We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in the area”
Review of Vindolanda

Vindolanda
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Roman Vindolanda today and you will find one of the North East’s most famous and not to be missed tourist attractions lying in the beautiful landscape of Hadrian's Wall Country. Formerly a key military post on the northern frontier of Britain, Vindolanda is the home of Britain's 'Top Treasure' - the Vindolanda Writing Tablets - and is one Europe's most important Roman archeological sites, with live excavations taking place every year. The recently fully refurbished on site museum provides a breathtaking exploration of the Trust's ongoing discoveries and accounts of Roman life. There are no other places on earth where it is possible to experience Roman Britain, Hadrian's Wall and history coming to life before your very eyes all in one space! Come and explore it for yourself and find out why Vindolanda is treasured worldwide.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The best in the area”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We recently visited all the Wall sites in the area and this is the best of the lot. Plenty to see and do, and good facilities.

The cafe is a fair walk but worth it for the other things you'll see on the way.

Highly recommended.

If you're a member of English Heritage, let them know, you'll get 10% discount.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,122
    257
    28
    8
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Blown away!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We visited Vindolanda on a seriously cold, wet and miserable day. Because of the weather we didn't spend as long outside looking at the ruins as we would have taken if the sun came out, but even that was excellent, but the museum was something else. It really is difficult to explain how good the Vindolanda is. I think it's the range of finds that's amazing, not just the 'high status' things we're used to seeing in museums, but the everyday items we still use today - almost all of them fantastically preserved. Will be going again (when it's a bit warmer)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgedid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
213 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Australian Insecurity!!”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Well first off I must say in terms of the site, it's truly wonderful. Fabulous museum with great artefacts and the Vicus itself is well explained around the site.

I see the only true negative response to Vindolanda on tripadvisor has been written by a rather typically spiteful Australian. I'm an Australian too sadly and I know how insufferable and venomous my countrymen can be, and it comes to no surprise that this reviewer claims they hate Roman history yet visited all the roman forts on the wall?

If you hate that period, why bother then? It's not like Australia has anything even vaguely close to this!!!

Please ignore this review as he is clearly in a minority and he is a typical example of Australian arrogance and insecurity and most obviously ,jealousy in not having archaeological treats like this!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Such a Fabulous Find”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We almost did not get to Vindolanda and had enjoyed the other museums - but seeing the shoes and the Roman tablets, was a chance to walk in the past. It brought the Roman history of the area alive. I will be excited to see just what more interpretation might occur over the next few years. If you are fascinated by Roman history, do not miss this Museum.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Yorks
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Allow plenty of time”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Felt a bit let down that our ticket didn't cover us for visit later to the Roman Army Museum as we were told it would, otherwise our visit was excellent and the site is very well signboarded so you know exactly where you are and what the area was used for etc. Fascinating insight into Roman Britain - the museum on the site is a must.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank N.Yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vindolanda also viewed

 
Northumberland, England
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Vindolanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing