We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hopping Hare
Nearby Hotels
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Northampton(Northampton)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sedgebrook Hall(Chapel Brampton)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Poplars Hotel(Northampton)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Campanile Northampton(Northampton)(Great Value!)
US$41
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
310
145
50
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
145
50
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscotch egggastro pubmain coursesunday lunchlovely mealbooked a tablehousing estatefull englishstaff were attentivepuddingbar areathe ground flooran evening mealcomfy bedmember of stafffollowing morningdouble room
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I've just got back from a lovely stay at this hotel. This was for my youngest daughters graduation and we had a superb evening meal in the restaurant. The food was beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. I was surprised that the restaurant wasn't packed as the food really is outstanding. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms very clean. All in all a lovely stay and I would have no hesitation in going back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Julia,

Many congratulations to your daughter on her graduation and thank you for a very complimentary review.

The team is very pleased that you really appreciated the quality of service and food and in particular we are delighted that you really enjoyed your visit.

We hope you can visit again soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed one night, good welcome from staff, room was excellent but very hot during the night. We ate in the restaurant, the food was very good (salmon and hake mains) also the wine at a reasonable price, but we then ordered the cheese board 6 cheeses, a total disaster!! platter looked nice but each cheese was only approx. 3cm by 4cm at £2.95 per portion, over £17.00 for the course, one French soft did not have any cheese in it only the outside rind and was hidden beneath grapes and celery, but to give the staff their due it was taken away on complaint and not charged for. Breakfast was good, freshly cooked to order and help yourself to tea coffee juice etc. On paying the bill the computer seemed to have a glitch and gave us a discount? of £9.04 which was then added on to the account which the staff could not explain, we had to wait for the manager to come on duty and his explanation did not make sense either, but he did refund the amount. All in All a pleasant stay we would return, but watch the bill.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PJL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear PJ,

Thank you for your feedback and for complementing good food, an excellent room and a warm welcome. We try very hard to deliver excellence in all areas.

The cheese board you were served was not acceptable and the portion sizes were wrong and too small. The member of staff has been trained and I would fully expect for you not to be charged, which was indeed the case.

The error on billing was simply down to a mistake in that a discount applied was charged instead of credited.

We hope you can visit us again soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights, but unfortunately in two different rooms. On arrival we were told our room number was 8. On entering room 8 we were less than happy. Although the room was well equipped and clean, it was dark and very noisy. The window looked right onto the kitchen extractor fans and trunking and we found the noise level unbearable. After travelling for 4 hours, a rest would have been impossible. The staff were very helpful and put us in an attic room. As this room was on a higher floor, the noise was not quite as bad. The second night, we had a lovely room overlooking the decking area. A lovely lad made sure our new room was cleaned very quickly for us to move into. Biscuits in the rooms was a nice touch and breakfast was lovely as was all the staff.

Room Tip: Avoid all inward facing rooms, especially room 8, which overlook very noisy kitchen fans. Outer rooms are fine.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANICE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Janice,

Thanks for your review and I am pleased that you were well looked after by the team.

The kitchen extract unit is a necessary evil, does drone a bit and can be heard in a few of the rooms. The fans are of course switched off when the kitchen team finish cooking which is normally before 10pm mid-week and before 11pm Friday and Saturday. I'm pleased that you were not too inconvenienced.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Hopping Hare was recommended to me so I took the lady wife away for the weekend and we stayed 2 nights, what can I say it was excellent!
On arrival we were given a very warm welcome and given our room which is known as "the flat". This turned out to be a fully contained suite at the top of the building complete with several Velux windows which make it very bright and airy. Like the rest of the place the room was spotlessly clean.
We ate in the restaurant for both breakfast and evening meals and the quality of the choice, service & food was nothing short of outstanding!
We'll done to the whole team, we will certainly be returning and soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Rob,

Thank you very much for a fabulous review, the team really appreciate it.

A warm welcome, excellent customer service and outstanding food are our priorities and I am pleased we delivered on both.

We look forward to seeing you and your wife again soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights to visit family who live nearby. Our room was large, well presented, comfortable and clean. Most of the staff were efficient and friendly. We ate in the bar area several times. There was an extensive range on offer and all the meals we had were really nice. We asked for room service one night and although they were really busy in the restaurant they provided this willingly. The location was excellent for us and there was no other accommodation of this quality on offer in this area. Would recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wmcint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

G'Day WM,

Good on you sport and many thanks for your recommendation. It's a long way from Australia but we are very pleased you chose to stay at The Hopping Hare.

The team read all reviews and they are really pleased with your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews