We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heart of Northumberland

The Heart of Northumberland
Ranked #16 of 111 Restaurants in Hexham
Price range: US$7 - US$22
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A brand spanking new renovation of one of Hexhams oldest listed pubs, with an incredible range of ales, lagers, wines, spirits and soft drinks. We provide an incredible menu of locally sourced and seasonal ingredients too.
Chicago
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We just happened into this pub during a couple of hours we had in Hexham. Really didn't expect the outstanding food and welcome we had here. We had the local sandwich on a "stottie" and a couple of beers. Really friendly owners and great food. What more could you want in a pub?

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank helene123Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    51
    13
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“excellent sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Just what hexham has been missing! Recently taken over this has to be the best sunday lunch in hexham. They also serve meals on evening which we have yet to try yet- we will soon. Brilliant food, good service but bar/ restaurant area could do with updating

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jabba16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome and superb food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We went for a quick bite after work and were warmly greeted and promptly served our drinks. after debating which of the delicious sounding options on the menu to have, we chose the hot beef stottie and some chips. What we received was a veritable feast! Generously packed stottie with beautifully cooked beef which melted in the mouth; gravy in a boat; 2 roast potatoes; a Yorkshire pudding - and our side order of home-made chunky chips. DIVINE! We then gave in to temptation and had a home-made dessert too - one raspberry cheesecake with Chantilly cream and one warm sticky toffee pudding with ice-cream. Heaven! The accompanying wine was a good quality bottle from a local wine shop - no cheap house-plonk here. Highly recommended whether for a "snack |" or a full meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Supurb value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I have been to dine twice now, eccelent front of house service, from Lorraine, attentive, nothing is too much trouble, Mark the chef, has a passion for the freahly made food he serves i have not seen in a Chef for a long time, his sauces have to be tasted to be belived, the food is all freshly cooked, and served with a passion.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_Hubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Solo supper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Very welcoming host, reservation despite not staying at hotel. Quiet and gracious service. Brit hospitality and kindness at its best. Food impaccable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank annebeaulieu0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Heart of Northumberland also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham
 

Been to The Heart of Northumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing