We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”
Review of Rye Hill Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rye Hill Farm
Ranked #10 of 62 Hexham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Crakehall, , United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed for two nights when attending an event nearby. The room was very warm, clean and comfortable with everything we needed. Elizabeth allowed us to have an earlier breakfast so we could leave to get a good start to the day. The farm is beautifully position in glorious countryside with some lovely views - ideal for exploring Hexham and surrounding area. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillrye, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. WE always try to meet our guests requirments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
42
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This place was very good for a rural B&B in a fabulous Northumberland setting. Everything was very laid back and relaxed but equally well organised and straight forward. All the essentials and nice touches were provided in the room and the breakfast was equally laid back but very nice with a hot fry-up to set you on your way for the day. The surroundings of a living farm were a joy with newly born lambs and free range chickens around the quaint buildings and gardens. Just 10 minutes from the wonderful town of Hexham and surrounded by forests and highly scenic walks. Elizabeth was very friendly and informative with the suggestions to take dinner in the nearby Travellers Rest and a walk in Slaley Forest being absolute highlights.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshiresBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillrye, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston, lancs
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed one night B AND B. Very comfy and large bed. Modern room. Lots of little extras, tea, coffee, chocolate, soap, shampoo, cotton buds etc.

Was allowed to wander on the land and talke photos of view and even the pigs.

Elizabeth was friendly and most helpful. I would gladly stay again.

Room Tip: Take your wellies to get out and enjoy the farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeonline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2012

What could be a perfect campsite has been spoilt by the attitude of the owner. We were met by a very wet and muddy site but decided to play it by ear and see if we could pay by the night in case the conditions deteriorated. Upon checking with the owner it was confirmed that was fine for us to do. On our 2nd night the heavens opened and the site was a mud bath so we decided to cut our stay short by one night. On settling our bill we were told that we now couldn't pay by the night but must pay for the night we weren't staying as it was after 12. At no point was this ever mentioned to us. I feel this should have been mentioned at our time of asking so we knew our timescale and repeat business has been lost.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HM29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillrye, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
I am sorry there was some miss understanding with these campers but I was not allerted to their decision to leave early until well into the afternoon when I had no oportunity to offer it to other prospective campers. I was at home all day so there was no reason why they could not have contacted me, if this had happen before the normal departure time of mid day I would not have charged them for the extra night.The usual arrival time for members of the Caravan and Camping Club to a CL site is from mid day, all campers are expected to abide by their rules.
As for the weather and the state of the field, that is out of my hands as this year it has been the wettest for 100 years or more nationally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed at Rye Hill as we were a group of work colleagues going to a fellow colleagues wedding at Slaley Hall - from the outset Elizabeth was helpful and kind in the whole booking and organising process ( we did continually change amount of people ! ) . Elizabeth was extremly welcoming throughout - and even allowed for our party size in one room to change from 3 to 4 at the last minute ( same day ! ) and then catered for breakfast for another colleague who hadn't stayed .....the surrounding area and farm itself is beautiful , with lovely farm ' knick knacks ' all making it homely and pleasant . we all commented on how we would love to camp here .... Elizabeth supplied us with taxi numbers to get to Slaley and somewhere to eat lunch - all above and beyond and going the extra mile ! Thanks for making a rowdy group - welcome ! .........

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loupoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Stayed two nights at Rye Hill Farm. Elizabeth was a friendly and helpful host and cooked beautiful breakfasts. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a nice shared lounge at the bottom of the stairs. Maps and books available here to peruse the district. There was a fantastic pub close by called "The Travellers Rest". We dined here both nights in their restaurant and it was very nice indeed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllamanTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I have stayed at Rye Hill Farm a number of times with friends and always found a warm and friendly welcome from Elizabeth. The barn conversion has been tastefully carried out and the views over open countryside just stunning. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and the evening meals, all home cooked by Elizabeth, tasted delicious. Will definately be back nexy year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hexham
6.0 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
10.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
2,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Reading Rooms Bed & Breakfast
10.6 mi away
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
239 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Anchor
The Anchor
#6 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rye Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rye Hill Farm

Property: Rye Hill Farm
Address: Slaley, Hexham NE47 0AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Hexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rye Hill Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Rye Hill Farm you can enjoy the fantastic scenery of this ancient county with Hadrian's Wall to the north, Durham city to the south, Beamish Open Air Museum to the east and the North Pennines Moors to the west. Our pretty en-suite bedrooms have modern TVs & drink making facilities. Breakfast in our dining room that overlooks the garden many of the ingredients are homemade or produced locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Rye Hill Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rye Hill Farm Hexham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing