We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect family celebration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tarset Tor Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tarset Tor Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect family celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We hired the bunkbarn for a 40th birthday celebration and descended, kids, parents, grandparents and all, for a fantastic weekend break. Take the former reviewers at their word when they talk about Rob and Claire - perfect hosts from start to finish. They succeed where many holiday accommodation owners fail, at being warm, welcoming and helpful whilst still being discreet and making you feel like the place is your own.
Great facilities, plenty of space, the kids (4 and 2) LOVED it, and there is so much to do in the area, we could easily have stayed a week. Think... days out walking, messing around on the water, visiting lovely villages, lazing around outside proper local pubs, then returning home to a perfect woodland bar, BBQ and campfire, before retiring to the bunkbarn to gather around the log burner (burning pellets actually but not sure what they're called!) and play pool... and you get the picture.
Thanks Rob and Claire, the website paints a great picture and you did not disappoint. We wish you all the best with Tarset Tor for the future :)

Room Tip: Put smaller kids in the room next to the bathroom away from the pool room. Ours slept through happil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supertrouper5502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great service from start to finish from Rob and Claire, who were very welcoming and really went the extra mile to ensure we had a great weekend. Plenty of room for a group of 12 with a superbly equipped kitchen. Super fast WiFi. Clean, tidy and comfortable. A wonderful weekend away, I really cant fault it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place is fantastic. The bunkhouse is clean, modern, spacious and extremely well equipped with everything you could possibly need provided (Including a pool table, drying room and sauna!) . The outdoor bar area is a great space, and perfect for a BBQ under the stars. Best of all are the owners Rob and Claire, who are very accommodating, friendly and down to earth. They can help you arrange all kinds of activities and will be more than happy to be flexible to your groups needs. Highly Recommended, we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

A group of 10 of us stayed here as we were doing a charity walk around kielder waters and it was fantastic!!

Rob and Claire were fab from the moment we got there and really looked after us :-)

The bunkhouse itself is beautiful with everything you could possibly need (including a sauna where you can chill and watch the birds and stars!)

We all had a great time and i would recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here with a group of colleagues. We were doing a sponsored walk around Kielder water. Couldn't have had a more comfortable stay. Spacious, modern and idiylic all in a bunk barn! Everyone was really impressed and we didn't want to leave on Sunday, could have easily stayed a week. Everything you need is there, so whilst you can head out if you want you can also stay put and have a bunk barn BBQ which was our party of choice. Take food, booze and a decent crowd and you will have all the other ingredients of a fantastic weekend provided by claire and rob. They have thought of everything! Thanks and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raye_summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed here for 9 weeks whilst working in a local first school. I don't believe I have ever felt more welcomed and accommodated than living at Tarset Tor. The bunkhouse is located in a beautiful, magnificent and tranquil setting; allowing you to relax or have a private party. The facilities are excellent, modern and durable, facilties which include an outdoor bar and a sauna.

I ensure you, if you choose to stay at Tarset Tor you will feel at home within seconds.

Thank you Rob and Claire!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This place is truly amazing!! I stayed here with an all male group of friends recently (most bunkhouses will not allow this) and had the best time. Rob and Claire even organised and archery competition for us on one day, which is one of many different activities that they can sort out. I have since recommended this place to several friends who are planning short trips away with large groups as it is ideal. There is a pub less than a mile away which we didn't even visit as we were more than happy to stay at the bunkhouse. Rob and Claire will ensure that you have a fantastic stay and will happily go out of their way to help you. As it says in the title, you will not find any better bunkhouses out there!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hexham
2.8 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
6.9 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falstone Barns
Falstone Barns
#5 of 21 in Hexham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#1 of 1 in Stannersburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
9.9 mi away
Border Forest Holiday Park
Border Forest Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Otterburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarset Tor Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarset Tor Backpackers

Property: Tarset Tor Backpackers
Address: Greystones Lanehead | Lanehead, Tarset, Hexham NE48 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Hexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to a new experience in one of Britain's most breathtakingly unspoilt landscapes. Tarset Tor Bunkbarn and Bothies is located in a secluded spot on the edge of Kielder Forest in the heart of the Northumberland National Park. Offering versatile, eco-friendly self-catering accommodation, our cleverly constructed bunkhouse and bothies (small bunkhouses) are perfect for outdoor enthusiasts and backpackers who crave a few home comforts. Come and explore this beautiful part of the country all year round! Located centrally between Newcastle, Carlisle and the Scottish Border, Tarset Tor is close to the Reivers cycle route, the Pennine way and is just 5 miles from Kielder water and 20 miles from Hadrians Wall. We are 3 miles from Bellingham and 5 miles from kielder water in the North Tyne Valley. Beautifully tranquil woodland setting, Contemporary living accommodation, Barbecue and fire pit, Cycle store and bike wash, Green energy technology, Pool table, Drying room, Pets welcome, Free WiFi, Sauna, Bird hide, Private woodland bar hire. Sleeps 44 in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp and HostelWorld so you can book your Tarset Tor Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarset Tor Backpackers Hexham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing