We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accommodations, but a few maintenance problems”
Review of Falstone Barns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Falstone Barns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I booked Falstone Barns for three nights as a birthday surprise for my boyfriend. We stayed in the Classic Opulent apartment. You're supposed to get a welcome letter before arrival, mine never made it to me unfortunately, so on arrival we weren't really sure what to do. We knew what our room looked like from photographs and the door was open with our keys when we arrived.

While unpacking the car the nice owner Nickey ran out and introduced herself and kindly helped us with our luggage. She informed us that there had been a problem with our hot water that she thought had already been resolved until the day before and told us that her plumber would be there later on to fix it. Nickey then told us about the area and all the amenities, she also booked us a reservation at The Pheasant Inn for our dinner which was very helpful.

The apartment itself was gorgeous, everything was clean and tidy, totally spotless. Soon after we arrived the plumber began work trying to fix the hot water, he was there for a couple hours and due to the cupboard being between the living area and bedrooms it was a bit awkward having to step over him while trying to get ready for our meal. Nevertheless the problem was resolved...

The main and most luxurious bedroom had a slight problem we found, there were two skylights in the ceiling which were only covered by a thin sheet, so since it's summer, unless you want to be woken up by the light at 5am, this made the room impossible to sleep in. We were very disappointed about this, although the other bedroom was lovely.

The next morning we had a knock on our door from Nickey with her plumber just to make sure everything was still working. We thought this would be quick as we wanted to get dressed and out and about, apparently not! An hour and a half later and the plumber had just left, again another awkward experience trying to get ready.

A final niggle that I will mention is that on our last night at about 7 o'clock our TV stopped working, the sky had completely frozen. Obviously this isn't a massive deal but the one night we have in, it breaks, just our luck! The main problem that we had however was contacting Nickey, if you didn't already know there is no phone service in Falstone (you can use the phone box in the village) so we were unable to ring her. As this was at night the reception was closed, the best I could do was email, which wasn't answered until after we left the next day. So the main issue here was lack of contact.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here, the rooms and surroundings were gorgeous. I think the Classic Opulent is your best bet for an apartment, as it's upstairs it feels a bit more private, however beware of people in the downstairs apartment (especially if they have screaming kids and like to set the smoke alarm off 10 times at 9 in the morning) thank god that was on the day we left! I do however think for the amount of money I paid that things such as the TV breaking and having no hot water should not be happening, although Nickey was very apologetic.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickeyFalstone, Owner at Falstone Barns, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Firstly I was delighted that you enjoyed your accommodation at Falstone Barns. Unfortunately as you've pointed out there was an issue with regards to your boiler. I'm pleased that you appreciated that we went out of our way to address the issue immediately and as expressed at the time, was apologetic with regards to the inconvenience the vital maintenance caused you.

If it was possible to move you to another apartment we would have done. Unfortunately we were fully booked.

I note your comment regarding the double layered voile blinds in your apartment and will give the issue my careful consideration.

We have a reputation at Falstone Barns for delivering excellent customer care and I hope your experience of this met those exacting standards.

I do hope you choose us for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a fantastic surprise when we arrived to check into our Shepherds Hut!! it exceeded our expectations and very much felt like you were secluded in your own private pocket of country side.

The Shepherds Hut was furnished to an excellent standard and I was impressed at the facilities which seemed to comfortably fit into what is quite a small space.

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay and will, without doubt be back again.

Simon is a very welcoming host and nothing is too much trouble, we even had the pleasure of being driven to the Dam as it was our first time in the area and queried where we could find a nice walking trail.

We have already recommended the accommodation to anyone we have come into contact with since! and cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed in the Vercase apartment this time. The living area i.e. kitchen and seating/lounge is large and every room is fitted to the highest specification (tip...just take a sleeping eye mask if you're in the bedroom above the stairs as the sky light window only has a net to cover and the sun pours through first thing).
You get a lovely welcome by the owner and in a discrete amount of time on arrival.
We had a problem with the boiler and Simon, the owner, couldn't have been more apologetic and resolved the problem to our complete satisfaction. It was fortunate that another apartment was available and that suited us just fine, if not better, as my Mum & Dad were able to experience the French apartment we'd told them all about when we stayed in 2011!
Unless you have brought provisions for your first night's stay, you MUST book at the local pub, the Black Cock Inn (although our experience they were not too friendly) or The Pheasant a little further. The Pheasant serves excellent food and the staff are lovely.
We first stayed at Falstone Barns in 2011 and it was so good we promised to bring Mum & Dad, which we did in now in June 2014 and they experienced the same wow factor as we did then.
We had a lovely holiday and our accommodation (both apartments) were first class but more importantly, the owner genuinely cares about their customers and puts problems right immediately and only when the customer is happy with the resolution.
We have already spread the word and will return.

Room Tip: Bring an eye mask if you're staying in the Versace bedroom above the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed in the Versace Glamour barn last week for three nights and wish the holiday could have been much longer. The peace, the warm welcome, the comfort and the glitz were all we'd hoped for, and more. We had a great time with the glamping menu - little boxes and bags of yummy food delivered ready to cook - total laziness but fun. Planning next visit already - very romantic. Good job we're already married because looking at the visitors' book, several people have arrived single and left the barns engaged! Say no more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cejpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have never seen such an awesomely beautiful whole place to stay with such uniquely luxurious amazingly gorgeous rooms colours facilities ideas WOW!Mr and Mrs Neil and Esther Toomey Nicky and her husband and the dog are all really friendly so helpful and informative!FALSTONE BARNS IS THE ULTIMATE DREAM PLACE TO STAY!

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning the romantic medieval room is private luxurious and awesome too along with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil_toomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the romantic mediaeval apartment and we loved it so much we booked another night! The apartment was cosy and warm, with all the amenities you could need. The owner's couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We're hoping to go back next year with the whole family

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed in the Classic Opulent Apartment on Easter weekend.

Had a problem with dirty bed linen on arrival, the owner did change the sheet but did not give us a clean mattress protectors. We spent 3 nights sleeping on heavily stained mattresses that were previous guests bodily fluids!

There were a lot of issues with housekeeping and maintenance, for example the oven and microwave had dried food spills inside. Granite worktops in the kitchen also had dried food on them. Some of the appliances didn’t even work properly…. The list was endless! Overall the apartment looked shabby, grubby, and well worn.

We booked the Opulent Apartment thinking we would get 5 star luxury, as stated on the website, but sadly this was not the case.

The owner Nickey has been made aware of these issues since our return home but has not offered any apology.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere and save a lot of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoyandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickeyFalstone, Owner at Falstone Barns, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

I am very disappointed to see this review on tripadvisor. I have been in correspondence with the guest in relation to the issues raised.

I have posted my response below in an effort to make it clear that we take all issues of any nature very seriously and of course it was my first response to make it clear to the guest that if there were any areas for address these would be made.



Hello Mr & Mrs xxxx

I am disappointed that if you found so many issues in relation to your stay, you did not raise them with me.

The first incident of the sheet has been taken up with the external laundry as discussed. I will provide their feedback to me as we had agreed.

We spent an extended period of time in conversation and I made it clear that the above incident is not the norm. This is borne out by the extensively positive evaluations we receive.

If however there are issues, I always appreciate that guests feed back to us immediately; just as you had in the first instance, whereupon I addressed the situation straight away. You gave no indication to me at the time of me doing so that there was an issue with my replacement of the sheet.

I noted that you marked our check list in in pen. Since it must have taken you some time to carry out this check, I would have assumed you would have raised it with me. We have short stays (1 night minimum) and make it our business to be available to guests throughout their stay. (Your stay was for a period of 3 nights)

Our hospitality cleanliness standards are extremely high as once again is evaluated in our feedback. Ongoing maintenance is essential and as part of our management strategy we incorporate them into our daily schedule.

I understood from our genial and friendly conversation following the incident with the sheet, that you are involved in the hospitality business and as such I respect your opinion, not only as a guest but also as someone who has experience in the field. I will note your comments and address any issues which require attention in order to continue to maintain our high standards.

We have had several guests stay following your visit, who have given us extremely positive feedback. Therefore I would gather that our standards have been maintained.

I will be addressing the items you have outlined with my cleaning and maintenance team as a matter of course.

Kind regards

Nickey Forster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hexham
15 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
160 reviews
16.9 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,206 reviews
10.6 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
0 mi away
PoSHHuts
PoSHHuts
#1 of 1 in Falstone
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#1 of 1 in Stannersburn
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falstone Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falstone Barns

Address: Falstone, Hexham NE48 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Hexham
Price Range: £117 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Falstone Barns 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Falstone Barns we have 4 5* luxuriously appointed apartments, set in a courtyard and overlooking 38 acres of private estate. We can cater for your every need, from self-catering alone or additional packages which you might like to try; such as Pamper, Fine Dining, Clay Pigeon shooting and Horseriding. We welcome Families, Groups, couples and are awarded VisitBritain Family, Walkers, Cyclist friendly. We also have one apartment which is awarded Accessibility level 2. Your very own place in the country! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Falstone Barns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falstone Barns Hotel Hexham
Falstone Barns Hexham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing