We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rye Hill Farm
Nearby Hotels
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Chollerford)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$146
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Slaley Hall(Slaley)
US$301
US$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Matfen Hall(Matfen)
US$265
US$257
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
77
24
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
24
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcomfortable bedhomemade breadset in beautiful countrysidehappily stay againrose and crownhome grown fruitcomplimentary toiletriesthree nightscooked breakfasthome cookedenjoyed our staywet roomexcellent breakfastunderfloor heatingwonderful stayon arrival
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Good. Very comfortable bed, with ensuite. Walls very thin, but thankfully no noise during night. Good breakfast. Beautiful surroundings. Avoid the "Travellers' Rest" pub for fodd : my stomach was terrible for hours afterwards !

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squinthorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillrye, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2011

Thank you for your review. At the time of converting the barns over 20 years ago we met all the then building regulations but I am aware of the standard plaster board walls and hope we will be able to address the problem in the near future. We have already replaced most of the windows with modern double glazed units and replaced the carpets with much thicker ones which has begun to help the noise tranferance problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed at Rye Hill farm in late May whilst walking the Hadrian's Wall Path with a group of friends. We were accommodated in the residential wing, which featured four bedrooms off a corridor on the first floor, with a dining room and small lounge at ground floor level. All the bedrooms were clean and comfortably furnished with contemporary furniture and fittings; the only criticism being that the barn-conversion had utilised plaster board partitions which did not prove substantial enough to block the gentle (and not so gentle) snoring of two our party members! However, nobody lost too much sleep as a result. The en-suite facilities were well planned and spotless throughout. Elizabeth, our host, was very welcoming, friendly and efficient; even expressing some disappointment over my 'minimalist' breakfast selection of just two poached eggs. I would gladly recommend 'Rye Hill Farm' to anyone staying in the Hexham area, or indeed, walking Hadrian's Wall, although the farm is twelve miles or so off the line of the path and so you will need your own transport.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artorious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed at Rye Hill Farm for 3 nights in April, and I can't think of a more beautiful setting for starting and ending the day. The rooms were spacious and spotless, and breakfasts (farmhouse style, with guests sharing a table) were delicious. We were free to roam the farm, which we did, and to do laundry and sit in the beautiful lounge. Elizabeth was a terrific host, and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dahlia05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We stayed here last weekend (18th and 19th March 2011) as we were going to a wedding at Slaley Hall. We stayed on a self catering basis. The Directions on the website were spot on. Really easy to find. Upon arrival there was a home made chocolate cake waiting for us in the kitchen. There is a TV, comfy sofas and a fab kitchen with tea, coffee, milk, dishwasher including dishwasher tablets. I took toilet rolls which weren't needed as these were all provided. 3 Great bedrooms, all ensuite. Very big and clean. The owner was very helpful, giving me Taxi numbers on my booking. She told me to book at least a week in advance due to location. I did this through Hexham taxis. Perfect. Cost us £10 from the cottage to Slaley. Between 3 of us, was great. Would most definitely recommend this place. Go book it!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FendiBagLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillrye, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

Thank you for your kind remarks, you were a pleasure to have to stay on our farm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Just wish we had gone to local Pub for evening meal - this meal was certainly not value for money !!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alkay15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillrye, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2010

I am sorry that you did not find you evening meal with us satisfactory, we always welcome construtive criticism so as we can improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews