We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Location - everything so Convienent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ranters Chapel

Front door on Hallstile Bank
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front door on Hallstile Bank
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Front door on Hallstile Bank
Peaceful rear garden
Double bedroom with en-suite shower room
Top floor double
Top floor twin room
Lower ground floor wet room
En-suite shower room
Family bathroom, top floor
Hexham Abbey
Hadrian's Wall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hexham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ruth46258
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Location - everything so Convienent”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This venue is in the middle of Hexham
which is in the middle of a beautiful part of the country, yet is easy access to Newcastle if you miss a city experience.

Walking distance to market, TIC, supermarket, stations (Bus and Rail) shops, restaurant, pub, parkland,
Parking Easy
So much to see and do, a really excellent holiday base.

My only warning to fellow travellers is that Hexham Wi-Fi is intermittent (and the race course at the top of a windy hill).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its the centre of town yet is quiet enough to hear the birds sing.
Liked least: The sitting Room furniture - probalby perfect for the saddle sore though!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for all the positive comments - we think the location is hard to beat and we try very hard to make the standard of accommodation as high as possible. In response to the comments on the wi-fi and sitting room furniture, we have only recently received feedback on either of these issues. We are ordering new sitting room furniture at the moment and hope that it will be in place within a couple of months. We are also looking at a different broadband connection, as we know that this is very important to many visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith L
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Modern well-equpped house in fantastic location”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Lovely welcome of bottle of Prosecco, home-made cake, tea and milk which was great after a 4 hour journey. The house is in a fantastic location right in the centre of town but quiet with free parking right outside the back gate. There is a Waitrose just across the car park at the back and restaurants and a sweet little cinema just up the road. Hexham is well-placed to visit all the areas of Northumberland and Hadrian's Wall and everywhere was within half an hour's drive including the coast. The house was well-equipped with plenty of cutlery and plates so no need to use the dishwasher every day. The beds were comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. The sitting room is on the ground floor by the garden and the kitchen on the first next to the bedroom which is not ideal as it made eating outside a bit of a pain - especially as the staircase is a spiral and carrying plates of food downstairs was tricky!! Only other niggles were that the internet piggybacks from the BT connection rather than being connected straight to the router so it was very slow which was just a nuisance for us as my husband was working part of the week but for most people it would probably be a blessing! There are no bedside tables either which I found a nuisance as I like a drink at night and during the night and had to get out of bed to get one and the sofas are really really uncomfortable - we ended up sitting on cushions on the floor but these are all really small niggles and the house was really good and we will definitely go back again - in fact we are already planning our next trip later this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and having more than one bathroom
Liked least: No bedside tables and uncomfortable sofas
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
We are very glad that you liked Ranters' Chapel and are planning to return. We're extremely sorry that you had issues with the broadband and will arrange for a direct connection to be provided in the hope that this will iron out any problems with speed. We are also in the process of ordering new sofas for the sitting room and hope that these will be in place in the next couple of months. We are also going to install a shelf over the bed in question so that guests have somewhere to put drinks, glasses, books etc. Again, we hope to have this in place with the next month or so. Ranters' Chapel is still a relatively new venture and we welcome any feedback and do our best to act upon it in order to make our guests' stay as comfortable and convenient as possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola J
Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal Northumberland Holiday in Hexham”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Ranter's Chapel is situated centrally in Hexham, a delightful, bustling market town. The accommodation was spacious, warm and nicely decorated. We loved having a bathroom on each floor, the kitchen is lovely and well equipped. The bedrooms are very comfortable with plenty of storage space. We enjoyed the sitting room with patio doors overlooking the garden, we will have to return in summer to enjoy the garden too!
The thoughtful touches really make this visit feel special, flowers, cake and wine on arrival and it seems as if someone has thought of everything you might need.
We had no problems parking in the car park and enjoyed the accessability of the town but also the good walking routes are from the doorstep and there is plenty to do in the surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of property and location
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“stylish and central”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

lovely town house - very stylish decor - and many nice touches. so central to Hexham - brilliant would recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRRBr...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable, convenient - Exactly as pictured above.”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A superbly comfortable place to stay. Spotless and superbly equipped. I was going to add my own photos but they are exactly as you see in the official ones above (which isn't always the case!).

The centre of town is a short walk up the hill (from front door) with all of its delightful shops, restaurants and cafes. A large Waitrose & leisure centre is a short walk across a car park at the rear of the property (although you can barely see this modern development as the trees in the beautiful garden keep the country feeling).

The warm welcome was most appreciated - couldn't fault the place, we will be back!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
232Barbar...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A superb house in a prime location.”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The property, located in a quiet street in the centre of the town, is within minutes walk of historic buildings, shops of all kinds (including supermarkets) and good restaurants. There is ample parking at the back, in the adjacent free car park.

Th house is spacious and extremely well appointed, with comfortable beds, power showers in each of its three bathrooms, and a very well equipped kitchen. TV, DVD and Wi-Fi all worked instantly, with no problems. Everything was ready for us, clean and fresh, and there was a welcome pack of provisions for breakfast - and for a holiday glass of wine (or two)!

The owners, whom we met, are friendly and caring - justifiably proud of their house. They live in another part of the town and are easily available to contact.. Their house book gives excellent advice on local restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The central location, in a quiet street.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapsCH
Morges, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best accommodation we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

It pains me to write this review as I would love to keep this rental a secret so it's always available for our regular visits to Hexham, but it really deserves to be praised.
It's a beautiful, well appointed (and spotlessly clean) home from home, in a fantastic location. Everything, from the quality of the bedding to the water pressure in the showers was perfect. We spent over 2 weeks here and really didn't want to leave.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing