We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Baba & Nyonya - CLOSED

Baba & Nyonya
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: We are the only Malaysian restaurant in Northamptonshire, serving authentic M'sian food. We are passionate about our Malaysian food and wish to share our joy with you. If you have had experience of Malaysian food but cannot find the item on our menu, we would only be too pleased to cook it for you provided we have the ingredients.
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This was the first time all 4 of us had tried Malaysian foid and we wasn't disappointed. All the food was amazing and the service was excellent all evening. You are made very welcome by the owner who also helps you understand the menu and make the right choices. It is fairly expensive but worth every penny

3  Thank clem670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTLow, Owner at Baba & Nyonya, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Clem, thank you for a positive review. We are aware most of the customers of SunRise (the restaurant we replaced) prefer a 'total night out' experience instead of just a dinner. We intend to offer the same but with M'sian cuisine. For that reason, we do not offer 'Ear-As-Much-As-You-Like' format which may limit the time you spend with us. We offer a much more relax atmosphere at a price which is 'worth every penny' ( to borrow your words).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Highly recommended, great friendly service. At last another high quality restuarant opens in Northampton.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTLow, Owner at Baba & Nyonya, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Andy, thank you for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed the evening with us; we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Nice to have a different place to visit and it's an excellent restaurant - food ambience, air-con, staff all good. Not cheap, but not too pricey either considering what's on offer. We'll be back sometime and I'd advise others to go, Northampton needs more than Indian, Chinese etc :o)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Bob's yer Uncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTLow, Owner at Baba & Nyonya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Bob, thank you for a positive review. We do try to provide something different from the 'Eat-as-much-as-you-Like' setup. Our customers tend to spend an evening with us instead of just a meal. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went to this restaurant with friends tonight, a first visit for us but a second for them. The meal was beautiful and the service attentive and very pleasant. The owner spoke to us several times to ensure we were happy. The portions are large and my chicken with ginger spring onion and soy was lovely but a little too salty for my personal taste. Everyone enjoyed their meal and we shall certainly return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jecpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTLow, Owner at Baba & Nyonya, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Jecpac, thank you for writing a review on us. Your input is extremely valuable and I will accordingly inform our Chef that your dish might have been too salty.

I hope to see you again soon. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This restaurant has made a great addition to good places to go and eat out in Northampton. The food is excellent and authentic! The atmosphere relaxing and welcoming... a most enjoyable way to spend an evening. Thank you!!! Will be there again repeatedly!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SJ1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTLow, Owner at Baba & Nyonya, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you, SJ1953 for your feedback. We are pleased you had an excellent time. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baba & Nyonya also viewed

Kislingbury, Northampton
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing