We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional!”

Review of Hesleyside Huts

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
RichandSh...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

At truly memorable stay at 'Bramble' the larger of the three huts at Hesleyside. The attention to detail and craftsmanship that went into the construction of the huts was exceptional and every comfort had been catered for. We enjoyed three wonderful nights and particularly enjoyed firing up the wood burning stove to enjoy a cosy meals by a roaring fire.

Our bed was probably the most comfortable we have ever slept in and the hut was a delight to spend time in. Clear skies above enabled us to take in the spectacular night sky of an evening and we also enjoyed walking around the glorious Hesleyside estate. William and Anna, the owners of Hesleyside, have created a beautiful and unique way of enjoying the best of the outdoor surroundings in luxurious accommodation.

A slight issue with the power supply to our hut on our final evening could not detract from a truly wonderful stay and a visit from William, personally, to apologise for the issue and present us with a bottle of wine and extra logs for the wood burner was really appreciated and sums up the care and attention that went into making our break truly exceptional.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of accommodation and facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2014
Ah thank you and again thaks for being so understanding regarding the battery problem - it's all been fixed and we hope that you will come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessM2012
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Adorable!”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at Hesleyside when we came to Northumberland for the dark nights and to try stargazing. We stayed in Heather and it was incredibly sweet, from the little Belfast sink to the dinky log burner. The hut was very well insulated and heated up quickly, and the little touches such as the homemade cake on arrival and the postcards of the huts made our stay so lovely and comfortable. Whilst we were there my partner proposed and I couldn't think of a more perfect or romantic location for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2014
Huge Congratulations we feel very honoured to have a proposal at Hesleyside - wishing you a long and happy marriage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheens81
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stunning”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here in September for our wedding anniversary and they were just perfect! The huts have everything you could possibly need. They are so cosy and comfortable. Will will hopefully be returning in jan!

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - please do come again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_Bet
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a quite wet October but don't let this put you off. The huts are brilliant and have a little log burner in there as well as facilities to do a bit of basic cooking. There are a few pubs near by, the Hollybush Inn at Greenhaugh which had a lovely wood fire, good beer and a good food menu. There are plenty of walks and fantastic scenery right on the doorstep of the huts as well as Kielder reservoir. Would highly recommend staying in one of these huts and I now see on the website they have a new addition to the shepherds huts so there are 3 in total. Looking forward to booking our next stay next summer with friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner and the overall look
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2014
Thank you for providing some great feedback we do hope to see you again, this time without the rain!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c00ky83
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We came across Hesleyside Huts while looking for accommodation for the Kielder Marathon weekend, and they were just what we needed while also giving us something a bit different to your normal weekend stay. We were given plenty of useful information from Anna before our stay to make sure everything went according to plan. Upon arrival at the hut there were lots of things that made us think "nice touch" - thanks! The hut itself is immaculately presented and is like something off the Amazing Spaces programme - it's small but every inch of space is put to good use. The bed makes for a good night's sleep (although take ear plugs if rain is forecast!) and the stove keeps things warm (even if we could do with more practice with fires!). A really unique place to stay in a stunning location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No way of covering the bathroom window!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2014
Thanks for the feedback and we hope you did well in the marathon! Come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomsam
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Amazing place ....a unique stay”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from Hesleyside Huts today that we booked through Canopy and stars.
The unique shepherds hut are made out of local wood from the estate and surrounding area and each bit of woodwork blows you away .
We have been glam ping before and enjoy being independent however we loved our breakfast arriving in a beautiful basket on the first morning containing gorgeous cooked breads , croissants , jams , butter , eggs , bacon ,sausages , fresh milk and fresh orange juice and it lasted us both mornings .
On arrival we had a gorgeous complimentary lemon drizzle cake . We we're recommended in the pack to visit eating places / bars which we did and they were smashing .
We walked into Bellingham village which was about 30 mins lea surely walk and visited the cheviot and that was small and quaint and we had food there too , well recommend it .
We drank at the Hollybush Inn ( please note only open in the day at weekend) at greenhaugh which was quaint with big old fire in but our favourite was the Pheasant at Falston which was an old fashioned pub in the middle of nowhere but the food and surroundings was divine .
The bed in Bracken Hut was the comfiest we have ever slept in and they are toasty warm with or without the stove blasting .
We went for the stars and we were lucky because we saw them and we will never forget how beautiful they are .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole hut !
Liked least: Not being able to flush a toilet ( didn't really bother us )
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldentra...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the Heather hut for 4 nights in August and we had the most amazing time! The hut is set in the middle of a field, near the woods and the beautiful Hesleyside estate. The attention to detail was spotless, the hut itself was super cosy and the bed was extremely comfortable. We cannot recommend this place highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments - we're so glad you enjoyed yourselves, please do come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing