We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, stylish and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Walnut Tree Inn
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, stylish and comfortable.”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My decision to stay at The Walnut Tree Inn was something of an impromptu one, taken after previous accommodation was not up to standard.

No such issues here. I had a single room and while it (and the tv!) was small, it was very well decorated, with a clean bathroom and a comfortable bed.

The breakfast was excellent, and while I did not try an evening meal, the food looked and smelled very appealing.

The bar area was very nice, but the real stars of the show are the staff. As a lone traveller it is always nice to be made to feel welcome, and they certainly did that - Laura was particularly good. The locals were also very helpful, mapping out a running route for me (with the beautiful scenery around Blisworth that made the hills slightly less painful).

On my return I took advantage of the free chilled water available to residents and was given a free ticket to the evenings comedy night - wich was excellent.

All in all, I cannot recommend it highly enough, and I am sure I will be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfSquaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    80
    30
    14
    11
See reviews for
44
74
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

stayed on sat going to silverstone for bsb we arrived early to friendly staff who got our room ready straight away we went for a great walk along grand union canal then came back for a cracking meal chips to die for the food chicken and mushroom pud was superb lovely relaxing atmosphere staff were friendly and efficient brought our drinks to table us old buggers. there was a band on and a wedding we were veging out in room and didnt hear either. The trains are every ten mins i if anyone would be put off by this but it didnt bother me at all cant hear them with window shut, room was clean and comfortable and spacious. Its a lovelly place with plenty of character being an old rail station and the breakfast was delicious. dam near perfect place to stay we will be going again

Room Tip: room 11 was great but i would give it a go i was unsure about the trains noise i tried it out and di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Had Sunday lunch here - 5 adults, 2 children aged 5 and 7. Didn't stay overnight. Very good value for money - £120 for seven including drinks. Left a tip as it was so good. Three course Sunday lunch for adults, smaller (well not much less!) for the children. Very welcoming and efficient when we phoned the day before; very understanding when some of our party, travelling from Cheshire, were half an hour late. Spacious dining accommodation with large tables, not like most places where you're jammed up against each other. Food pretty good. Friendly staff. Bar also busy with drinkers - a good sign. A nice discovery after travelling the main road only half a mile distant for over 40 years! We shall return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmt0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had been to Silverstone for the day and had decided last thing to stay over and found The Walnut Inn had reduced prices for the Sunday night. Comfortable and clean room (except for the trains!) good food and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front which was near the railway track so ask for a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miskins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I have eaten there several times with family and friends who live nearby and have never been disappointed. Food is almost always first class and fairly priced.

Hot breakfast is included and cooked to order.

We asked for a room on the back side of the hotel to ensure we were not disturbed by trains and were initially placed in a room whose window was immediately over two large kitchen exhaust fans. No air conditioning so in the night we had to open the window as the room was getting stuffy......the fans were loud and smelly and ran all night.

The staff was happy to move us to a different room the next day. So don't stay in room 10.

We must be spoiled by American beds because we found theirs to be small and hard with very thin mattresses. We hoped the change of rooms might have given us a better bed but no such luck.

This place is also a local pub so good beer and company if you desire.

No gym, pool or elevator and no offer to help with our bags.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yelbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2011

An amazing find, although we only stayed the one night, we wished it had been more. The room was very comfortable, food amazing and service very professional and, most importantly, friendly. In addition, the building was so atmospheric, but bright and airy with all mod cons.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaRose30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln uk
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

we found hotel to be really nice in a nice area although near a railway line it was not to noisey we were here for a funeral reception the staff were excellent & the buffet we had was great .we stayed for 2 nights lovely fresh cooked breakfast by order ,garden at the rear plenty of seating lovely lounge area with sofas or in the bar there were tables & chairs thought the drinks were a bit pricey .room was ok

Room Tip: book two nights for a cheaper rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavinalincolnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
4.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
2.2 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#8 of 29 in Northampton
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
506 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
425 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walnut Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walnut Tree Inn

Property: The Walnut Tree Inn
Address: 21 Station Road, Northampton NN7 3DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Walnut Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully spacious reasonably priced hotel in rural Northamptonshire, near the home of British Grand Prix - Silverstone. Fantastic dining, a relaxed atmosphere and a lively bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Walnut Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walnut Tree Hotel Northampton
The Walnut Tree Inn Northampton, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing