We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely views, excellent location, cottage acceptable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peak District National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely views, excellent location, cottage acceptable”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at The Barn at Harthill Hall (August 2013). We chose it, because there were 10 of us altogether (children and adults). We found that the cottage was in a superb location and the view from the sitting room with the lovely framed window was amazing. The sitting room is the best part of the cottage. The Barn is a 2-level property. Most bedrooms are downstairs at ground level with the sitting room and open-plan kitchen area and 2 bedrooms above. If you have toddlers (2 - 4 years) you may want to ask for a picture of the staircase. It is a steep spiral staircase - lovely, but not safe for tots. Kitchen: seemed fine, but upon closer inspection not much space to prepare food if cooking for a large group of people. Excellent stove and oven - very clean. Toaster fine. Kettle was fine, but very big and heavy and was situated on the only bit of counter-top useful for preparing food. Annoying. In terms of crockery - no plastic cups/plates for children were supplied so take your own. There were 4 cereal bowls. In addition, there were some other very shallow bowls (of the variety typically found at self-catering places, which are pretty useless). Plenty of plates, cups and glasses. Cafetiere and tea-pot supplied. Plenty cutlery. We found one small knife sharp enough to be useful for chopping. Tiny microwave oven. Although there were some oven-proof dishes, NONE had lids. We had to go and buy a new pyrex dish. They didn’t supply any oven gloves (for hygiene reasons we were told) so we had to go and buy those, too. There were heat-proof yellow squares which were apparently meant to be used instead of oven gloves. There were 2 fridges – one is a fridge-freezer situated on the ground level. The fridge in the kitchen was a small one fitted under the counter. Both fridges were spacious, but too cold, as they froze all our fruit; we couldn’t adjust the temperature. The dishwasher was the usual strange brand no-one ever heard of before. We got the dishes clean by using the highest setting and rinsing the plates thoroughly before-hand. The top shelf in the dishwasher had a bit missing off the front of the drawer, which meant there was a risk of pulling it straight off the runners as there was nothing to stop it on the one side. Seating for meals – one very long table with a long bench on either side. Seemed like a great idea, until we tried to prepare food and sit down at it. Once one person was behind the long bench on the kitchen side of the table anyone else also behind the bench trying to help with the food just got in the way. Bedrooms – all bedrooms are en suite (shower, basin, toilet). The bedding was clean, the duvets and pillows were ok. Mattresses comfortable. Storage space in the bedrooms was quite poor. Worst storage was in room 6 where there was a sofa bed in addition to the double-bed. It is regrettable that they did not use the space to install a wardrobe/chest of drawers instead. Toiletries were supplied (shampoo, shower gel and moisturiser). All towels for use in the cottage and for the pool were supplied. Robes were also supplied; these were multi-coloured stripey things that looked a bit tired (not ‘white and fluffy’ as expected!). The upstairs bedrooms are both really nice, with lovely views. The downstairs bedrooms less so. They face the courtyard and the windows are tall, which is great when the shutters are open, but people walking past could see right into our rooms. For privacy we had to close the shutters and put on the lights instead. It felt like being in a cave rather than a room. The lights were too dim and the carpets were a dark colour so it was difficult to see at times. Room 6 at the far end of the corridor was dark and quite damp. It didn’t seem to improve even with the heating turned on. The en suite in this room was OK, but the toilet was shoe-horned in so to use the toilet paper one had to do a 90 degree turn to reach it on the holder. In general the showers were really nice with good pressure, but only 2 people could shower at the same time. The games room was great and one could log onto their free wifi which was a great plus point. The connection speed was good. There is also a communal games room and an area for the children to play. We had access to the hot tub, but we didn't use it. There is a pool, but it is quite small and one depth all the way along. Be sure to take flotation devices for non-swimmers. Parking was adequate. Cleaning and maintenance service - the cleaning team were very good – if we brought a problem to their attention they did their best to sort it out. I would recommend staying at Harthill Hall, if you are a party of 10 – 12 and you plan to spend most of your time outdoors. There are some great places very close by. We would definitely want to go back (although we’ll be taking a few extras this time!).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 31DW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    38
    19
    14
    14
See reviews for
60
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in the Defferers within Harthill Hall which is a 4 bed. The whole cottage was damp (we stayed in August 2013), and there was mould on the bathrooms walls and ceilings. The smell in the downstairs bathroom was particularly bad and you could smell the damp in the bedrooms. All our bedding was damp. Even with the heating on full power and the windows open it didn't dry out. We asked for another toilet roll and some more dishwasher tablets but we were told it was self catering and one toilet roll and 5 dishwasher tablets was all we were going to get. So if it is self catering why was there no washing machine? With 4 children this was a must especially when the service wash (which costs £10) never happened. Good location but over priced, damp and dirty.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed in the cottage called Defferers within Harthill Hall. It was a 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom with a large lounge and kitchen and a hot tub outside. We rented it as a relaxed, quiet hen do but them brought our kids on the last night and it was very suitable for all purposes. The cottage (Defferers) was lovely. 3 bedrooms upstairs, 1 bathroom. 1,4 four poster double bedroom downstairs and a shower/bathroom. Kitchen was fully equipped and when we struggled with using the oven the housekeeper was there in minutes to help us. Really helpful staff when we needed travel cot/high chair etc.. Hot tub was the highlight for us, beautiful views over the hills from the hot tub. We used the small leisure pool with the kids which was nice. Some girls had beauty treatments done on-site and they all enjoyed them. I would really recommend this place for a girls weekend or a family do. We self catered and just took all of our own food but we also went to a great pub 2 miles away (The Druid Inn) which was fabulous gastro pub food. I would recommend booking taxis in advance. We used Roys minibus taxi (which the place sends you info out about anyway) but failed to book a trip back and there aren;t many local taxis but the lovely landlord drove my 2 pregnant friends back for us and the rest of us walked the food off (not a walk for kids though as no paths). I would go back here for sure with my friends or family. The only tiny, tiny downside was just the 1 shower (not very powerful) which with 8 ladies was time consuming but as I say nothing to complain about. If you go in the warm weather take some fly killer as we didn't and got bit a-lot by midges in the night around the hot tub. Fab place for a little break.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JloTando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We visited Harthill Hall as a Hen Party, group of 16 ladies. We stayed in the Barn and the Manners. The accomodation was perfect for our needs, I stayed in room 2, 2 single beds, very comfortable, bedding spotless.

The kitchen was well equiped had everything we needed. We catered for ourselves but ordered a takeaway on Saturday night, the information was provided by the hall.

Fantastic picture window looking out over the Derbyshire Hills.

Perfectly positioned for walks along Lathkill Dale and Bradford Dale to Youlgreave etc.

After a walk we used the hot and swimming pool and sauna.

I would recommend this accomodation to anyone in a large party of people.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had a most relaxing family weekend staying in Cokaynes. This cottages are in glorious Derbyshire countryside where there is plenty of opportunity to relax,walk cycle from the cottage environment. The young children in our group were happy playing in the cottage, the pool and in the garden area. Our hot tub was really hot and we all enjoyed this great facility. The pool was also good for a play session. We took our own dingies which was a good move. The cottage was well equipped with crockery and cutlery and the full size fridge and separate freezer gave plenty of scope for food storage which is ideal with this property. The property is quirky and full of character being a very old building full of nooks crannies and beams. But for a party with children and dogs it was a good choice. We wanted a BBQ the second evening and the young manager was most obliging providing a huge BBQ for our use. The couple managing the property were friendly and helpful and very keen to ensure that we are all having a good time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjbmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We booked The Chapel at Harthill hall for a girls weekend in March. We were told a few days beforehand that there was a problem with the boiler and the only alternative was to split our party into two 4 beds, Manners and Hartle. We were very disappointed not long after our arrival to find that they had actually been dishonest and there was another group staying in The Chapel. The cottages themselves were nice enough, clean and in a beautiful setting. The hot tub and pool were great but unfortunately the sauna did not heat up very well. I think the price is a bit steep for what it is, it was just a shame that we had to be split up and have been offered no explanation or apology since.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The accommodation was spotless and very comfortable. We had a horrendous journey getting there due to terrible weather conditions. We had no food or transport due to cars being stranded in snow miles away, but the staff at Harthill Hall provided for our every need and ensured we were looked after in every way possible. I can only describe their service as outstanding. I would recommend this accommodation and look forward to another stay myself. Please please do not use post code and SAT NAV to get to location- as it will simply not get you there. Use a map of exact location and if travelling in snow - definitely DO NOT use SAT NAV!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peak District National Park hotels
13.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages
2.8 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
1.8 mi away
Fern Bank B&B
Fern Bank B&B
#1 of 5 in Rowsley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages

Property: Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages
Address: Alport | Near Bakewell, Peak District National Park DE45 1LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Peak District National Park
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages Hotel Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing