We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chicken tikka masala I ever had”
Review of Saathi

Saathi
Ranked #22 of 110 Restaurants in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best chicken tikka masala I ever had”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Great lovely food!
I enjoyed the food better than any Indian place in London.
The stuff were friendly and really nice.
I even got the recipe (a really detailed one) from one of the stuff member for a dish I really liked :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    39
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A pint of lime and soda for £3.25 ?????”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The food here is good. The starters were not entirely hot, but still good flavours. The main courses were very good, but sadly the traditional food colouring red is still being used here in the chicken tikka massala which kind of lets the place down when it is trying its best to be upmarket. Certainly it does well on many levels, including perfectly clean and modern loos. However, i have NEVER in my life paid £3.25 for a pint of lime and soda. Lager here is £3.75 a pint which is acceptable, but lime and soda at that price says two words, RIPPED OFF. I queried it and was told the pricing is correct. In rural towns places like this should be encouraging people not to drink and drive, but this sort of thing just flies in the face of decency. I would not go back under any circumstances. There are other places to eat curry which are better and they are only down the road in Corbridge.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank veryhappy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Generous portions”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

The best Indian in Hexham by some way. Good value too. Always seems busy so worth booking in advance especially weekend evenings. Their take away is good too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarkBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice and spicy”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Early evening walk in with no booking and after a quick check we were seated no problem. It was quiet when we arrived but filled up quickly. Drinks orders taken and delivered quickly. Food also arrived fairly quickly so no complaints from us.
Food was excellent, hot and well presented. Starters were good portions and very tasty. Main course arrived after a nice rest and again was very tasty and of a sensible portion, not too large. The Roshun my wife ordered was a bit more spicy than she was used to but she had not noticed it was a three chilli on the menu.
House white wine was enjoyed enough to have a second.
Service was very friendly and efficient.
Toilets were of a very high standard and access is good if you use a wheelchair.
Prices were reasonable
Overall a good experience and i would be happy to return and to recommend to others.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't book if you are a large party”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A party of 20 people booked in advance. Nice food but it was over 1 1/2 hours before they even took our order despite many requests from the diners. Other small tables and take away orders served quickly but we were left to sit and wait.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank mach20212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saathi also viewed

 
Hexham, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Saathi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing