We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, great family time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calvert Trust Kielder
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful, great family time.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have stayed here before and booked a cabin as the area caters well for my disabled sister. The cabin was comfortable and clean. Easy disabled access to all the rooms, bathrooms and balcony. Did give the trust all our feedback.

The rooms are spacious and contain lots of advantages such as shower room, hoist (need to collect from reception) and the kitchen work surface can be lowered for disabled access.

The balcony is a huge advantage which has been on both the chalets we have stayed in. The view was outstanding and there is lots of space to get all 6 adults and a baby.

The chalet we stayed in was in need of a cosmetic update however. Although it didn't affect the quality of our stay, the furnishings e.g. carpets are starting to look a little tired, a lamp was broken and we had some issues with the door locking, missing kitchen chopping board.

The kitchen was well equipped but the knives and potato peeler were not easy to use and needed replacing or sharpening. Also there is a warning about the hot water but it is very, very hot.

The activities we have used in the past were great fun: king swinging and the hydrotherapy pool were a good draw. Also the nature around us was phenomenal. The birds and rabbits are very happy sitting outside your chalet and the rabbits are everywhere.

On our first night we saw two deer, a fox outside the chalet and the birds ate off our balcony. There are lots of lovely walks to take advantage of. We recommend the walk to the sky space and the observatory, Not too difficult with the wheelchair, although the observatory wasn't open but the building is quite something to admire.

The staff are amazing. One nice man filled our car up with windscreen wash and helped us open the bonnet or the car. They were friendly and have lent us a wheelchair in the past when my sister's had a puncture.

We would suggest that if you have a wheelchair user and don't have a strong member of the group or the user can't push their own chair, to avoid chalet 9 or 10 as it is quite a steep hill to get the chair up to this chalet on the way back from walks or activities.

We nearly ran out of petrol. There is a voluntary run self service, chip and pin at Keilder. Go left out of the Calvert Trust and carry on to the village. Expensive but run by and for the community so the more who use it, the cheaper it will get.

There is a phone but no Wi Fi. However this was a welcome break from the outside world and as there is no signal, you don't miss it.

We have lots of lovely memories.

Room Tip: Chalet 9 and 10 are very steep. Watch the hot water. Take a chopping board. Missing from chalet 9 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank freneticfeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    7
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
25
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Second time we have stayed here very peaceful and tranquil. Lovely lodges with all mod cons and very spacious with balconies overlooking some fantastic views. With some lovely walks in a beautiful part of England.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Log cabins were beautiful with loads of space in them and the sights are amazing there are some lovely places to walk with streams and there is a bbq on the decking which was nice only bad thing i would say was there was alot of midges but nothing a little jungle formula cant sort lol :) also there are lots of places to visit near by I cant wait to go again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

for those witha family member with any sort of disability holidays and short breaks can be a little bit or in my experience a big bit of an nightmare. as we were arriving later than the centre was opened the lodge lights were on the heating blazing away and the keys on the table, a fantastic lodge the best chalet /log cabin .lodge we have ever stayed in. spacious and with all the equipment a disabled family member could need. The staff are lovely and caring, the pool which you can book for your family and is fully accessible is smaall but lovley, the nature trail like the whole site is accessible. the scenery is beatiful and you feel at one with nature, Acess to hospital is quite a hike should you need it, no mobile or internet coverage,

Room Tip: chalet one to five next to stream higher numbered lodges up steep bank
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank concernednortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed in a Chalet but had friiends staying in the main centre, both sets of accomodation were really good depends if you want to cater for yourself or not. The chalets are very very spacious and have everything you could need and want. The views and surrounding countryside is fantastic and the on site activities give you many options of what to do with your time. The fact that these chalets have adaptations for the disabled made no difference to our stay and in the main they are unobtrusive. Don't be fooled into thinking this is a place only for the disabled.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 345Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hexham
18.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,092 reviews
11.2 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
145 reviews
10.6 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
4.0 mi away
Falstone Barns
Falstone Barns
#4 of 20 in Hexham
154 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#1 of 1 in Stannersburn
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calvert Trust Kielder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calvert Trust Kielder

Property: Calvert Trust Kielder
Address: Kielder Water & Forest Park, Hexham NE48 1BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Hexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Calvert Trust Kielder 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holidays can be whatever you want them to be and we provide different types at Calvert Trust Kielder. Fun packed family action adventures, glamping or 5 star luxury, or relaxation time away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. If you want spectacular scenery, a choice of self-catering accommodation, adrenalin-packed activities or a chance to relax in tranquil surroundings. Your inclusive action and adventure holiday includes accommodation in our main centre, home cooked breakfast, lunch and evening meal and a wide range of on and off-site activities. Relax in the hydrotherapy pool after your busy day and join your friends, family or carer for a drink in the bar before dinner. Our adult respite care holidays are for those with physical, learning or sensory disabilities, who require personal care and support whilst away from home. Accommodation is in single, double or twin rooms in our main centre. All rooms have en suite facilities with level entry showers or bathrooms and fitted with specialist equipment such as hoists, grab rails and shower seats. Will you dare fly on the King Swing or relish the confidence that comes from mastering our 15 metre High Ropes Course. Our facilities are exceptional, our instructors first class and our reputation second to none. Exhilarating action packed half and full day activity sessions. Please wear sensible clothing and footwear. We supply specialist equipment required to take part in activities. Booking in advance is strongly recommended and please note all outdoor activities are weather dependant. Meals can be provided for an additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Calvert Trust Kielder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calvert Trust Kielder Hexham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing