We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Place”

Review of Hesleyside Huts

Heather - One of our original traditional Shepard's Huts
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heather - One of our original traditional Shepard's Huts
Bracken Heather
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Heather - One of our original traditional Shepard's Huts
Bracken
Heather
Bracken
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
WaynenHea...
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed in Holly Hut to celebrate our wedding anniversary, it is just the most idyllic hideaway, we loved every minute. no internet, no TV, just us the animals, and the Champagne.

Very well equipped hut had everything we needed, loved cooking on the open fire took me back a few years.

Can't recommend the place enough, many thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
ah we're so glad that you had a lovely time - we agree it's good to get away from the internet and TV sometimes. Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jams_JJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing locations and huts”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in the Holly hut for 2 nights. Great location - 20 mins drive to kielder observatory, very close to Bellingham and a short drive to Northumberland national park. Great facilities within the hut and a great nights sleep. Could imagine it to be even better on a summer day/night being able to sit outside by fire pit. Hopefully on our next visit we will get clear skies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
ah so glad you had a lovely time and yes please do come back in the summer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, fabulous huts a winner with the children!”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our 4 night stay in Bramble, a shepherds hut set in own private location with views across the fields and woods, within the grounds of a large stately home. Inside was cosy and very comfortable. Our two boys loved the climb to the top bunk and all the beds were really comfy, with feather duvets and pillows (anti allergy ones on request, which we had for our youngest). All lovely solid wood fittings and furniture. It really felt like luxury camping with everything we needed (perhaps the addition of a small whisk for our hot chocolate and tongs to turn our breakfast bacon if we're being picky!). The log burner kept us toasty warm, the shower had plentiful hot water and was surprisingly powerful and we could even order a breakfast basket with warm croisant and all the ingredients for an English breakfast delivered to the door! We even managed two clear star gazing nights (telescope provided) around the campfire toasting (also provided) marshmallows. The dark sky reserve is really something to see, we were even blessed with two bright shooting stars. There are loads of adventures to do in the local area, walks from the hut with trees to climb inside and woods to explore, Hadrian's wall and Roman forts and the fantastic Kielder water for cycling and walking. We had a night in the observatory (30 mins away) which our two boys aged 6 and 8 were enthralled by. Really can't recommend this holiday more, both boys declared it their best ever!! (which for a few days camping in the middle of February can't be bad!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2016
ah so glad you enjoyed yourselves and wow 2 shooting stars, brilliant!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Explorer...
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute and comfortable”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Unique stay in compact but well utilised space. Bed very comfortable and with the wooden shutters meant we slept really well. Wish we could have got the fire going effectively but was fun trying. Lovely setting within 20 min drive of Kielder Observatory. Village of Bellingham about a mile away with co-op grocery store, bakery etc.. Stayed in 'Bracken'. Would definitely return and recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy bed
Liked least: no hairdryer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Ah thanks Kelly we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Do come again if you can, thanks Anna and William
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dkj_jj
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect outdoor stay for the indoor types”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Not being one of those outdoorsy types ,the comforts and ambience of these huts provide the perfect mix for people who are domesticated urbanites like ourselves , just enough modern necessities to get you through . Cooker , log fire .lights . Radio . Shower and v comfortable bed . The outside additional fire pit ,provides a perfect loc ,to view the night sky and like us see the Milky Way for the first time . We stayed in the bramble hut, which had an additional room with bunk beds and a veranda .we got to see the new hollows hut which is a work of art with some lovely touches to its Finnish . The huts are a delight and are custom built using recycled materials the bramble having an old gym floor as one of its finishes . The bed was extremely comfortable and had a hi class Finnish with all the bedding that dressed it .
A
Hesleyside hit

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Ah thank you so much, we really do hope that you manage to come and stay in the new hut at some point. Take care Anna and thank you for the feedback
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive B
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 Star Peace & Luxury”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I really don't want to share this review because then the secret will be out!

Watching Robson Green's 'More Tales from Northumberland' in the spring, we saw a feature on Hesleyside Huts. Six months later and we've enjoyed a great holiday.

We stayed in Bramble for 3 nights. The hut was well equipped with a king size bed, bunk beds, shower & toilet and a small oven, hob & fridge. In it's own enclosure, Bramble was private & peaceful and can accommodate couples or families.

We started each day with breakfast provided by the owners - thank you William! - and enjoyed walks around the estate and trips into Northumberland National Park. There is so much to do in the area and the huts are a great holiday base. Come home in the evening and toast marshmallows over the fire pit.

We had a fantastic week - thank you Robson!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for coming and we're so glad that Hesleyside Huts lived up to expectations. William and Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave G
Bulawayo
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great 'camping'with a roof!”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in'Bramble' the largest of 3 Shepherds huts. Have to recommend this one for couples as it is in a paddock by itself, also the only one to have 2 'bedrooms' and an attached deck to sit outside. Very compact, may be an idea to take pre prepared or easy to prepare food. Well equiped with large shower, basin and flushing loo in a smallish space. A peaful location.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: location!
Liked least: after 4pm check in.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
So glad that you had a great time and thank you for your comments. I'm sorry that you felt that there wasn't enough kitchen equipment. We aim to fit in as much as possible into a tiny camping space, fridge, oven, grill, sink with hot water, plates, knives, forks, plates, bowls, tea pot, salt and pepper, tea, coffee, pans, etc
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing