We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh dear”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Diwan E Am Tandoori Restaurant - CLOSED

Diwan E Am Tandoori Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$51 - US$51
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Pleasant staff but below par food
good enough restaurant (decorwise) but not worth revisiting when Hexham has so many alternatives

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    29
    9
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excelent food - varied menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Excellent food and service with a very good choice of dishes. Some less 'run of the mill' curries are on offer

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“vastly improved since previous visits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I'd been to this restaurant a couple of times a few years ago and, although I couldn't fault the delicious food, the service a was a little 'full on'. I.e a team of waiters waiting on one table and remaining closeby in case someone needed something. It felt impossible to have a private conversation! I had also found this when ordering takeaways and waiting for them in the foyer.

This has been completely recified and the service on Tuesday night was brilliant; friendly without being at all overbearing. The food was amazing and, despite taking a gamble and ordering dishes we haven't tried before, my partner and I throughly enjoyed it. The house wine was perfect, too. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melrobson02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice friendly and warm with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

The staff were excellent and the young owner has taken over from his father so he obviously really cares about the business and it shows in great food and good personal service with a smile.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ChavFinches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best Indian restaurant in Hexham!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Back for the Christmas hols and I thought I'd treat my folks to an Indian meal. However, the last Indian meal we had in Hexham was very average so after looking at the reviews on Trip Advisor, I took them to the Diwan E Am. And I'm so glad we did! Everything about that evening, from the reception you get from the staff when you walk in (mum & dad hadn't been here for years and probably more for me as I live in London now) to the meal itself, was great.

We went straight to our table, ordered drinks and poppodoms. When it came to deciding what curries to choose, you get the impression that there's too much to choose from! The waiter did say that gives you more of a reason to come back and try something else - I suppose he's right because mum & dad have said they'll probably make Diwan E Am their regular Indian restaurant now!

From the starters (onion bhajis and tandoori mixed kebab) to the main courses (chicken korma, lamb dupiaza and koli milagu mossala), everything was delicious. I'd chosen the koli milagu mossala that night as I've never come across this dish in all the time I've eaten at a curry house and I've eaten plenty of curries in my time! One little detail I did notice (and it's sometime the little ones that do matter) is that they serve the food on hot plates to keep the food warm whilst you're eating, such a difference to out last experience at Saathi.

Overall, I was very impressed. It was a great meal with excellent service and all for about £20-25 per person. I'll definitely be back over the couple of weeks.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diwan E Am Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

 
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing