We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant suprise”

The Heart of Northumberland
Ranked #16 of 110 Restaurants in Hexham
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A brand spanking new renovation of one of Hexhams oldest listed pubs, with an incredible range of ales, lagers, wines, spirits and soft drinks. We provide an incredible menu of locally sourced and seasonal ingredients too.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pleasant suprise”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Out in Hexham for the first time in a long time.No idea where to go for lunch. Nice lady on main street told us about the Heart. What a pleasant surprise. Menu had several choices of meals for a fiver, which suited us fine, Free tea or coffee was on offer with 3 choices of tea. Nothing prepared us for the meal served up. 3 lovely goujons of fish in fresh crisp batter, garden peas and beautiful home cooked chips, served with tartare sauce and a wedge of lemon. Definitely going back! Might even get to meet George, the resident ghost, who the girl who served the food has met herself!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arthur w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    60
    13
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time treat”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Had my first visit with a friend of mine who is a regular at heart of all England, we had the fish and salad with mushy peas, wonderful food, very tasty, the hosts could not have been nicer, great little place to go to.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food and lovely staff”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stopped here for a quick drink and didn't leave for 3 hours! The atmosphere was lovely and the landlady was fab. We hadn't intended to eat here but decided to as we didn't want to move and I'm so glad we did, the food was excellent and good value. If we are ever in Hexham again, this will be my first stop.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fazza33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very comfortable pub with great food and service”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Have started to go here now due to moving to Hexham. Of all the times we have been here so far the food has been fantastic and they do great value for money on food. The owners are very friendly. We love the comfy chairs and sofas.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank parrmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Group Christmas Dinner - best I've had anywhere.”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

A group of 12 of us booked for Christmas dinner on a Saturday night. We got a little slice of Christmas heaven!
Three glorious courses of sublime food, mince pies, coffee, chocolates, and all with calm, efficient, friendly service. Wine was excellent, table decor perfect and just the right ambience for feeling Christmassy.
I've had Christmas dinners in a group in some supposedly top hotels and they come nowhere close to the experience at The Heart. All freshly home-made food from the generous starters (soup/prawn cocktail/pate/melon) to the desserts (Christmas pudding or Bailey's cheesecake) - and in between were full plates of perfect roast beef/turkey (or a veg option was available) and the fresh vegetables.
Highly recommended and I'll definitely be back next year!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Heart of Northumberland also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 
Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to The Heart of Northumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing