We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and good food and beer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Walnut Tree Inn
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I have eaten there several times with family and friends who live nearby and have never been disappointed. Food is almost always first class and fairly priced.

Hot breakfast is included and cooked to order.

We asked for a room on the back side of the hotel to ensure we were not disturbed by trains and were initially placed in a room whose window was immediately over two large kitchen exhaust fans. No air conditioning so in the night we had to open the window as the room was getting stuffy......the fans were loud and smelly and ran all night.

The staff was happy to move us to a different room the next day. So don't stay in room 10.

We must be spoiled by American beds because we found theirs to be small and hard with very thin mattresses. We hoped the change of rooms might have given us a better bed but no such luck.

This place is also a local pub so good beer and company if you desire.

No gym, pool or elevator and no offer to help with our bags.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yelbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

An amazing find, although we only stayed the one night, we wished it had been more. The room was very comfortable, food amazing and service very professional and, most importantly, friendly. In addition, the building was so atmospheric, but bright and airy with all mod cons.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitaRose30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

we found hotel to be really nice in a nice area although near a railway line it was not to noisey we were here for a funeral reception the staff were excellent & the buffet we had was great .we stayed for 2 nights lovely fresh cooked breakfast by order ,garden at the rear plenty of seating lovely lounge area with sofas or in the bar there were tables & chairs thought the drinks were a bit pricey .room was ok

Room Tip: book two nights for a cheaper rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavinalincolnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed for two nights whilst visiting Althorp House and found the hotel very welcoming for a short stay. The room we stayed in was clean and of a good standard.The food was good in the bar which also had a good atmosphere with live music later in the night.One big disadvantage is the noise from the main line railway some 30 meters away.Although no trains passed after 11:30 pm, but resumed again at 06:30am.

Room Tip: Get one at the rear of hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosindda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Called in on what was obviously a pretty quiet lunchtime. We were there before 1200 and were warned that food wasn't served until then, but our order was taken at once and came out pretty much on the stroke of noon.

We both went for the 3 courses for 12.95 - sensible portions of good quality, rather than huge plates of cheap junk. Ice creams are very worth going for.

We live too close to stay here, but would take friends there to eat again for sure. Shame we can't review this as a restaurant, rather than as a hotel, but hope it helps future visitors anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HairyDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

stayed here as part of a business trip. The hotel was arranged by the organisation I was visiting. The only problem with this hotel is that it is opposite the West coast main line and Virgin Pendolino trains shoot past at 125 MPH all night long. Very disturbing on the first night but after that I got more used to it.
The hotel itself is lovely. Staff are great, the bar is superb and I found the locals excellent company. If pushed I would say the service is a little slow but the food is of an excellent standard and worth the wait.
The nearby Grand Union Canal is an excellent local feature, and I enjoyed a walk along the tow path as I explored on a sunny evening.

Room Tip: the room at the back of the hotel is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regulartravellerfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed here June 4 for one night. Close to Santa Pod.
Upon arrival we were very concerned about the noise from the busy train line which is approx 30m away, our room overlooked the line. In truth, we didn't hear any trains on the Saturday evening after 8pm and none at all on the Sunday morning. The only complaint we had was the noise from the bar. Ou room was directly above. Music is meant to finish at midnight. I had to get up out of bed and go into the bar at 3.15am, the Manager assured me that the noise would stop (singing and saxophone), it was still going on at 3.45am, so a phone call to reception was necessary.
Other than that, we enjoyed our stay. We checked in at 4pm, relaxed in the bar with a few beers, watched the match and read the daily papers, then changed for dinner in the restaurant at 8pm. The menu is slightly pretentious - I'm thinking GASTRO pub, but not overpriced, the food is hot and plentiful. The Antipasto is fab!! Lovely reception/bar/waiting staff. After dinner we spent the evening in the bar listening to a live band and meeting the charming locals. The room was good value at £75 inc breakfast. We had a superior room, but were charged standard room price. Room clean and comfortable and well equipt (tea/coffee/milk/kettle/tv). Superb full english breakfast with toast/cereal/yoghurt/fresh fruit/juice/tea/coffee. If we return to Santa Pod, we will stay here again, but not in a room above the bar!!!

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhotbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Northampton hotels
4.8 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 27 in Northampton
498 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
4.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#9 of 27 in Northampton
1,303 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#21 of 27 in Northampton
422 reviews
4.0 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#7 of 27 in Northampton
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walnut Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walnut Tree Inn

Address: 21 Station Road, Northampton NN7 3DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range: £58 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Walnut Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully spacious reasonably priced hotel in rural Northamptonshire, near the home of British Grand Prix - Silverstone. Fantastic dining, a relaxed atmosphere and a lively bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Walnut Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walnut Tree Hotel Northampton
The Walnut Tree Inn Northampton, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing