We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views, History, Excersise”
Review of Hadrian's Wall

Hadrian's Wall
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.19*
and up
Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders
More Info
US$51.54*
and up
Rosslyn Chapel and Hadrian's Wall Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh
Ranked #16 of 248 things to do in Northumberland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built by the Roman Emporer Hadrian in AD 122, the remnants of this ancient wall stretches 73 miles from Wallsend-on-Tyne to Bowness-on-Solway.
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning Views, History, Excersise”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Have been to Hadrains Wall parking at Steel Rigg National Parks car park and Cawfields Quarry with a group of friends taking in the major sections but not the pay in sites operated by English Heritage,National Trust and National parks, can recommend this area of outstanding Natural Beauty

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank geordiedecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    178
    29
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Steeped in History”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Although not the Great Wall of china, hadrians wall is of significant historical significance. Set in wild and beautiful countryside it is worth a visit. Best places to see are the roman forts at vindolanda and housesteads or drive to steel rigg or cawfields car parks and have a walk along the wall. My personal favorite is steel Rigg from where i walk to the sycamore gap ( as seen in robin hood prince of theives) and then on along the cliffs to hotbank. The weather can be wild up here so be prepared.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
508 reviews
376 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“This was worth the trip”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

There isn't much of the wall left but what you have is alot of history condensed into small portions here and there of the walls remnant. This is a great place to go ghost hunting as well.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heart of Scotland Tours made this trip breathtakingly memorable!”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I booked this one-day tour along with another through Heart of Scotland Tours. Booking was easily done on line and service was exceptional. Drivers were entertaining and helpful every step of the way. There was enough time to enjoy all stops along the way, the bus was comfortable, the views breathtaking, and plenty of rest stops along the way. Would definitely book with them again.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Invigorating walk through history”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

My husband and I drove along the wall from Corbridge to Once Brewed on B6318. This is a two-lane rural road that was peaceful and lightly traveled in late August. We had no problem parking our rented car (and it's free) and it was usually just a short walk to either the Roman ruins or wall. The longest walk was about 1/3 mile to Housesteads. It's the same route the walker's bus takes.

We bought an Overseas Visitor Pass that is good for a week at a hundred sites including all the forts at Hadrian's Wall, Stonehenge, and many castles and gardens. At Hadrian's Wall, this includes listening devices for self-guided tours. There is a wealth of information and you could spend a couple of hours (or more) at each fort. Allow at least 2 days if you want to see all the forts and enjoy the scenery at key points along the wall. We had to rush through Housesteads and missed Birdoswald completely in favor of hiking up to the highest point near Milecastle 38.

At Housesteads, you can easily access a restored portion of wall on which you can walk before getting on the path alongside the wall. Heading west you pass a partially standing gate, follow the contour of the land and head up to a windy ridge overlooking the moors to a stone marker noting the elevation. It's about 2 miles one way. The temperature was in the 60's and overcast. I wore water-proof pants, 2 long-sleeved knit shirts, and a fleece jacket. My husband had jeans, a T-shirt, knitted pull-over, and windbreaker.

About 3:30 pm heavy clouds came in and we drove to the Steel Rigg parking. It rained enough to create a muddy path in places, but we took a short hike to a quarry and some crags. By then the Once Brewed Museum was closed so we drove to Carlisle for the night. It was hard to find a nice affordable hotel because of the end of summer. (I had booked one the night before, but my choices were very limited..) Along the wall, the accommodations cater to hikers. At www.hadrians-wall.org you can request a visitor's packet that contains bus service schedules (if you prefer not to drive), accommodations arranged by section of the wall, and other visitor services. They send it quickly, too.

I thoroughly enjoyed our day, but wish I had allowed more time. There are books and internet sites that help get you an idea of the wall, but most are presented from a walker's viewpoint. They describe the walk from west to east which was confusing since we went east to west, but I found the sites very accessible, well-maintained, informative, the wall fascinating, and the scenery wild with a brooding beauty. (You may want to take a picnic lunch, though, for convenience. I don't remember seeing places to eat along B6318 although there are some snacks at the forts. You'd have to go over to the main road for restaurants.)

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Lives2Travel2Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hadrian's Wall also viewed

 

Been to Hadrian's Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing