We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Falstone Barns
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Petit Chateau(Otterburn)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Grapes Hotel(Newcastleton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Walwick Hall(Humshaugh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Chollerford)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
116
38
5
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
38
5
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspheasant innversace glamourfrench bourgeoiskielder waterthe barnfrench apartmentblack cock innkielder observatorymain bedroomsky tvlocal pubtwo nightsself cateringwood burnerpower showermobile phone receptionnearest shop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at Falstone Barns a few weekends back for two nights (Fri and Sat) and can honestly say it's been my favourite trip away in the UK to date. From the moment we got there to checking out I kept thinking how lucky we were to be there. We stayed in the French apartment but there was only two of us. The apartment is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Nickey (who is the most loveliest and friendly host) showed us the other apartments and they are all amazing. We didnt go any of the walk around but Nickey informed us of them if we wanted but we wanted to spend as much time as possible! We cannot wait to return and sample the other apartments! Stock up the car with food and drink and ENJOY! xxx

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed in the "classic opulent" appartment, no one there to check in with but key in the door. On first glance everything looked ok then once youve spent time in the place you start to see little things like no welcome note/basket,no impliments for the fire,bulbs out,already burnt down candles,advertised as having a "sunken" bath but although a lovely bathroom it is NOT a sunken bath but it does have a solid marble surround.As someone mentioned before there is a fuel like smell that lingers around the first bedroom door presumably coming from boiler but it didnt both us too much.The extractor fan is incredlibly noisy and you can hear everything from downstairs in the morning so i guess they could hear us.The sky tv doesn't give hardly any channels .We have mixed emotions re-Falstone Barns,there ARE high quality fixtures and fittings but upholstery and soft furnishings are starting to look a little tired. We paid £210 for two nights that isn't necassarily a 5 star price but then we wouldn't class the place as 5 star because all the little things we mentioned that was wrong you wouldn't expect to be wrong in 5 star accomodation.Nickey the owner seemed perfectly pleasent and informative- she has since e-mailed saying that she would attend to alot of the things we mentioned .On the plus side the place was spotlessly clean and the courtyard very tidy and surely lovely in the summer months.Its good that the Host CAN take constructive critcism and act upon it,im sure with a few tweaks this accomodation will live up to its 5 star claim.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hilycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed 29th October with my boyfriend in the 'French bourgeois' apartment. Absolutely perfect place to relax..huge bath, wood-burning fire and two lovely bedrooms. Only negative is being able to hear people walking around in the apartment above, but it wasnt much of an issue. Would defenitely recommend staying at least two nights or more, we both regret having only booked up for one night!
Very warm welcome from Nicky, very informative of places to visit, where to have breakfast etc.
I would suggest booking direct with 'falstone barns' website rather than laterooms. I had originally booked a different apartment via laterooms but later received a phonecall saying that particular room had already been booked and to change to a different room. Not a big deal but when i book up again it will be though their direct website.
Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liane2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed for a weekend with some girl friends in the classic opulent apartment for a get away from it all, much needed break. We had a thoroughly fantastic time. The decor and standards of cleanliness were excellent. I was impressed by the facilities available in the kitchen. The bedrooms and bathrooms were beautiful, with very comfy huge beds. We had planned a lot of cooking, made our own afternoon tea with champagne and I brought a lot of equipment with me that I didn't need to bother bringing as it was provided. This is an ideal place to retreat to and have some me time, we all enjoyed our stay and didn't really need to leave the apartment in fact it would be a shame to leave it as the decor and atmosphere is so beautiful you really need to enjoy your surroundings. Perfect for a sophisticated girly catch up with fantastic host and I'm sure it is lovely as a romantic getaway too. Well worth a visit. Thank you.

Room Tip: Classic opulent recommended for the bedrooms and bathrooms, more daylight in seating area in the french bourgeois.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank celestitemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I stayed here for one night in September to celebrate my girlfriends birthday. She absolutely loved it!

The classic opulent room was epic. We didn't even leave, we cooked and stayed in. There was everything we needed to cook and bought food from the co-op in bellingham.

We will defo return very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lordshaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews