We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Walnut Tree Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Northampton(Northampton)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    Reviews (232)
    Filter reviews
    232 results
    Traveller rating
    87
    85
    34
    14
    12
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    87
    85
    34
    14
    12
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsrailway linecomedy nightgrand union canalstation hotelsunday roastthe pubfunction roomwedding breakfastcomfortable roomswedding receptionfull englishfollowing morningstayed for one nightlovely rooman evening mealwedding partyyogurt
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    203 - 208 of 232 reviews
    Reviewed 30 September 2011

    My decision to stay at The Walnut Tree Inn was something of an impromptu one, taken after previous accommodation was not up to standard.

    No such issues here. I had a single room and while it (and the tv!) was small, it was very well decorated, with a clean bathroom and a comfortable bed.

    The breakfast was excellent, and while I did not try an evening meal, the food looked and smelled very appealing.

    The bar area was very nice, but the real stars of the show are the staff. As a lone traveller it is always nice to be made to feel welcome, and they certainly did that - Laura was particularly good. The locals were also very helpful, mapping out a running route for me (with the beautiful scenery around Blisworth that made the hills slightly less painful).

    On my return I took advantage of the free chilled water available to residents and was given a free ticket to the evenings comedy night - wich was excellent.

    All in all, I cannot recommend it highly enough, and I am sure I will be back soon!

    • Stayed: September 2011
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank GolfSquaddie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 September 2011

    stayed on sat going to silverstone for bsb we arrived early to friendly staff who got our room ready straight away we went for a great walk along grand union canal then came back for a cracking meal chips to die for the food chicken and mushroom pud was superb lovely relaxing atmosphere staff were friendly and efficient brought our drinks to table us old buggers. there was a band on and a wedding we were veging out in room and didnt hear either. The trains are every ten mins i if anyone would be put off by this but it didnt bother me at all cant hear them with window shut, room was clean and comfortable and spacious. Its a lovelly place with plenty of character being an old rail station and the breakfast was delicious. dam near perfect place to stay we will be going again

    Room Tip: room 11 was great but i would give it a go i was unsure about the trains noise i tried it out and didnt bother me so give it a try
    • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank rockyWirral
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 August 2011

    Had Sunday lunch here - 5 adults, 2 children aged 5 and 7. Didn't stay overnight. Very good value for money - £120 for seven including drinks. Left a tip as it was so good. Three course Sunday lunch for adults, smaller (well not much less!) for the children. Very welcoming and efficient when we phoned the day before; very understanding when some of our party, travelling from Cheshire, were half an hour late. Spacious dining accommodation with large tables, not like most places where you're jammed up against each other. Food pretty good. Friendly staff. Bar also busy with drinkers - a good sign. A nice discovery after travelling the main road only half a mile distant for over 40 years! We shall return.

    • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
      • Service
    Thank jmt0815
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 August 2011

    We had been to Silverstone for the day and had decided last thing to stay over and found The Walnut Inn had reduced prices for the Sunday night. Comfortable and clean room (except for the trains!) good food and very friendly staff.

    Room Tip: We stayed at the front which was near the railway track so ask for a room at the rear of the hotel.
    • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Miskins99
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 July 2011

    I have eaten there several times with family and friends who live nearby and have never been disappointed. Food is almost always first class and fairly priced.

    Hot breakfast is included and cooked to order.

    We asked for a room on the back side of the hotel to ensure we were not disturbed by trains and were initially placed in a room whose window was immediately over two large kitchen exhaust fans. No air conditioning so in the night we had to open the window as the room was getting stuffy......the fans were loud and smelly and ran all night.

    The staff was happy to move us to a different room the next day. So don't stay in room 10.

    We must be spoiled by American beds because we found theirs to be small and hard with very thin mattresses. We hoped the change of rooms might have given us a better bed but no such luck.

    This place is also a local pub so good beer and company if you desire.

    No gym, pool or elevator and no offer to help with our bags.

    • Stayed: July 2011
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Yelbid
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews