We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable. Excellent Breakfast”

Hallbank Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hallbank Guest House
Ranked #19 of 60 Hexham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very convenient location in a very quiet street in the center of Hexham. We stayed two nights and were made to feel very much "at home". Freedom to come and go. Breakfast when we wanted it. An excellent breakfast: fresh fruits, cold cuts, cereals and choice of usual cooked breakfast items.
Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

We booked in for a wedding, just a one night stay. Arrived mid-day to a friendly welcome from Margaret and changed into our glad rags. Not back till 2am, but slept well and down to a wonderful Sunday morning breakfast abt 10am. Margaret and husband both have a nice sense of humour. Wish we could have stayed longer. Excellent location, comfort and value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed for one night whilst attending a wedding. We arranged an early access so we could get ready for the wedding, and to have parking immediately outside was just right. This is such a convenient B & B in the centre of the small town. It was also very peaceful (apart from the creeking floorboards, but that is to be expected in such an old house). Attention to detail was very good, and enjoyed the choice of fresh fruit as a starter at breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithandTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This was our second time staying here and it was like visiting old friends. We had a wonderful welcome, indeed we were picked up from the station and taken back the next day because a sporting event meant that the Explorer bus was not stopping at the usual handy stop, just a 5 minute walk away, down the hill. Our beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. I have already recommended it to people.
We would definitely love to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed on 12th & 13th July , room was very clean and nicely decorated ( although not to my taste) the owners were not there when we arrived but we phoned the number on the door and Margaret told us she was looking after her grandchild but gave us a code to open the door, told us which room we were in and told us to make ourselves at home, the whole building was immaculately clean and tidy. The location was excellent , two minutes from the centre of town but very quiet at night. The breakfast the next day was brilliant , fruit , cereal , cold meats, cheese or cooked breakfast (only prepared once you had told Margaret what you would like) lovely home made jam and local bread. Nothing was too much trouble and Margaret and her husband were happy and helpful, I would strongly recommend this B & B if visiting Hexham.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieD740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed for one night ( 3rd August 2013) for one night in the "Ryan" room. . Place was perfect, rooms were stunning, breakfast was amazing and everyone was so helpful and amazing. Fab experience. Would totally recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sararawle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed on a very quiet Sunday 30th June, in fact I was the only guest. The owners were very helpful in assisting me in storing my bike, I was riding through to Seahouses from Derbyshire. The location couldn't be better, centre of town but very quiet as the outside road is shut off at night. The rooms were immaculate. In the morning I enjoyed a lovely breakfast with the owner, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LEJOG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hexham hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
0.1 mi away
Coach & Horses
Coach & Horses
#57 of 60 in Hexham
22 reviews
6.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
737 reviews
6.2 mi away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
3,194 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Humshaugh
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallbank Guest House

Address: Hallgate, Hexham NE46 1XA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Hexham
Price Range: £112 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallbank Guest House Hexham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing