We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural tranquility”
Review of Rye Hill Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rye Hill Farm
Ranked #12 of 62 Hexham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rural tranquility”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed for one night on our way south. The guide in directions we excellent and we were made to feel very welcome by Elizabeth. The B&B barn conversion has been carried out to a high standard and attention to detail. Our room, number one, was spacious and spotlessly clean with views of open countryside and the courtyard.

After a very quiet night - no traffic noise and no pubs turning out! - in the breakfact room we enjoyed home baked bread and a cooked breakfast which, although delicious, would have benefited from a more generous portion size.

We ate an evening meal at the Travellers Rest, one mile down the road. Good freshly cooked food at a reasonable price.

Would we stay here again? Yes we would! It is a lovely B&B with character and Elizabeth is rightly proud of achievements.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerry_lawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    22
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
41
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed at Rye Hill Farm for three nights and would definitely go back. The scenery is simply beautiful, the rooms very comfortable and tastefully furnished, and the animals gave us city people a real farm feeling. Our host Elizabeth was very welcoming and friendly, and she would always give us valuable insider advice on where to stop and what to see on our trips in the area (This even included a succinct history of local plumbing techniques!). If you want to get away from it all, Rye Hill Farm is your place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panad-gyda-llaeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Good. Very comfortable bed, with ensuite. Walls very thin, but thankfully no noise during night. Good breakfast. Beautiful surroundings. Avoid the "Travellers' Rest" pub for fodd : my stomach was terrible for hours afterwards !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squinthorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillrye, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this review, 3 July 2011
Thank you for your review. At the time of converting the barns over 20 years ago we met all the then building regulations but I am aware of the standard plaster board walls and hope we will be able to address the problem in the near future. We have already replaced most of the windows with modern double glazed units and replaced the carpets with much thicker ones which has begun to help the noise tranferance problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yeovil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed at Rye Hill farm in late May whilst walking the Hadrian's Wall Path with a group of friends. We were accommodated in the residential wing, which featured four bedrooms off a corridor on the first floor, with a dining room and small lounge at ground floor level. All the bedrooms were clean and comfortably furnished with contemporary furniture and fittings; the only criticism being that the barn-conversion had utilised plaster board partitions which did not prove substantial enough to block the gentle (and not so gentle) snoring of two our party members! However, nobody lost too much sleep as a result. The en-suite facilities were well planned and spotless throughout. Elizabeth, our host, was very welcoming, friendly and efficient; even expressing some disappointment over my 'minimalist' breakfast selection of just two poached eggs. I would gladly recommend 'Rye Hill Farm' to anyone staying in the Hexham area, or indeed, walking Hadrian's Wall, although the farm is twelve miles or so off the line of the path and so you will need your own transport.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artorious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed at Rye Hill Farm for 3 nights in April, and I can't think of a more beautiful setting for starting and ending the day. The rooms were spacious and spotless, and breakfasts (farmhouse style, with guests sharing a table) were delicious. We were free to roam the farm, which we did, and to do laundry and sit in the beautiful lounge. Elizabeth was a terrific host, and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dahlia05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We stayed here last weekend (18th and 19th March 2011) as we were going to a wedding at Slaley Hall. We stayed on a self catering basis. The Directions on the website were spot on. Really easy to find. Upon arrival there was a home made chocolate cake waiting for us in the kitchen. There is a TV, comfy sofas and a fab kitchen with tea, coffee, milk, dishwasher including dishwasher tablets. I took toilet rolls which weren't needed as these were all provided. 3 Great bedrooms, all ensuite. Very big and clean. The owner was very helpful, giving me Taxi numbers on my booking. She told me to book at least a week in advance due to location. I did this through Hexham taxis. Perfect. Cost us £10 from the cottage to Slaley. Between 3 of us, was great. Would most definitely recommend this place. Go book it!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FendiBagLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillrye, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this review, 24 March 2011
Thank you for your kind remarks, you were a pleasure to have to stay on our farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Just wish we had gone to local Pub for evening meal - this meal was certainly not value for money !!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alkay15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillrye, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this review, 9 October 2010
I am sorry that you did not find you evening meal with us satisfactory, we always welcome construtive criticism so as we can improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hexham
10.7 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
10.0 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
15.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
0.3 mi away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rye Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rye Hill Farm

Property: Rye Hill Farm
Address: Slaley, Hexham NE47 0AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Hexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rye Hill Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Rye Hill Farm you can enjoy the fantastic scenery of this ancient county with Hadrian's Wall to the north, Durham city to the south, Beamish Open Air Museum to the east and the North Pennines Moors to the west. Our pretty en-suite bedrooms have modern TVs & drink making facilities. Breakfast in our dining room that overlooks the garden many of the ingredients are homemade or produced locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rye Hill Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rye Hill Farm Hexham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing