tea cups still had tea stains, even lipstick still on glassware put out for the fruit juice, although this isn't really a fault of Premier Inn more of the Flaming Grill pub adjacent, shame as this was a nice place too overall.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed there recently (Jubilee weekend) and was surprised by a few things. Firstly the coldness of reception. Secondly the smell of the corridors. Stuffy. With air freshener to hide the fact that no air is circulating there. The room was not as expected. We needed a disabled room which we thought all Premier Inns had but we were told there weren't any - at least none that would fit a family (2 adults, one child). No wet rooms at all. So we had a family room, on the ground floor. Big shock to see third bed was nothing more than a mattress on the floor squashed between the table and the radiator. Never mind, kid enjoyed her sleep but had she had a bad night, none of us would have been able to kneel on the floor to sleep on the mattress. Room did not smell nice. It was not horrendous but again that smell of rooms that haven't seen air or light for days on end. The beds (two large singles) were pushed together but did not have identical mattresses. I ended up with the bad one. The beds were creaky and you thought they'd come apart at any minute now. Very scary. But the bedsheets were soft albeit my pillowcase had a hole in it and the spare pillow had its pillowcase inside out which makes you wonder at the quality of housekeeping.
The phone was grimy. Nobody dusts there... No hot chocolate on offer, just 3 sticks of Kenco coffee and some sugar and milk. No biscuits. Mugs were not on tray, just open which meant they picked up dust. Drink? No thanks! Carpet was soiled. Bathroom was extremely compact. No chance of two people sharing the sink to save time. There was liquid soap over the bathtub and near the sink. The dispenser near the sink did not work and we had to open and squeeze manually. Receptionist said 'ah yes, they are a bit funny, we know...' The shower was fixed which makes showering very difficult if you have special needs. Would it have killed them to have a moveable shower hose? There was one towel missing from the bale and we had to request it. Inspection over, we went to restaurant to eat. Staff saw us but did not make eye contact. Not a smile, not a flicker of acknowledgement. We stood for a while feeling awkward. Eventually my guy went over and asked what the procedure was. We were told to pick a table and order at the bar; however, subsequent ordering would be at the table. OK...? Sat at table, waitress comes and takes salt away. Panic! Were they closing. She mumbled something that I couldn't understand. Later she returned with full salt shaker. Most places will swap a semi full shaker with a full one without removing it from table but it was clear this was not one of those places that values good service. Food was uninspiring and the tomatoes in the salad tasted of fertilizer. Obviously no one washed them prior to mixing them in. Would you have eaten that? I didn't. In the morning we were worried about having breakfast in same establishment. Premier Inn charges over £8 for an English breakfast. Luckily morning staff were friendly and welcoming. But restaurant was dirty with food left over from night before and cobwebs gathering under chairs. Continental selection was good but croissants were not freshly baked as advertised but rather stale and served inside a wrapper. Pity. Coffee (proud to serve Costa coffee!) was like they had used dregs and added hot water. No normal Kenco offered in sticks, just the decaf. Milk was very cold and in a huge jug that was impossible to lift. Asked a kind man to pour me some and even he struggled. Again, why? Smaller jugs would make sense as the provision of warm milk. Who wants to drink cold coffee or tea on a cold and rainy day? As for the unlimited English breakfast, they are actually serving same portions whether you ask for double or not. LOL Mushrooms were tasty, bacon was missing its tail (who ate it? hmm?), hash browns were OK but not fantastic as they tasted of oil that had been used many times, sausages were not tasty. At least we fueled up for our day of exploration of the nearby attractions. After spending several hours away, we returned to hotel and rooms were still being cleaned. Ours had just been done... not! Carpet full of debris (they must have used the vacuum on reverse instead of sucking they blew out bits) and the bathroom hadn't been cleaned as there were still the rings from our toothbrushes on the surface (we had removed them to help them clean, we are such nice people).
Would you trust the Premier Inn label after staying in the Great Billing hotel? Absolutely not. It makes a joke that everything is premier but the price. We paid £128 for two nights not including breakfast. That makes the room cost £64 per night.
Oh and a final comment. You know the rumors about noises from the bedrooms upstairs? They are 100% true. Still none of us wanted to claim the good night's guarantee as we didn't want to seem picky to each other (we haven't known each other long, you see.) Oh well!

Room Tip: Best tip? Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Hello

Thank you for you recent review of our Northhampton Great Billing Premier Inn.

We pride ourselves on delivering a quality stay to all of our customers, and we are saddened to hear that your stay was far below your expectations. We are currently trying to update all of our hotels with full disabled facilities, including wet-rooms, and can only apologise that these facilities were unavailable on your visit.

We really value your feedback, and the management team at this hotel is currently working on your advice to improve the hotel's standards. The poor cleanliness of your room, as well as the state of the breakfast service, indicate a lack of communication between the staff, and we will ensure that training is given to prevent this situation from happenng again.

Thank you once again for your feedback. I have sent a message to you directly to you, and if you reply with your details I will get you in contact with the hotel manager, who would be grateful to talk to you about the issues you had during your stay.

we sincerely hope that we can find a positive solution to this situation. We look forward to welcoming you back to premier inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shefford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel last weekend as we were attending the custom car show at the Aquadrome. We'd booked a couple of months previously and paid £135 for 2 nights - and we were so glad we did as the camping ground was flooded in some areas. It was really nice to go back to 'home comforts' after a day of wandering around in the wind and rain rather than a cold, damp tent !
The room was of the usual PI standard; clean, super-king sized comfortable bed, tv, good amount of storage space, hospitality tray, bath with shower over, clean white towels, soap/shampoo dispensers. The staff were very friendly and the restaurant had lots of good offers such as 2 meals for £10. Our group had 6 meals and all were very nice, with a good selection on the meu.
Tip - if you can wait until after 11am they offer 2 x All Day breakfasts for £10. Also, ask for a room overlooking the lake. We had room 51 which was on the 1st floor and had a lovely view of the canal boats plus it was very quiet.
Would stay here again if the car show is held there again...

Room Tip: Ask for lake view rooms on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holsrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here on 2 seperate weekend in May, booked well in advance at the saver rate, however having experienced a stay here I would happily pay the standard rate to stay here again. Received a warm and friendly welcome on both occasions. Rooms and bed very large and both times the travel cot we had requested was in situ and fully made up with 2 spare blankets. lovely and clean and tea and coffee making facilities were appreciated then next morning at 5.30am as on both visits we had to leave early morning to attend events so were too early for breakfast. The hotel overlooks the aquadrome and first visit we were on the first floor with a great view of the water and boats (room 41). Second visit we were on the ground floor at the back but we didn't mind as it was easier with a pushchair and young baby. We ate both times in the pub next door. It's a chain pub but surpassed my expectations - great value, good food and the staff - although young - are Exellent. You can eat inside or outside on the deck by the water which is lovely if the weathers nice :-)

All in all I loved this place and would definitely return if I am in the area!

Room Tip: Room 41 has great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsWalker1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
1.5 mi away
Westone Manor Hotel
Westone Manor Hotel
#27 of 29 in Northampton
540 reviews
3.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.5 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#13 of 29 in Northampton
510 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Northampton Round Spinney
5.1 mi away
Ibis Wellingborough
Ibis Wellingborough
#2 of 4 in Wellingborough
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel
Address: Crow Lane | Great Billing, Northampton NN3 9DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Northampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 3 miles from Northampton town centre and Northampton train station. This Premier Inn is in a great location over-looking the Marina next to Billing Aquadrome. Our Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, free parking, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Northampton Great Billing / a45 Hotel Northampton
Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing