We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shippon”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peak District National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bolehill Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have stayed at Bolehill Farm many times. Shirley & Chris always make us very welcome on arrival and through out our stay. The cottages are always immaculately clean and very warm. Lovely area for walking and cycling from the door. Lots of places to visit in the area and also eating out. I would definitely recommend Bolehill to anyone. Many thanks to Shirley and Chris for our visits. We are visiting again next year we cant wait. Bryan and Dot

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

We went to Derbyshire for a family wedding and decided to stay for a couple of nights at Bolehill Farm Cottages. Best decision we made. On arrival, Shirley gave us a warm welcome and showed us around Magpie Cottage. It was warm and cosy, just what we needed. We had a love time at the wedding and will definitely be back again to Bolehill to do some walking, cycling etc. Our thanks go to Chris and Shirley for a lovely stay. Nigel and Alison.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was our 4th visit but 1st for our "new" dog, so we stayed in a different cottage (Dove; we used to stay in Magpie!). Warm welcome as always from Shirley and Chris, even though we had picked a pretty miserable week! Cottages are always warm and cosy, with everything you need. This time I did Chatsworth whilst man and dog explored the grounds and woods! Most pubs do good food and welcome dogs in the bar area. Farmyard Inn (Youlgrave) needs booking as they get very busy! Recommend Sunday carvery! Lathkill hotel (Over Haddon) is usually less busy and does a nice buffet (hot and cold food) on a Wednesday evening. Have stayed in several cottages in other areas but always end up back at Bolehill when we just need to escape to a gentler pace!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I have stayed at Bolehill 6 times and it never fails to be a relaxing time. All the cottages are beautiful, cosy and clean, wether you want a small one bedroom cottage or more bedrooms for the family you will find one to suit. Dogs are welcolme, and the cottages are so well equiped its like home from home. Another bonus is that they are so flexible with dates, no hard and fast rules about check in and out dates. Would definitely recommend Bolehill to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Our stay at Bolehill Farm Cottages completely lived up to expectations. We stayed for two nights just for a change of scenery and the location was perfect for us. It was peaceful and quiet yet near to many interesting places ie Chatsworth, Bakewell, Haddon Hall etc - plenty of tea rooms, restaurants, gift shops etc. The accommodation was great - spotlessly clean, with very comfortable beds, and very well equipped - warm and homely too. It is perfect for our doggy friends too- the paddock just behind the cottages was so handy. The minor problem we had with the telly was sorted out by Chris, and Shirley welcomed us and showed us around on arrival. Both very friendly and helpful. If I was to stay here on my own I would feel very safe and relaxed. Hope to return sometime.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed in Shippon cottage at Bolehill for a week. The location is fantastic at the top of hill over looking countryside for miles. Yet Bakewell is just a few miles away.
We were made really welcome and the farm is maintained to a high and pretty standard with flowers everywhere. It has a real homely feel and a nice ambience.
The cottage was exceptionally clean and the bed was really comfortable.
This was our first visit to The Peak District and it certainly rivals Cornwall, Scotland and Wales.
fantastic scenery, loads to do whether it be walking, culture and history, quaint villages or more lively market towns but yet it is unspoilt with tourism.
Everywhere we went was extremely pet friendly.
Bolehill farm is truly lovely. We loved it so much we have booked to return in Nov.
With the wood burning fire in Bolehills cottage Shippon this is a true find for all season. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Shippon has very comfortable bed which can be hard to find in self catering cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cath m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent 3 nights here and it had everything you could ask for. Clean and the best equipped self catering kitchen I've come across. Very friendly and helpful too. My kids were happy and loved the cows. We stayed at Lathkill that overlooks a small play ground. Great maps and books and good games room. We had an amazing stay. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChewieonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peak District National Park
2.0 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
5.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
706 reviews
9.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
396 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
176 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 44 in Bakewell
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolehill Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolehill Farm Cottages

Address: Bole Hill Farm Monyash Road | Near Bakewell, Peak District National Park DE45 1QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Peak District National Park
Price Range: £30 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Peak District Cottages are located just 2 miles from the Derbyshire Town of Bakewell in the Peak District National Park. The 8 cottages are located in a courtyard setting within 20 acres of grounds. Chatsworth and Haddon Hall are no more than 10 mins away. Our grounds looks towards Lathkill Dale and it is an easy walking to the villages of Over Haddon and Sheldon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing