We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hopping Hare
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
The Langham Hotel(Northampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coach House Hotel(Northampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sedgebrook Hall(Chapel Brampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
308
145
50
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
145
50
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscotch egggastro pubmain coursesunday lunchlovely mealbooked a tablehousing estatefull englishstaff were attentivepuddingbar areathe ground flooran evening mealcomfy bedmember of stafffollowing morningdouble room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stated at the Hopping Hare for the weekend, whilst staying in the area with friends. We had eaten there before, which was exceptional. This time our stay was lovely, a warm friendly welcome and a lovely funky room. We will definitely stay there again and recommend it to all.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank mkt181822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Mkt,

Many thanks for your kind review.

Excellent food and first class customer service are our highest priorities and the team is delighted when a customer takes the time to appreciate their efforts.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked the hotel because we were attracted by the food on offer and wanted somewhere where we could eat and stay overnight.

On the whole this is a pleasant hotel which represents reasonable value for money but there are a number of niggles which need to be addressed.

The staff are task focused rather than people focused. Our welcome on a Saturday lunchtime by the person at the bar was lacking in warmth and when we were served breakfast the next day were acknowledged on our way to the breakfast table separately by two members of staff but then we sat there waiting to order our breakfast for 5 minutes. We then watched a member of staff clear up a table next to a couple who were clearly waiting to make their breakfast order; I am not sure why she could not have asked the couple immediately, "Are you ready to order?" before she tidied up the breakfast pots.

The rooms are reasonable value for money for what you pay (we paid £75 including breakfast, which had a cooked option). They are decorated in a contemporary style and of a good size. The shower room had a great shower and the fixtures and fittings were modern. However, when we checked into our room the soap dish by the sink had not been cleaned and the underside of the toilet lid was stained. The paintwork around the windows is starting to bubble and peel away.

Coffee and tea making facilities were provided, as well as a packet of biscuits. The milk jiggers were the usual hotel fayre - not a great fan and the milk in the coffee formed into solid lumps. Ugh!

The bed was comfortable and the hotel was reasonably quiet - however the pillows were lumpy and extremely hard and I did not get a good night's sleep because of this.

The food the previous night was reasonable. For an Easter weekend we expected the restaurant to be busier but we enjoyed the comparative peace and quiet. We would recommend the starter with the coronation chicken terrine and samosa with satay sauce - a very unusual starter which was full of flavour. I had the crispy squid which was cooked well, however, this was covered with artificial yellow breadcrumbs which distracted from the dish. A tempura batter with black pepper would have been much nicer. The puddings were also unusual and suited a sweeter tooth - the special of the day was a sticky toffee pudding with banoffee ice cream and my husband had a millionaires shortbread with popcorn and salted caramel ice-cream - both extremely sweet but obviously home made and a change from the usual fayre.

The pub is well located for the M1 (only 10 minutes away) and only 2 miles from the city centre.

If the issues are addressed this hotel could be so much better.

Room Tip: If you are a tall person, ask not to be put in the attic rooms because of the sloping roofs. There is a room on the ground floor for guests with disabilities which has a wet room. The hotel is not noisy and is set back from the main road.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2jus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear 2jus,

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed our food offer and dining with us.

Excellent quality food and first class customer service are our highest priorities and therefore we will certainly address the little niggles you have raised.

We hope you can visit again soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here on a d B and B deal with wine in 2012. We had a lovely stay and found the team at the hopping hare to be very hospitable and professional. The room was small but beautifully decorated. A lovely change from the more "corporate" type hotels. We had a really lovely meal and a fun time short break at the hopping hare. We will definitely return when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear M&L,

Thank you very much for your complimentary review.

Excellent customer service is one of our highest priorities and the team are really appreciative when their efforts are recognised.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I booked this hotel as an overnight stay on our way to Manchester. I have to say we were really impressed. The standard of the room was very good, the food was excellent and the staff friendly and welcoming. Would I stay here again? Too right I would and I would recommend this place to anyone. Be warned though, the food portion sizes are very good :-)

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Burmana2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Burmana,

On behalf of the team thank you very much for such a complimentary review. We read all reviews and is great when our efforts are appreciated.

Excellent quality food and first class customer service, going that extra mile to help, are our highest priorities and I am pleased the team delivered on both.

We hope you can both visit again soon.

Kind regards, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed in the Hopping Hare, with my daughter after a visit to the NEC. We arrived just after 7pm and were warmly welcomed and very pleasantly surprised by the tasteful decor. The evening menu looked fantastic with attention to detail. The tables were well laid, very clean & the waitresses attentive. The chicken & bacon club was delicious and nothing seemed too much trouble. We were pretty tired (Crufts!) and were so pleased with our double room (19) It was spacious, with masses of hanging space, extra towels, comfy sofa and soft lighting. My top impression was that it was immaculately clean! I am fussy and have stayed across the world - but this was the cleanest room with ensuite I have experienced! I could not fault it at all! Complimentary shampoos etc added to this (especially as we had forgotten ours!) Breakfast was excellent, served quickly and very hot. The sausages were good quality and speciality teas & coffees were available. I felt very rested and would not hesitate on staying here again. It is 10 mins or so, from the motorway so no motorway noise. It's in a quiet residential area with immediate parking and patio area. Hopping Hare deserves 10/10.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Sally,

Thank you very much for your complimentary review. The team really appreciate it when their efforts are recognised.

I am very pleased that you received a warm welcome and found our menu to be fantastic and it is great to hear that your room was the cleanest you have ever experienced. We do try to deliver the highest standards in everything we do.

We hope you and your daughter can visit again soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews