We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”
Review of Falstone Barns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Falstone Barns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here july 2013. Overall was beautiful but not too impressed with a couple of things. On arrival the owners were no whers in sight so we guessed our room, it had a key in the doorand wasthe same as pictures. The medieval apartment. The treethat lights up is amazing, providing you can find the switch. Afterfinding the owners they were nice, and showed us. The next morning there was no hot water. The t didnt work also. Shame , most resolvable issues howevr for the price we paid would have liked better. Beautiful apartment, lovely helpful owners.

Room Tip: French looked nice, lots bigger than medieval
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markandbeth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickeyFalstone, Owner at Falstone Barns, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
So sorry to have heard you had trouble locating your apartment, All guests are sent a Welcome letter outlining general information about the area and also instructions as to how to locate their apartment and access the key. Guests are advised to bring the Welcome letter with them as a reminder.

The Welcome letter outlines that we meet and greet between 4-6pm and advises to let us know in advance if a guest is planning to arrive later, so that the key can be made accessible to them.

Had we known about issues with a shower, we would have endevoured to address the problem immediately; since we aim to achieve the highest possible customer care standards.

Since reading this review we have assessed the shower concerned and have found no issues. We are neverthless grateful that the reviewer at least alerted us to the potential problem.

We are delighted that the guest had a lovely stay, however it sounds as though one of our other apartments might have been more suited to their tastes.

At Falstone Barns we offer a wide variety of themed apartments which means that we have repeat visits from guests who like to enjoy each space independantly.

So sorry you could not locate the tree lights. Will make sure the switch is clearly marked in the guest handbook.

Would love to see you again, maybe next time in the French Bourgeois apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    33
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
96
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at Falstone Barns just before setting off to Keilder Winter Wonderland. We had booked two rooms, French Bourgeois, Versace Glamour. The stay was fantastic with every home comfort catered for. We were contacted on the day of travel to get us to book in a little earlier, if we wanted, as the weather was fantastic and the night sky was amazing.
Great customer service and a wonderful stay. I would thoroughly recommend this accommodation and we are already arranging dates to revisit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGees17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed an amazing midweek break with my husband. Beautiful surroundings in a beautiful apartment.

Nickey welcomed us the night we arrived and her presence was felt without feeling overbearing. So friendly!

The apartments definitely have the wow factor. It felt so special to be there and really did feel as though we were in the middle of nowhere, complete relaxation.

If you're looking for something to do through the day I can recommend the Bird of Prey centre at Kielder. Also great even just for a walk. We had a great meal at The Pheasant Inn too.

We can't wait to go back and try out all of the other apartments!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were recommended this place and it doesn't disappoint We were in the downstairs French Bourgoise very nice clean and tastefully decorated
Owners couldn't have been friendlier booking us a table at the near bye Pheasant Inn very nice.
I know the area well but this certainly gave it a new slant
Spoke to another guest (its that sort of place !) and it was her 5th visit
So the floorboards creaked a bit above and the grill wasn't playing but minor niggles in what is a brilliant Barn conversion with cracking hosts
We'll be back I think Highly recommended

Room Tip: All rooms are good it seems ours was particularly light and airy in the living area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-the-admiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here as a valentines get away. We stayed in the French Bourgeois which was amazing. There were only 2 of us so we didn't use the bottom section which had 2 single beds in and another bathroom but there was plenty of space. The main bedroom and bathroom were very well sized. The only negative in the bathroom would be that we didn't have much hot water so couldn't really enjoy the big bath. There were no instructions in how to get more hot water either. We were staying as a valentines get away and the candles in the bathroom had not been replaced which was a shame.
The main living area was gorgeous and exactly like the pictures on the website. The smoke alarm does go off if you are using the oven though. The tv took us ages to work out. We had to get in touch with Nicky who did get back to us and we managed to get t working in the end. We tried lighting the fire a couple of times but we were unable to as the wood provided was too damp.
All in all we had a lovely weekend and the apartment was stunning but there were just a few minor niggles.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank JTW0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My partner found Falstone Barns while looking for a weekend break, we live locally, well from Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, so we decided to give it a go.

Firstly, the location, and surrounding area is fantastic, with perfect Northumbrian countryside enveloping Fielder Water and Forrest; which are just a 5min drive away from the barn itself. There are lots of things to see and do when not at the barn, and the room came with many brochures and leaflets on such things. In addition, Falstone Barns do offer extras that can be added onto your stay (such as hiring a chef to cook a meal for you both) we didn't take these options so can't comment on them, but check their website out as all the information is listed on there.

At first we were unsure how to get the keys to our room, and were left waiting in the car park for a while as no one was to be seen. But we eventually got in after only a short delay. The owners were really nice and gave an excellently warm welcome.

The barn itself is split up into a few different style "apartments", we selected the 'medieval' and were not disappointed. The interior was wonderful and romantic, it was clean and fresh and with no signs of fatigue or stale interiors. Also included was a fully equipped kitchen, Sky TV and large living areas, so really for the price we paid, we believe it was a real bargain.

We would both really recommend this to anyone who is looking to get away for a romantic break in the countryside.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wardhaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed in the classic opulent apartment. It was georgeous. Total luxury and relaxation. Couldn't find anything to complain about, other than that we only stayed for 1 night, would have loved to have stayed longer. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisnlinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hexham
16.9 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
15.0 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
7.1 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
1.4 mi away
PoSHHuts
PoSHHuts
#1 of 1 in Falstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#1 of 1 in Stannersburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falstone Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falstone Barns

Property: Falstone Barns
Address: Falstone, Hexham NE48 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Hexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Falstone Barns 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Falstone Barns we have 4 5* luxuriously appointed apartments, set in a courtyard and overlooking 38 acres of private estate. We can cater for your every need, from self-catering alone or additional packages which you might like to try; such as Pamper, Fine Dining, Clay Pigeon shooting and Horseriding. We welcome Families, Groups, couples and are awarded VisitBritain Family, Walkers, Cyclist friendly. We also have one apartment which is awarded Accessibility level 2. Your very own place in the country! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Falstone Barns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falstone Barns Hotel Hexham
Falstone Barns Hexham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing