We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay at hopping hare was brill” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hopping Hare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hopping Hare
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
scunthorpe
1 review
“stay at hopping hare was brill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

just stayed at hopping hare to vist sliverstone we found the bedroom excellent just like the photos on the web site ,breakfast brill ,we would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tillytwoshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    119
    47
    10
    11
See reviews for
81
165
9
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
isle of wight
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Our first stay in Northampton, as all the major hotels and inns where fully booked we took a chance on the Hopping hare.We arrived at the H H to be greeted with very friend and proffestion staff, booking in was a dream also we found the service was 100%.
We where meeting up with our extended family so we had two double rooms...both gave us the wow factor as we went through the doors, in fact I have to go as far as to say it was on of the best rooms I have stayed in decor wise..the wet room was amazing, faultless.
we booked a table for the evening...the food was so special, ok picture on a plate but well up to any standard on a curnard cruise ship 5*, the attmospher in the venue was really nice and relaxin with people enjoying good quality food...ok not cheap but well worth payin a bit extra for....exellent service too.
we ordered tap water for the table and even that came in a very impressive bottle, little touches that mean a lot...
i would certainly recommend this hotel to my very fussy friends who only 5* service and quality rooms and food without any hesitation.

On our checkout we where asked if all was ok with rooms and such like...indeed it was.
while we where just chatting after breakfast we notice the cleaning regime was very good..eveyrthing and everything got cleaned till it was like a shiny new pin..
forgot to mention breakfast, top quality food, the hotel inspector would have nothing to complain here....so looking forward to my next visit to the \hopping hare very soon....

The location is on the outskirts of a small housing estate, but we never intend to go out and about , our visit was purely to visit relative....so it served our purpose..so i cannot coment on the surroundings....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarafudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

Stayed here while visiting Northampton on business. What can I say, great location, excellent breakfast, excellent evening meal, excellent rooms and service. The only thing missing was a bottle of my favourite whisky (isle of Jura). Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walshyw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

I stayed here with my husband last weekend for 2 nights and I had to write a review as we found the hotel to be amazing. I booked online via their website, which had a £40 room offer if you booked a table for dinner, which we did on the saturday. On arrival we were offered room 1 which is a lovely double room overlooking the front of the hotel. The decor is very modern and stylish and had a flat screen TV which was good, however they don't have curtains only blinds, so if you like to sleep in darkness as we do, you are better off getting a kingsize room. As my husband is tall, he found it difficult to sleep in the double bed, so we asked the staff if we could upgrade to a king size bedroom. We were informed the hotel was fully booked but they managed to upgrade us as a guest had not booked in from the previous night. The Kingsize room number 5, was huge again decorated in modern taste, the bathroom was much bigger and included a better shower and this room had curtains and overlooked the terrace area, which we didn't mind, we didn't hear any noise and had a lovely night's sleep.

The hotel only has about 20 bedrooms, numbers 10-19 were only built in March 2010 so would love to know what these are like if anyone has been.

The chef in this hotel creates the best food, We enjoyed the handmade burgers which are to die for. The breakfast is also included in the price which includes cereal, toast and a cooked breakfast. This is also of a very high standard.

All round we found the staff to be helpful and friendly, the rooms to be very clean and recently decorated and the food was amazing. I travelled here to spend time with friends who live nearby, so it is not based in the city centre, but this is easily reached by car within 15 minutes. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the area as it is very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harland39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Used this as a base to go to Santa Pod racing over the weekend of May 29-30. The hotel its self is clean and tidy, the decor is great. Our only gripe is that there is no hotel reception. We checked in over a lunch hour. The place was busy, check in is at the bar. There was a lack of information in the hotel, no times for breakfast, no leaflets of the surrounding area. We left about 8.30am on the bank holiday Monday. Breakfast was served at 9am. We went through the bar to check out, not a sole about. Luckily we didn't have anything to return or ask, so just left, via the back door. Front door is locked. Staff were ok, but not friendly enough. Food although nice, was not worth the money. Too expensive

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrimaGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

Travelling on business you need good places to stay. Although I haven't stayed yet (matter of time) the facilities for food and drinks are excellent. Good lunch and quite busy which is a good sign - mainly business meetings going on over lunch. Food arrived without much delay and was of a very good standard. fairly reasonable and attentive staff

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

We ate on valentines (sat) service was slow and panic was apparent food was not good heard complaints about both from tables beside us we ended up talking to another couple near us and made jokes about what they could get wrong next we came over Christmas the food was excellent but service was not however the food made up for it not sure wether they have another chef but one of the waitresses told me they have had a lot of chefs won't be going back shame

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haroldover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
4.3 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.3 mi away
No photo provided
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
10.7 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.0 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
12.7 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopping Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopping Hare

Property: Hopping Hare
Address: 18 Hopping Hill Gardens | Duston, Northampton NN5 6PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#5 Family Hotel in Northampton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hopping Hare 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When my family bought the Hopping Hare in 2006 our aim was to create an escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, somewhere just a bit different. A place to dine, stay or meet up and relax with friends, family or colleagues. We didn't want it to be stuffy, intimidating or over the top. We set about creating luxurious rooms, a subtle, sophisticated bar with a great selection of quality drinks and a restaurant offering some of the best food to be found in Northampton. As a family owned and operated business, we set the standards on service, value for money, atmosphere and personality. No detail has been overlooked in creating a hotel, restaurant and bar in Northampton with an individual blend of 21st-century chic, high standards and a laid back friendly feel that we are sure you'll begin to notice as soon as you step inside. We've got to know some of our guests well because they come back time after time. In fact, 2010 saw the completion of an extension to the hotel to meet increased demand for accommodation from a growing clientele. My team and I would love to welcome you to stay for brunch, lunch, dinner or just a drink. Once the Hopping Hare is on your radar we guarantee you'll be back. David George, General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hopping Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopping Hare Northampton, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing