We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Woodside Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Woodside Lodge
Woodside Lodge
floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hexham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
517
n.e
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at Woodside Lodge, for my husbands 50th birthday, and it was fabulous! Gill organised helium balloons, for our arrival, which was great! The lodge is fitted out to a very high standard, and is immaculate. It has everything you need for a romantic, peaceful break, the only noise being the birds, sheep and cows! The views are fab, no matter what the weather is doing, and the terrace is lovely to relax on. We will be going back, hopefully when it's warmer, to make much more use of the terrace, and the BBQ!!! Thank you Gill & Neil....!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
Thank you for your kind words: we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy P
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Visited Woodside Lodge for a second time. Beautiful location and lovely owners, Gill and Neil. The lodge is super luxurious and so well maintained and clean, with lots of lovely little touches, scones and flowers to name just two things.

Be booking again at some point. Great for a short break for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind words: it was good to see you again and we look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
628K_K628
Ilford
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a luxurious "home from home" in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This extremely comfortable and high quality accommodation is accurately described in the website as to location, quality and comfort but once visited we so appreciated the thoughtfulness of the owners when equipping it. Everything we could think of was supplied down to dishwasher tablets, food bags/plastic containers for storing leftovers or use on picnics, umbrella, plenty of dvds, guide books, toiletries and so on. It really felt like we were staying in a 5* hotel but with the convenience of having the freedom and flexibility to plan our days to our own timetable. Plentiful storage space in the lodge but also a further separate area for storage of bulky items should you need it. We were especially impressed with the design of the kitchen. The location is so peaceful - just the noise of sheep bleating & birds singing - it took a while for us to adjust to the lack of traffic noise or police sirens! Visitors definitely need a car as it is rural but the roads are a delight with very little traffic when we visited in June. Highly recommend this gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort and high quality fittings
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words - our aim is to make our guests feel completely at home so we're delighted that is how you felt. We'd love to welcome you back at any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not built by Hadrian but fit for an emperor all the same”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Views out: peaceful and relaxing
Views in: refined and luxurious
Welcome: warm, friendly and generous
Locale: near enough to towns and attractions to be convenient, far enough away to be peaceful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet, yet convenient to town
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
Thanks for your kind review - we would be delighted to welcome you back at any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegebr...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Five Star penthouse”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Lodge may be within the garden of the owner's house but it is nestled on the edge of open countryside with uninterrupted views from the large patio windows across the countryside. Stepping in is like stepping into the penthouse apartment of a five star hotel. There is an immediate sense of luxury in terms of the quality of the fixtures and fittings. Beautiful oak floors and furniture, cosy leather sofa and granite topped work surfaces in the kitchen and a king sized double bed and large walk-in shower with one of those shower heads the size of a dinner plate. Overall felt like a real treat and it was a very enjoyable and relaxing stay and good base to strike out to Hadrian's Wall and Kielder.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the large floor to ceiling windows
Liked least: no dislikes all a very positve experience.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind words - we would be delighted to welcome you back at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creedence...
Bridgnorth
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Up there with the very best”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Spotlessly clean and superbly well equipped to a very high standard. The location is superb, being set in lovely rolling countryside.
The owners' house is close by but certainly not obtrusive.
We visit Northumberland on a regular basis and always stay in good quality accommodation and Woodside Lodge is most certainly in the top two or three and I wish we had discovered it earlier!
We will most definitely return.
Look out for Billy the dog - he is a real character!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the quality if the accommodation
Liked least: Nithing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind words - we're delighted you enjoyed it and Bill certainly enjoyed meeting you : we look forward to welcoming you here again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N G
North East England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
Reviewed 27 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Could not fault this lodge in anyway. We had a wonderful Xmas. The quality of everything was superb. Gill had thought of everything. I would fully recommend this property.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2015
Thanks so much! It was our pleasure, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing