We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a really great time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hexham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kielder Caravan & Camping Site
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Had a really great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Had a really great time at this campsite, rented a static caravan and found it fully stocked with more equipment than is usually standard. Very quiet site, basic shower and toilet block facilities with laundry room. All were kept clean, saw the owner in and out several times a day with cleaning mop etc even though there were only a few people on site. Very friendly people in the office/shop. I looked for and didnt find the miseries described in previous posts. Beautiful scenery with the woods and trail paths starting right beside the campsite. Very helpful staff if you are directionally challenged and get lost easily. The village shop is stocked with everything you may have forgotten to pack. Lots of rain during our 2 night stay, plenty of flooding and ducks. But its a campsite lol, if you dont like mud and water dont camp.

The pub at the end of the campsite path is a true gem. Called the Anglers Arms it called like a beacon after a hard day hiking and getting lost with 3 large dogs. If you are expecting cheap reheated microwave food masquerading as overpriced home cooked food you will not find it here. The food is amazing and the portions huge, make sure you turn up hungry. Meals are priced approximately £7-10 for a main and are well worth it. Decent selection of drinks and barstaff are attentive, courteous and welcoming. If you haven't managed to finish everything on your giant plate by the end of the meal the exceptionally polite pub dog will wander over when called and help you clear it. Do remember to take a torch with you to the pub if you are staying at the campsite as there are no lights on the way back and falling in the river after indulging is a definite possibilty

am looking forward to coming back next year

Room Tip: take a torch for the trip back to the campsite from the pub in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    46
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
46
57
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pegswood, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We have visited this site for at least 11 year at least twice a year. We have an 8 year old who thinks it is the best site ever! The site is very basic but it has basically all you need. We have stayed and woken in a foot and a half of water, but just picked our tent up, moved it over and carried on our holiday.
All the negative reports about this site I would say are by people who have not abided by the campsite rules and have had to be removed off the site for their anti-social behaviour.
Jan and Walter have worked hard on this site. Kielder and it's villagers are very pleasant and we continue to look forward to many a more happy years visiting the site.

Take some time and give this site a go, yes you will have rain and yes you will have midgies. No you won't have signal for your mobile phone but a couple of places have WiFi. Give it a go make the judgement for yourself.

WE LOVE KIELDER VILLAGE CAMPSITE,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

have visited kielder on numerous occasions staying at Leaplish and a local cottage. have recently bought a caravan so we decided to try this site. we booked in advance and turned up. we found a spot to pitch but as shop shut there was no one to ask if it was ok. fellow camper said they were told just to pitch so we did. we paid our bill when the shop was open. we were lucky being in a caravan as some tents had to move pitch due to the weather. the area itself was beautiful, trees and stream running through it. resident family of ducks and bird life gallore. facillities not the most modern but hot water and they worked. next to tent pitches there were picnic tables and little bbq stands. dog friendly all kept on leads. plenty of dogs but was quiet and clean. pub 3 minute walk which is dog friendly. fantastic walks. the most relaxing holiday ever. if people are after a site with all mod cons and shows etc this is not for you. met lots of families with kids who were enjoying family time together. midgies galore even with avon spray but not as many bites if i hadnt used it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank er6f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

After reading some of the earlier reviews i was nearly put off staying here, but as the location seemed great for what i wanted , plenty walks for dog, i decided to try it. The woman who booked me in was very friendly and polite . The site itself was well laid out, toilets and showers spotless. Play area for children. Very quiet and friendly atmosphere on this site. Local pub right next to site with sensibly priced food, again with very friendly atmosphere. Village shop a small walk from site . Never did meet any Mr Angry. I would definetly stay here again and would reccomend this site to others.
The only downside though was the midges, early morning and late at night the onslaught was absolutey relentless !. I,m sure they,d been taking crack cocaine or something. No bother through the day though. So to stay here take plenty midge repellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanleyzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

I read some of the earleir reviews and was not inclined to stay, but as it was convenient for Marshaling on the Pirelli Rally at the end of June 2012 I booked a couple of nights.
I don't know if there has been a change of staff, since the earlier reviews, but I had a friendly reception despite being slightly outside the Official Hours. The little shop was useful and the lady very pleasant and helpful. She knew about the Rally being in the area, and suggested I join a couple of other caravans who were also involved with the Rally. My stay there was highly satisfactory. There was no aggro despite coming and going at odd hours to meet the Rally Schedule. The campsite was very quiet, and there were only a few other groups on site. I am happy to recommend the site and the Keilder area is superb.

Room Tip: campsite, no room but some "pods" are being built. Look just right, better than a tent, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed in a caymping pod and it was fab. Very clean and warm althought no heater or lighting is provided. The camp site is run by the local comunitey. The site shop is open every morning till 11 and again in the afternoon 4--7. We found those running the site to be friendly and helpful. We were riminded that if we parked on the grass and got stuck it was a 40 charge for the tractor to pull us off but we found no problems.

Lot to do in the local area and you can use the pool at Leapish water for a small charge.

Fantastic showers, very hot and powerfull but could do with some updating. Wash up area fine and clean. Laundry available.
There is a large play area for children.
Dogs are welcome and free of chage but need to be well behaved, which is standard.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pands178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Just returned after spending 4 days at this site. It was absolutely fantastic! Clean and peaceful with lovely hot showers. Very relaxed atmosphere, we arrived at 11.30am and just pitched our tent and paid when shop opened in afternoon. There is a river running through site which our dog loved and pub was 5 minutes away. There is a small shop on site but Kielder Village shop is about 10 mins walk away for other items. There is a no noise policy after 10.30pm which suited us as we were up early in the mornings to go cycling We have stayed in Kielder a number of times, usually in lodges and this was our first time camping but we will certainly be back. Unlike previous reviews, we found staff very helpful and friendly.
Not too many midges at the moment but would recommend Avon soft and fresh spray to keep them at bay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jsimena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hexham
14.2 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
9.8 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
15.1 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#1 of 1 in Stannersburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
10.6 mi away
Border Forest Holiday Park
Border Forest Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Otterburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
7.2 mi away
Falstone Barns
Falstone Barns
#4 of 20 in Hexham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kielder Caravan & Camping Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kielder Caravan & Camping Site

Property: Kielder Caravan & Camping Site
Address: Kielder, Hexham NE48 1EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Hexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kielder Caravan & Camping Site 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a community run 3 star rustic campsite. Open views and a fantastic location to chill, explore or travel through. Showers, toilets, 42 electric hook ups, 20 hardstandings and room for 70 pitched tents. We are at the hub of the Kielder cycle trails, walking trails and at the northern tip of Kielder Reservoir. Local pub, shop and tearooms all a short walk from the site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kielder Caravan & Camping Site Hotel Hexham
Kielder Caravan And Camping Site
Kielder Caravan & Camping Site Hexham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing