We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vindolanda

Vindolanda
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Roman Vindolanda today and you will find one of the North East’s most famous and not to be missed tourist attractions lying in the beautiful landscape of Hadrian's Wall Country. Formerly a key military post on the northern frontier of Britain, Vindolanda is the home of Britain's 'Top Treasure' - the Vindolanda Writing Tablets - and is one Europe's most important Roman archeological sites, with live excavations taking place every year. The recently fully refurbished on site museum provides a breathtaking exploration of the Trust's ongoing discoveries and accounts of Roman life. There are no other places on earth where it is possible to experience Roman Britain, Hadrian's Wall and history coming to life before your very eyes all in one space! Come and explore it for yourself and find out why Vindolanda is treasured worldwide.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Enough to keep people of all ages interested for a full day. An amazing place to take children - when we were there we had the opportunity to meet a roman soldier, needless to say our grandchildren were captivated

Amazing scenery - we were very lucky the weather was very good but could imagine in winter it will be very bleak.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,071
    246
    28
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I groaned at the thought of going here as having grown up in York and now living in Gloucestershire, I honestly thought I was all "Romaned" out! How wrong I was. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. There is so much to see, it was great listening to the archaeologists and soaking up their enthusiasm. The visitors centre is great. So much to see. I particularly liked the children's guide book. I wish more places did these. We also visited the sister site of the army museum. The 3D film was well worth seeing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sleepymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Roman Fort plus Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I visited two sites/forts on Hadrian's Wall on the same day - Vindolanda and Homesteads. Both have impressive forts that have been excavated, both with a vicus (Roman Town). Vindolanda is superior in the fact that it has a far more extensive museum with so many impressive artefacts excavated at the site. I found the coins and Samian pottery the most interesting. However it is not located on the wall so you cannot begin an exploration of the wall from here. So I recommend visiting both as I did.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MikeT6128DF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“THE GREAT WALL OF ENGLAND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Brilliant, so wanted to go here for many years and finally did the museum is very good with lots of info, and a very good layout.
The main site is amazing with a live dig going on, for me it was tremendous.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higham, Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
309 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Amazing excavation and displays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Wow. Thus archeological site and museum was great! The museum has an amazing display of Roman artifacts recovered from the area. The highlight of the museum is the writing tablets and actual stories from the Roman soldiers, although the bones, coins, and extensive collection of relics also amaze.
Please note that the site is not located along Hadrians Wall; it is about a mile south of the wall. The section of wall within the ruins is a replica.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas - Genevi... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vindolanda also viewed

 
Northumberland, England
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Vindolanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing