We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage, Lovely Location”

Review of Peartree Cottage

Peartree Cottage in an acre of garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peartree Cottage in an acre of garden.
The porch is handy for boots and coats, and there's loads of parking Peartree Cottage which has three bedrooms and two bathrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Peartree Cottage in an acre of garden.
The porch is handy for boots and coats, and there's loads of parking
Peartree Cottage which has three bedrooms and two bathrooms
The fish pond, children (and adults) can feed the fish.
Table and chairs for alfresco eating or barbecuing
Sandhoe Lane at rush hour !
Sandhoe Lane - an afternoon in late summer
The wooden spiral staircase to the first floor
A cosy log burning stove, all wood and kindling are provided
A corner of the kitchen and dining area which seats six
The double bedroom on the first floor
Downstairs bedroom with its own connecting bathroom
Twin-bedded room on the first floor
The wild flower meadow opposite the cottage
The lane to Peartree Cottage
Stunning views across the Valley - just a 3 minute walk from the cottage
View on the way to Corbridge, tangled hedgerows and quiet fields
The wildflower meadow with a maze of paths mown in - a favourite with the children
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hexham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rachel D
Sheffield, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage, Lovely Location”
Reviewed 17 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We stayed at Peartree Cottage in March 2012 during a spell of fantastic weather and had a great week. Helen was very friendly & welcoming. The cottage was very clean and the 'welcome pack' of tea/ coffee etc included a home made ginger cake which was devoured very quickly. She left fish food out for our children to feed the fish in the pond (which they loved) & was always happy to chat and answer our questions. She even got out the barbeque and garden furniture for us to use as the weather was so unexpectedly good.

The area is beautiful. We went to Hexham to the farmers market and bought some great local food which we took back to the cottage & cooked. Corbridge is very pretty with a great bakery. We had a good meal at the Rat Inn which is in nearby Anick.

The cottage itself was one of the nicest we've stayed in, very comfortable with plenty of space - our children were endlessly fascinated with the spiral staircase. The kitchen was very well equipped. We found the TV to be a bit high for comfortable viewing & the beds a bit hard but that is just personal preference.

All in all we loved the cottage and the area and were genuinely disappointed to have to come home. We definitely intend to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and overall feel of the cottage
Liked least: The sloping ceilings
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmacoven...
Coventry
2 reviews
“Cosy, clean, modern - perfect getaway location”
Reviewed 5 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

We stayed here for a short break at new year and had a fantastic time. The cottage itself is lovely - an open plan space that is modern with great facilities and really well appointed - there was everything we needed to make several HUGE dinners! It was super clean and very tidy and the space was great for a family of adults as we got to spend the entire time together without being on top of each other. The two bathrooms were surprisingly big for the size of the cottage and fluffy towels were provided for all of us. The bedlinen was crisp and the duvets were cosy. The beds were very comfortable, in fact my parents commented that it was the most comfortable bed that they'd slept in while staying away! My only point to watch would be that if you were particularly tall, you'd need to be careful not to bang your head on the ceiling upstairs (but then that's the perils of a character cottage and certainly not a criticism!).
We loved the real fire the most, and there was a plentiful supply of logs to satisfy our craving for building a fire every night! We were also quite fond of the modern moose... you'll see what I mean if you go!
We met the owner who was very lovely and welcoming and made sure everything we needed was there - they had gone to great effort to make sure we had some christmas lights, a tree and some new year decorations!
I would recommend staying here, totally lovely and relaxing with some great countryside on your doorstep. Great location and a thoroughly welcoming holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire and the cleanliness
Liked least: nothing it was all great!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thank you for your long, lovely review. Christmas and New year are big events in our calendar and we give the cottage a big Christmas makeover. why not celebrate in style!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamsin S
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Year Stay”
Reviewed 2 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We stayed at Peartree Cottage for a relaxing New Year with family. The cottage was spotlessly clean and very well appointed and Helen had added some lovely touches for our New Year stay, twinkly lights, Christmas tree and Sparkling Wine. We received a lovely warm welcome and this was made all the warmer by the log burner which I spent lots of time attending to. Kitchen had all the equipment we needed considering we spent a lot of time cooking, eating and generally relaxing the cottage had everything we could have wished for.

I can't really comment on things to see in the area as we were only there for a few days but the location was good to explore the North East. We did venture up to Bamburgh Castle which is well worth a visit...fantastic tea cakes!

Only tiny gripe was that the Wi-fi wasn't working but it was nice to be disconnected to the world for a while!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$157
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing