We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An affordable, reasonable, and personalized tour along Hadrian’s Wall with Real Roman Tours” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hadrian's Wall

Hadrian's Wall
Book In Advance
More Info
US$52.05*
and up
Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders
Ranked #18 of 235 things to do in Northumberland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built by the Roman Emporer Hadrian in AD 122, the remnants of this ancient wall stretches 73 miles from Wallsend-on-Tyne to Bowness-on-Solway.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An affordable, reasonable, and personalized tour along Hadrian’s Wall with Real Roman Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Visiting Hadrian’s Wall has always been a personal dream. Being in England and Scotland for over a month with my family I was convinced that this dream would be easily fulfilled. However, after weeks of contacting a number of tour operators “specializing” in tours along Hadrian’s Wall, many of them not even having the common courtesy to respond back to me, and others quoting outrages sums of monies for a day tour, I was quickly discouraged. Fortunately, I took a tour along Antonine’s Wall last with Real Roman Tours last week, although being quite satisfied with the outing, I did express my disappointed with being unable to visit Hadrian’s Wall. Upon hearing this, Real Roman Tours developed a customized tour for my son and me and provided us with a fantastic experiential experience featuring visits to the Roman Army Museum and the Vindolanda Roman Fort and Museum (an active archeological site) and then a walk along the wall, this past weekend. Providing insights and interpretation into daily Roman life in Britain, the guides also engaged and enthralled my son with tales of living along the Roman frontier. Keeping an 8 year old interested in ancient history is a gift, and I cannot emphasize how much I appreciated the attention and efforts of Quintus and Rufus. Having done my research and having experienced two amazing tours with this company, I would suggest that future travelers forget the rest and simply contact the best (and most reasonable) - Real Roman Tours.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank HL_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    168
    29
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1,084 reviews
568 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,211 helpful votes
“I just liked the general scenery really!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We just pulled in where there was space to park along the road and had a look for free. I think the actual wall is a bit over-hyped, it was moreso the general scenery that I liked. I know it's of historical importance which is why it's hyped but..!! It goes on for a long time so there are plenty of places where you could pull in for free. Northumberland in general is lovely and scenic, well worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“go look for free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

if you go to the roman army museum,when you come out drive up the dead end road opposite until you come to a dead end,,there is loads of space to park your car. in front of you there is a slight climb to the crags mile castle,as my wife and I cannot climb very much this is an easy way of seeing the wall snake up and over the country side

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Biffothebear69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good for history buffs, as long as you don't take a dog and want to eat inside.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We decided to visit Hadrian's wall at Housestead Roman fort instead of the larger Vindolanda as dogs were welcome at Housestead. It is a steady climb up to the fort, so decent shoes do need to be worn.
The ruins are very interesting and it was good value for money with very friendly, helpful staff.
Our only complaint was none of the local pubs were dog friendly and, as it was beginning to rain, we did not fancy being relegated to a damp beer garden. It is obviously a universal policy as, on our way home we saw a pub with a huge sign saying dogs welcome.
The attraction is very good if you enjoy history... or indeed walls.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Elfinium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpo
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An excellent 6 days walking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We recently completed the walk from Wallsend to Bowness-on-Solway over 6 days. The highlight was the middle 2 days which covered the area from Chollerford to Banks as this is the stretch where the majority of the remaining wall stands.

The walk to Chollerford via Heddon-on-the-Wall was okay as it followed the river through the city centre and then out into the countryside. Once past Chollerford though it is ruggedly beautiful with some spectacular views - it is still remote now so it must have been bleak for the legions guarding the wall all those years ago.

The walk from Banks into Carlisle is pleasant enough and goes through a more scenic area than the route does in Newcastle. There are rumours that the "official" end of the walk is going to be changed to Carlisle rather than Bowness-on-Solway. This would be a poor decision IMO as the walk is very pleasant and passes the best tea room on the walk (Rosemount in Burgh-on-the-Sands) and the best B&B would be omitted - the Wallsend in Bowness-on-Solway which also has an excellent tea room.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank seasider968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hadrian's Wall also viewed

 
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Hadrian's Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing