We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR FIRST STAY OF 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Reviewed 29 January 2013

So we stayed here again.
We stayed in room 60 this time, the benefits of picking this room?
No one is above you.
No one has to walk past your door,
Good view of the car park if you want to keep an eye on your car.

Downside, it's about as far from the reception as you can get!!

Once again the staff were great, booking in is nice and simple. I had rung ahead and requested an extra duvet under the sheets to make the bed a little softer, an upstairs room, and a view of the car park. I got all of my requests.

Several of our car club stayed there (I estimate approx 23 rooms) on Sat Night.
Of course the Breakfast on Sunday morning was 1st class.

Room Tip: Ring ahead IF you have any special requests.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCAandJMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie W, Manager at Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It is always gratifying to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

Heather and Craig on reception are lovely people and very welcoming, which made the stay for me. The nights sleep was quite and the bed was massive with no disturbance, I had a view of the lake behind with narrow boats which were frozen still due to the temperature, I really was a good stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shug09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie W, Manager at Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Thank you so much for leaving us your review. I am absolutely thrilled that Craig and Heather made such an impression and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Northampton Great Billing again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

With Premier Inn you generally know what you are going to get. We stayed for 2 nights, the room was very clean & not at all shabby. Towels soft, shower good & bed excellent - got 2 nights excellent sleep. The receptionist when we arrived was very welcoming, friendly & helpful, Service was great with the rooms cleaned every day & food in the adjoining restaurant was good.

Room Tip: we had a view of the canal boats which was lovely
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarlach2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie W, Manager at Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your excellant review of Northampton Great BIlling Premier Inn. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days. We found all the staff we met to be excellent and caring. The hotel was clean and tidy . the bathrooms were clean. Towels were soft. The only problem was our bed was so hard we were unable to sleep very well. Felt like a plank. The food was quite good and fairl priced . Would stay here again but not in same bed.







  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Range1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie W, Manager at Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Thank you for leaving us your review of Premier Inn Great Billing. I am sorry that you found our beds hard, should this happen again just let reception know and we will find another room for you to try. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that we will see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This was a super sited stay to be close to my friends.We were able to enjoy our evening and stroll home.Everything was just as we would have wanted it. Friendly staff i believe help make the stay a lot better and to be honest we could not fault our stay at all.We would use Premier Inns again as they are great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 161RAYP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie W, Manager at Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. It is always lovely to read that someone has really enjoyed their stay with us. We hope to see you again soon at Premier Inn Great Billing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here with partner + elderly aunt who we don't see much. This highlighted the lack of a lift & need for those less mobile to have a ground floor room. Everything was of an average rather than excellent standard as one would normally expect from Premier Inns as the beds were somewhat hard and shower pressure weak. A 30 minute a day limit for free Internet access is unacceptable in this day & age & should be free 24/7.

Our main gripe was the ageing adjacent pub next door where we had 2 breakfasts and 1 evening meal. The meal started with having to request a replacement for flat tonic water which was done by the bar without a problem. Then 2 guys who were clearly the worse for wear started swinging chairs above their heads which caused some disturbance resulting in apologies to us. When our food came my gammon steak had a thick rind of inedible fat, peas & half tomato were hard and nearly cold with undercooked greasy chips. My partners chips were the same and having ordered mushy peas he was served garden peas. We didn't complain having already asked for a replacement drink and had to put up with unsociable behaviour. As the plates were removed we were asked if the food was ok. Bit late by then!
We were hopeful of a good breakfast as promised in Premier Inn's appetising advertising illustrations. However instead of fresh fruit salad we had cheap tinned stuff, long life tough croissants in cellophane & weak tasteless coffee pre-made for the duration in a help-your-self flask. Added to that the toaster caught fire setting off the fire alarm. Not a great experience & preferably avoided!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vietnamvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie W, Manager at Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review of Premier Inn Great Billing. Thank you for your feedback regarding the hotel. Unfortunately due to the size of our property we do not have a lift but we will always try and accomodate guests needs, in particular if they ask to stay in a certain section of the hotel. We will certainly be able to organise this for you next time you stay.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at The Quays Fayre and Square. I will make sure to pass on your feedback to their management team. Should you wish to contact them directly you can at www.fayre-square.com.
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and I hope we can welcome you back to Premier Inn Great Billing in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

My wife and I are regular users of Premier Travel Inns: we've used the one at Great Billing several times. While, on this occasion, our stay was okay we did feel that the hotel is starting to show its age and could do with some refurbishment. In particular, the floorboards in our room were noisy, one side of the bed creaked as you got into it (though it was fortunately silent once you were actually in bed) and the plug in the bathroom sink (a rotating disc) stuck so the basin couldn't be drained.

While the staff were friendly, we got the impression that these issues were commonplace ("the sink problem happens all the time, we have to use a knife to loosen the disc").

We'll be happy to stay again as the hotel is in a convenient location for us but an overhaul is needed to bring it to the standard we expect from Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcdodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie W, Manager at Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thank you for getting in touch with your experiences at Northampton Great Billing Premier Inn. I am sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion. I can assure you that Premier Inn are consistantly re-investing in their properties with full re-furbishments for all hotels every couple of years. I will be passing on your feedback to our property team. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us your views and I do hope we will be welcoming you back at Great Billing in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
1.5 mi away
Westone Manor Hotel
Westone Manor Hotel
#28 of 29 in Northampton
560 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#17 of 29 in Northampton
692 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#12 of 29 in Northampton
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#23 of 29 in Northampton
416 reviews
3.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
5.1 mi away
Ibis Wellingborough
Ibis Wellingborough
#2 of 4 in Wellingborough
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel

Address: Crow Lane | Great Billing, Northampton NN3 9DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Northampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Northampton
Price Range: £44 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 3 miles from Northampton town centre and Northampton train station. This Premier Inn is in a great location over-looking the Marina next to Billing Aquadrome. Our Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, free parking, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Northampton Great Billing / a45 Hotel Northampton
Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing