We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quietest site we have ever stayed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hexham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kielder Caravan & Camping Site
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed one night in our camper van on way back to Scotland from Northumberland coast. Only one other van there and one camper- so so quiet. Young ranger very friendly and helpful. Facilities clean-ish. Great for dogs as walks on the doorstep. Road back to Hawick a truly great drive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrP_DrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Fab family campsite right in the heart of Kielder surrounded by the river and Forrest, lots to do and see around the area. The Anglers Arms is a 5 minute walk along the riverside and provides great value for money meals and the staff are excellent. Observatory is a must. You will not believe how many stars you can see with the naked eye from the campsite.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Melhutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

A remote site in a wonderful location. Perfect for walking, cycling and fishing, but little else. The birds of prey centre was good for an hour but no more and the display disappointing. I wanted to see true raptors released and soaring high to then plummet to their keepers glove, but alas only owls and a small vulture hopping around on the floor was the show.
The fishing from a boat was good value, especially with regards to the many bays and inlets to be explored, and the fish are there to catch. As a purist, struggled on the fly but a worm will clearly catch at the hotspots. The ablution block was 5 star- clean, hot powerful showers and the piped music was a nice touch. Like the outdoors and water then this is a brilliant site, but prepare for the midges.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ringo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We have stayed here quite a number of times in past few months, we love the place, we are always welcome with our dogs, families etc., it was nice to see a new campsite manager had taken over from last year and has given the place a new lease of life, with more modern views and ideas for the place, nothing is a bother to Carl, the showers although not the most modern are always clean and hot just right after a long day walking and refreshing after midges have had their meal from you, everything is close by, the scenes are breathtaking and have even managed to see some of the "unseen Kielder" which photos cannot do justice, there is walkways all the way from the campsite that takes you along to the north or south shore main routes via the viaduct which itself is gorgeous, the campsite has barbecues and picnic tables scattered throughout the campsite and is a perfect base to camp, a pub which serves meal and very friendly staff just along the campsite path which is also dog friendly, as with the castle and dukes pantry which makes our holiday just perfect, anyone who has been on the past who had trouble with the past wardens should try this campsite again, it has totally different feel to it with new warden, even the toilet block attendant is very friendly and always stops for a chat, we love this place

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I don't understand the bad reviews here and I can't help but think they may not be be genuine.

We recently stayed at Kielder Campsite for a short break with friends. We were welcomed instantly and had a laugh and joke with the very pleasant hosts. They went out of their way to lend us all the things we were silly enough to leave at home eg, frying pan.

We even had a good night with them in the neighbouring pub later that evening.

It is a campsite, so has everything you would expect. Everything was clean (toilets, showers etc). There was a small adventure playground for the children (and big kids). The pitches were large, the area was picturesque and peaceful.

My only reason for not giving the full 5 stars were the midges... And they don't have anything to do with the campsite itself and, to be honest, are expected being in a forest on the Scottish Borders. It's just my lack of camping knowledge that let me down there.

Overall, great place. Would definitely go again and would recommend to friends.

:)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We decided to stay at the Kielder campsite at very short notice on a bank holiday weekend that turned out to be warm for a change!

We rang in the morning and reserved a pitch for our tent costing around £15 I think.

The place was very easy to find - it's well signposted.

The site is very handy for all the local attractions. You can walk to the nearby pub, castle, maze and bike hire shop in Kielder village.

The facilities were clean.

No complaints whatsoever - it did exactly what we expected a campsite to do.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnniePops87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed here twice in the last 2 weeks and we have found it to be : family friendly; set out in an idyllic spot, a clearing around the forest with a river running along side it; an excellent base in which to explore the surrounding area. Carl, campsite warden helped us enjoy our stay there, Iis knowledgeable about the surrounding area, keen to give advice on places to visit, nothing is a bother to him and he even let us use his frying pan! The shower block and toilets are always clean. There's a lovely pub just along a little path about 3 - 5 mins wak, and they serve food. You can go there whe the midges come out!!
This campsite is a gem, hidden away from the hustle and bussle of city life - a great place to re-charge your batteries, and relax. You have to be aware of the midges and go prepared with nets and repellant, they aren't too problematic just came out at about 6 or 7 o'clock. It's a great place to take children and we will be taking our grandchildren in due course, lovely swing park and plenty of places to visit all within a relatively short distance. The campsite has picnic tables and barbecues for your use, however I think it would benefit from having a few more, and I have informed Carl of this and he informed me he is in the process of doing so. We're planning many more visits over the coming months, so pleased we stumbled across this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 39ridgeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hexham
7.2 mi away
PoSHHuts
PoSHHuts
#1 of 1 in Falstone
30 reviews
23.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,206 reviews
23.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
32.6 mi away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
3,204 reviews
22.7 mi away
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kielder Caravan & Camping Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kielder Caravan & Camping Site

Address: Kielder, Hexham NE48 1EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Hexham
Price Range: £4 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a community run 3 star rustic campsite. Open views and a fantastic location to chill, explore or travel through. Showers, toilets, 42 electric hook ups, 20 hardstandings and room for 70 pitched tents. We are at the hub of the Kielder cycle trails, walking trails and at the northern tip of Kielder Reservoir. Local pub, shop and tearooms all a short walk from the site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kielder Caravan & Camping Site Hotel Hexham
Kielder Caravan And Camping Site
Kielder Caravan & Camping Site Hexham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing