We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Walnut Tree Inn
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Visited on a Tuesday evening and had no trouble getting a table for four. Staff were welcoming and attentive, quickly taking our drinks order but allowing us plenty of time to choose from the small but appealing menu.

I had the salmon gravadlax to start, which was beautifully presented with delicate coloured rounds of potato, topped with horseradish mayonnaise. My son and brother chose to share the cold meats platter with artisan breads, pineapple piccalilli and caramelized red onion chutney – there was plenty of variety and they were particularly impressed with the pork rillette.

For my main course I chose the beef liver and bacon with mash, garnished with delicious deep fried sage leaves and crispy onion rings - it was really delicious and excellent value at just £9.50. The others had the cider braised ham, egg and chips, a cheeseburger with chips and salad and the pork belly with peas and bacon – all were declared delicious, although a little mash with the pork belly would have been a welcome addition.

Only one of us could manage dessert and chose the coconut parfait with dark chocolate sauce which he enjoyed, although the richness of the sauce supressed the coconut flavour.

Finished with coffee and port and the whole meal (including drinks) came to £90.00.

This is one of the nicest meals we've had locally - the quality of the food, the use of local ingredients and the service were all first class and we will definately be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    78
    28
    13
    10
See reviews for
41
73
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

On our travels around England we stayed at The Walnut Tree for one night, it was a Saturday night. The room was very pleasant and spotlessly clean, with a lovely big bathroom, and complementary bottled water was available free of charge. We had the restaurant booked for that evening also, which was lovely, with candles, and decent size tables to have your meal at, the staff were brilliant, extremely efficient and very professional, one waitress even got us the name of place where the chef got his goat's cheese from, as it was so nice. The whole meal from start to finish was beautiful, the night we were there was the first night of the new menu, and we have to say it was one of the best meals we ever had, we could not fault it. I would recommend this restaurant /hotel to anybody and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

What a great place! We booked a table in the restarant for four at 7.45pm, it was my sons 13th birhday and we were very impressed. The staff were very polite and accommadating, the service was excellant they couldnt do enough for us. The food was excellant and very reasonably priced
, we paid £84 for the four of us for a three course meal, with drinks and a bottle of wine.
The dining room was very welcoming with candles and a lovely atmosphere. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
250 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We decided on the The Walnut Tree for my dads celebration of life for two reasons. The close proximity to the crematorium and quaintness. We were very happy with the High Tea that was served and the price was very good. They let us use the restaurant as we were a smaller group and it was perfect. It is only 5 minutes away from the crematorium very easy to find. Turn right onto station road right after the railway bridge. oh yeah this is near a railway line...the fact that it's address is station road should give people an idea, also it is right near the canal and there are some lovely walks around.
We did not stay in the hotel or eat in the restaurant so can not comment on that. Donald the owner and his staff were all very helpful. After a very sad day it was a very nice place to go and visit with friends, family and reminisce.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTravelingkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
500 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The Walnut is good in part, but poor in some other ways. On arriving at the inn, and you need good directions, we were led to belive that we were being upgraded to a better room. On entering the superior room, we were pretty underwhelmed, as it looked tired with a small double bed. As we had booked a twin with Booking.com, I asked for a room change, but was told that there were no other rooms available. My wife decided to rest whilst I went outside to my car, parked at the rear(watch out for potholes). Shortly afterwards, as I sat in the car checking for calls on my mobile, my wife appeared and marched determinedly towards my waving some keys. On trying to rest, she was struck by the noise coming from the kitchen and air conditioning system just below our window, even with the window shut! She knew that I would have been sleepless all night, and she demanded a change, and was given the option of two other rooms at the front of the hotel. The change of room gave us a much better, bigger room with a king-size bed, and a much nicer bathroom. The occasional Virgin high speed train noise was initially intrusive, but as they don't run after 23:00 hrs and before 05:00 the next morning we had a comfortable night. The restaurant wasn't opened the night we stayed(Monday) but we ate well in the public bar area. We thought that the locals were very friendly and helpful, and were interested to hear that we had driven from south Wales. The Phipps IPA was very moorish, and my wife enjoyed the OneTree Hill Shiraz with our steaks.There was also a very comfortable seating area in front of a roaring log burner, and we had good conversation here later. The following morning, we were greeted by a charming young lady, and she prepared one of the best full English we have ever had, so we left of a high note. We have other business to see to over the coming weeks in Northampton, but we have prefered to book the Hopping Hare instead.

Room Tip: Go for the ones overlooking the railway line, much nicer aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The resaurant is good. Clean and Food Good. Restaurant Service was excellent.
The entertainment however was very average - A motown band with a limited reportoire and the singer loud and flat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigmount25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Rather out in the sticks, not even in Blisworth, let alone Northampton. Spacious and well-appointed bedroom, but (as others have commented) it's a toss-up between railway noise at the front or kitchen / smoking area noise at the back. Bathroom was a bit tired-looking in places. Free WiFi, big bar with good ales, live music started at 11pm.

Evening meal was beautifully presented with excellent service, though main course portions were very small. Breakfast (Sunday) was incredibly slow, just one over-worked (but pleasant) young lady serving.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back but away from the kitchen (either end is best) or put up with the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPardoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
4.8 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
465 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#8 of 29 in Northampton
1,223 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
418 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
357 reviews
7.5 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walnut Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walnut Tree Inn

Property: The Walnut Tree Inn
Address: 21 Station Road, Northampton NN7 3DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Walnut Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully spacious reasonably priced hotel in rural Northamptonshire, near the home of British Grand Prix - Silverstone. Fantastic dining, a relaxed atmosphere and a lively bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Walnut Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walnut Tree Hotel Northampton
The Walnut Tree Inn Northampton, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing