We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Four Night Break”
Review of The Boatside Inn

The Boatside Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Boatside Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 123 Restaurants in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Stayed at the end of May and from getting there nothing was too much trouble. The chalet was clean and bright with plenty of room. and the breakfast was very good as was the food in the evening. Will visit again

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2018

Super sunday lunch couldnt believe the size and it wasnt the biggest one they did! Extremely well priced for the quality.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Excellent food. Staff very helpful and friendly. We were not rushed even though it was a busy Saturday night.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jillr612018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

Having had an excellent dinner here before, came back for lunch. - Jacket potato with cheese and beans. Couldnt be much simpler a request?

Took 45 minutes to arrive and came with a side salad with half a slice of orange? and spicy pasta! With a potato?! Wtf!

Apprently it was Mexican night on the Thursday, - so chuck the leftovers on the plates the next day? THINK people before you plate. Potato and pasta! Really!?

Not sure there will be another visit. Shame. First expecience was good.

Orange slice with potato and cheese, When was that a good combo? let alone the pasta with potato and 45 minutes wait for lunch.

Not good. Shame.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank julestrangwige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

This place was highly recommended by friends but for whatever underlying reason we were very disappointed.

We booked dinner for two for my wife's birthday.

The restaurant itself is not shabby or anything, but a bit characterless which is a shame because the building itself has a lot going for it.

The food was a mixed bag. My wife had the Fish and Chips and the portions were generous and really well cooked. I had the Chicken Balti which had a number of issues. The first was that it wasn't a Chicken Balti or anything remotely similar. Balti recipes are fairly straightforward and easily obtainable from the internet and following it isn't too difficult. The second issue was that it had bits of bone in it. This definitely isn't in the recipe and if you are not warned can be quite dangerous. None of the dessert specials were actually available.

The beers were very good and the wine list quite acceptable.

Service was a bit strange. By 9.30pm the staff were clearly packing up to go home and we felt as if we were holding them up. It really isn't a good idea for staff to use the customer toilets either.

As we left we had to get the staff taxis to move so we could exit the car park.

I think this is maybe a summer only lunch venue. Certainly if serving dinner is inconvenient, don't do it rather than do it reluctantly.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NiallFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boatside Inn also viewed

 
Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham
 
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to The Boatside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing