We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tarset Tor Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Slaley Hall(Slaley)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The George Hotel(Chollerford)
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Matfen Hall(Matfen)
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Walwick Hall(Humshaugh)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
89
12
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
12
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitfantastic weekendliving areabunk barncooking facilitiesmilky wayshooting starslong weekendbrilliant hostssuperb accommodationexcellent place to stayplay poolbunk bedsbirthday celebrationticked all the boxeskielder waternorthumberland national park
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed as a large group for a multiple celebration weekend. Some of the group stayed at the local pub as there were too many of us and we congregated at the barn. We used rooms as "family" rooms which worked well. Top memorable sat eve of BBQ sitting in the sun on the veranda looking at view across valley while teenagers kicked a football and chilled. Facilities great. Cooker struggled a bit with the numbers on fri eve but I understand that under review. Everything modern clean and well kept. If you remember this is a bunk barn not a cottage it's 5 star. Great cycle spot on and off road. Talk to the ladies in Tower Knowe if you need help with the logistics of walk round lake and boat pick up and drop off- v helpful. Clare and Rob really knowledgeable and keen to ensure group had a good time. They offered help when we needed it but not pushy. My only complaint the midges ....but that's Kielder not the barn (it was worse nearer the lake) - take the repellant. Book out the whole place if you can. Not sure about the noise referred to in the previous review - we kept commenting on the noisy bird song....!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burleytrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My sister and I stayed here for a night mid-week and really enjoyed our stay at Tarset Tor. The location was great, the countryside was beautiful, and we caught an amazing sunset. The bunkhouse was clean, comfortable and peaceful, and we lucked out and had it all to ourselves. I would definitely go back and stay for a longer visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Not exactly the nice peaceful break we had in mind, groups of people up late drink laugher music really loud-- did not sleep a wink!!
Lovely locations, just not what I had in mind for my relaxing weekend break! Will certainly not be returning!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JessieH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Tarset Tor Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We believe this review to be fraudulent and malicious.Trip Advisor are currently investigating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We recently stayed for a long weekend at Tarset Tor to celebrate our son-in-laws birthday. Our ages ranged from 2-65 and it has to be said that the accomodation was ideal for all. The barn was extremely well equipped and clean, and offered plenty of space for the children and adults to relax and feel at home. It is ideally situated for walks, cycle rides etc and there is a great pub in the village!
Rob and Clare were very welcoming, and were on hand to offer advice etc without being intrusive.
We would certainly recommend tarset tor to anyone who fancies a country break or wants to get away with a large group of friends or family. Hopefully we will return some time soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannieannie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We hired the bunkbarn for a 40th birthday celebration and descended, kids, parents, grandparents and all, for a fantastic weekend break. Take the former reviewers at their word when they talk about Rob and Claire - perfect hosts from start to finish. They succeed where many holiday accommodation owners fail, at being warm, welcoming and helpful whilst still being discreet and making you feel like the place is your own.
Great facilities, plenty of space, the kids (4 and 2) LOVED it, and there is so much to do in the area, we could easily have stayed a week. Think... days out walking, messing around on the water, visiting lovely villages, lazing around outside proper local pubs, then returning home to a perfect woodland bar, BBQ and campfire, before retiring to the bunkbarn to gather around the log burner (burning pellets actually but not sure what they're called!) and play pool... and you get the picture.
Thanks Rob and Claire, the website paints a great picture and you did not disappoint. We wish you all the best with Tarset Tor for the future :)

Room Tip: Put smaller kids in the room next to the bathroom away from the pool room. Ours slept through happily there every night, despite some very late nights for others in the party!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supertrouper5502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews