We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Interesting Mackintosh Designed House”
Review of 78 Derngate

78 Derngate
Ranked #1 of 60 things to do in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 78 Derngate is the only house in England designed by Charles Rennie Mackintosh. It is now a multi award-winning visitor attraction offering an unforgettable day out in Northampton. Designed and remodelled by Charles Rennie Mackintosh in 1916, the house has been meticulously restored and opened to the public. On site: a boutique restaurant, light-filled art galleries, a stylish design shop and elegant spaces that can be hired for meetings, events and functions. 78 Derngate was the architect's final major commission; his visionary patron, Northampton model engineer, W.J Bassett-Lowke. It is the only place in the world where Mackintosh's mature architectural and interior style can be seen in their original setting. As such, the house has drawn many thousands of visitors from around the globe. Now you can follow in their footsteps and see this unique work from one of Britain's most influential and celebrated designers. Please note: To post a review for The Dining Room Restaurant ( a separate business ) you should search for their separate TripAdvisor page. Thankyou!
Surrey England
Level Contributor
262 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Mackintosh Designed House”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This little house is situated near the centre of Northampton and it is the only Charles Rennie Mackintosh designed house outside of Scotland.
We did the guided tour, which is included in the entry fee. I would highly recommend the tour as it provides so much information about the house and about Mackintosh and Bassett-Lowke which you would otherwise miss.
I didn't use it but there is a little café/restaurant on the premises for coffee, lunch or tea.
Perfect way to spend 90 minutes on a rainy day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Silverpablito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    87
    19
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One to Repeat ASAP”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Whilst I may be a Mackintosh fan I think this place and the restaurant would appeal to anyone with a sense of style. i went there for lunch and enjoyed this on the decking at the back. Service excellent. Could work well for a family outing some time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank StephenBell104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mackintosh heaven”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This house is a wonderful place to visit for everyone not just Mackintosh fans! It has been beautifully restored to it's original state. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The dining room has an amazing afternoon tea! If you are in Northampton you really should not miss this gem.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Brilliant for Mackintosh fans”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We went by train specially to walk to the house (and enjoy the fabulous architecture on the way) and we also booked lunch (really good. It is unlikely that we will return, it being so far away, but yes, it was excellent.)
The trio of 78, 80 and 82 is very impressive - modern from nearly 100 years ago at number 78 and modern modern at 80 and 82, and it really blends/joins well. It has been very cleverly done. I bet it is a nice place to work. In fact the staff were wonderfully helpful, stashing away our rucksacks while we went round and wrapping up purchases that were secret presents.
The house is remarkable. If you have been to Hill House and the Hunterian in Glasgow you will know what to expect, but shocks await you. Bland it is not! Go see!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SilverPound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Two standout rooms”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

As a fan of Mackintosh I was very curious about his only English creation. While small, the house is lovely and the two rooms that Mackintosh was given a free hand in are both absolutely stunning - far darker and more dramatic than much of his other work, and so well worth seeing. It's amazing to think of the time that he was creating these in, and realise how they must have seemed to people then. The small museum about the patron was less interesting, although there was also a small gallery with artwork by Roy Boulding (I think) in - sadly out of my price range but very nice to look at.

I would recommend buying the guidebook, as we felt that the information on the cards in the room wasn't so interesting or helpful as what was in the book.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Morag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 78 Derngate also viewed

Castle Ashby, Northampton
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Towcester, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to 78 Derngate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing