We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend experience”
Review of Loughbrow House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hexham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loughbrow House
Ranked #58 of 60 Hexham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We booked at Loughbrow House as it was near to Hexham racecourse. We found a delightful house full of character, quirkiness and unlike anywhere we have stayed before. Lovely period rooms full of interesting and beautiful ornaments, pictures and curios. The bedrooms do not have modern facilties and Holiday Inn it isn't but they are very warm cosy and comfortable.

The staff (Jamie) was very helpful welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent too. We didn't have time to explore the garden which is featured in this month's Northumberland Life but would love to do so.

To sum up this is a magical house, we had a lovely time and hope to return, (with better luck at the races!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

Staying at Loughbrow House is a unique country house experience. This rambling country house is a charming mix of Georgian and Victorian, with acres of beautifully manicured walled gardens and provides one of the most memorable bed and breakfast experiences we have had.

The house drive starts on a backstreet of Hexham, but it's another couple of minutes in the car before you reach the house itself. The entrance hall is English country house charm in a nutshell - dogs, wellies and gardening gloves on the windowsill.

We were in the blue twin room at the front of the hotel, to which we were shown by the charming owner. A big, elegant room with lovely furnishings and views over the valley below. It's fair to say that the decor was from another era, but for us that just added to its charm.

The bathroom was just that - a bathroom. If you want a shower, this is not the place for you (at least not the room we were in), so we indulged and had a good soak instead. The room was well supplied with lovely books, many reflecting the owner's passion for gardening, plus the occasional tome on the life of the late Duke and Dowager Duchess of Devonshire - what better for country house reading?

Breakfast is served in the dining room - at a proper country house dining room table. We had poached eggs on toast (made with home-made bread), done to perfection. The coffee was also excellent, done to a proper strength in a French press (amazing how many other places will serve Nescafé). We also sampled the house's jams, made from fruit grown in the garden - and bought a couple of pots to take with us. The owner was out when we came down for breakfast, but the breakfast staff were absolutely delightful. We were told that had we been a party of four or more the owner - a cordon bleu chef, we were told - would have made us dinner at a reasonable price. I imagine this would be well worth it.

While you're there, don't miss the chance to walk round the huge, beautifully maintained gardens - one of the best private gardens we have seen for a long time.

In short, staying Loughbrow House is a treat. It's a genuinely old-fashioned house, with all that implies. But for us the most important thing for us was the old-fashioned hospitality.

Room Tip: We were in the blue room at the front - great views over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Loughbrow House is an adventure for those who love old houses and their atmosphere. This is not a luxurious hotel that showers you with every modern comfort or that pretends to be old, but Loughbrow is a very unique B&B which has kept the style and taste of past times. Because it is different, staying there is exciting, extraordinary, a voyage into another world and therefore very relaxing.

I enjoyed the B&B very much, especially the friendliness of the staff, the owner's original character and her kind advice, the breathtakingly beautiful garden which is very large, the stylish dining room, as well as the tasty and lovingly prepared breakfast.

The most outstanding and outlandish thing is the very large drawing room (greater than my own flat) which is beautifully kept in an old (Georgian/ Victorian/ early 20th century) style. The grand piano, the stucco on the ceiling, the sofa, the armchairs, the canapé, the paintings, the cupboards, and the chimney provide an atmosphere which transfers you into another time. Have a glass of port or some other wine while sitting in one of the armchairs and marvelling at this wonderful room, and you will feel like the King of England.

This is a perfect experience for those who love absolute quietude, style, creepily creaking floor boards, the odour of old houses, beautiful gardens and who want to stay in that nice part of Northern England.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bastian55118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

loughbrow is a loveley country house but its splendour is somewhat faded. my room had worn carpets and was not as clean as i would expect from a 4 crown b and b. the bathroom had cobwebs on curtains and no shower also the room was cold with only a single bar fire for heat. very dissapointed.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nashwan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

I stayed here for two nights with my husband and mother-in-law in 2007 or 2008. It was a wonderful find. Lovely huge grounds to wander about in full of rhododendrons, trees, flowers, views. The garden at the back of the house, full of vegetables and fruit, is also lovely to walk round - the ballroom was pulled down to make it larger - a very sensible idea. The house was vast ,elegantly furnished but with a quirky and practical feel. We were met by a dog (a labrador I think from memory) which reminded us of our own dog. Breakfast was excellent. There are jams for sale. The bedrooms were large with views of - now - dilapidated tennis courts. The bedrooms were comfortably and colourfully furnished with everything we needed.
If you want a sense of space and like the countryside, this is the place for you. If you want somewhere "fashionable" and "modern", this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yyadiloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2008

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Loughbrow, very peacefull and very helpfull staff and landlady. We found the accommodation very comfortable, clean and relaxing. Perfect location if visiting Hadrians Wall and for me the Metro Centre in Gateshead. Looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2008

Loughbrow House is a unique country house owned by a delightful English Lady.

The house is like the tardis and just keeps providing amazing and beautiful discoveries. The breakfast is classically served in the dining room and includes home made bread and preserves and delicious fresh coffee. The preserves and chutneys can be bought at a very reasonable rate.

The house has fantastic views of Hexham, the Abbey and along the valley.

A great place to step back in time, pretend that you are the lady of the manor, have an extremely peaceful nights sleep and filling home cooked breakfast.

We will return.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hexham hotels
6.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,206 reviews
4.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
737 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
3,204 reviews
5.8 mi away
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
253 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hadrian Hotel
Hadrian Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wall
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loughbrow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loughbrow House

Address: Loughbrow House Dipton Mill Road, Hexham NE46 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Hexham
Hotel Class:4 star — Loughbrow House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Loughbrow House Hexham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing