We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Curry Ever”
Review of Indian Ignite - CLOSED

Indian Ignite
Price range: US$10 - US$26
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
“Best Curry Ever”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This has to be the best curry we've had in years, if not ever! The usual generic fare which appeals to the British palate has now become more about how hot the curry is and less about the actual taste and ingredients. If you're fed up with the usual - try this out. The flavours were a delight -nicely spiced, but not so hot that you felt as if you'd had an anaesthetic. The bombay aloo was delicious and different from the usual bombay potatoes, the lamb curry was to die for and the naan bread was puffy, light and golden. If you like proper curry, cooked well with nice ingredients then do yourself a flavour (yes, I mean flavour) and visit this restaurant sooner rather than later.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    13
    4
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food great service”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

What a lovely individual Indian restaurant went here as a groupon for Father's Day lovely atmosphere attention to detail where it counts food and service ,definitely my new favourite Indian restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jalo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic, authentic and honest cooking”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Having never been to Northampton before and fancying some Indian food, we chose Indian Ignite purely because of the good Tripadvisor reviews and boy are we glad we did! We ended up having some of the best Indian food we’ve had for many years. The restaurant is fairly small and unpretentious but the food is fantastic. None of the trendy contemporary Indian stuff that is so common these days but just good, honest Indian home cooking. Take for example the straightforward-sounding “Prawn Puree”. Sounds familiar and safe on paper but this was a generously filled light and fluffy poori with the most delicious and flavoursome prawn bhuna mixture. Every bit as good was a side dish of “Aloo-Gobi” which was beautifully cooked and elegantly spiced. Star of the show however was the “Lamb Biryani” which was quite possibly the best biryani I have ever had. Not the “mix some cooked basmati rice with a curry paste and throw in some cooked meat” type biryani that is far too common in Indian restaurants across the country, but a properly prepared authentic Biriyani with the most tender melt-in-your mouth pieces of slow cooked lamb, precise spicing and perfectly cooked rice. Service was good and friendly and the total bill for two, including two starters, two main courses, a side dish, (a very good) plain nan and a bottle of wine was a tad under £50, which means that this is unquestionably one of the best Indian restaurants in the country, when it comes to value for money and quality of food. This is how it’s done!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FirstTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Evening, Great Service”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We went there tonight on a groupon and had an excellent meal, well cooked and well served, will be going back soon. very friendly staff

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 504Neil1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manoj S, Owner at Indian Ignite, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you very for amazing review !! we as the team work very hard to put our customer on top I m telling you our secret that we do authentic indian and southern indian cuisine as well. And i assure you one your every visit you will find our food delicious and friendly service ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our visit was due to a Groupon deal for four people. We had the set menu which was very well put together - there were options to swap out the main courses for other mains on the menu but we were happy with the restaurant recommendations. The dishes complimented each other beautifully and everything we had was delicately flavoured and tasted fresh and delicious. Staff are so helpful and friendly and the service is attentive and second to none! They also provide a takeaway delivery service too which we'll definitely be using. We would highly recommend eating here and are looking forward to sampling some gorgeous Southern Indian dishes soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indian Ignite also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing